Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hello you all, today I present you with an Archetype based on my come country: Denmark, and more specifically North Jutland where I am from. The Archetype is all about returning cards to the top of the Deck, but more specifically Spells and Traps. It's an all Winged Beast WIND Attribute Archetype, and they focus on Synchro Summons, and getting out the powerful Marka, which is of course based on Denmark itself! The Archetype plays in a different way than others, since you always need to worry about how your own Deck is set up, as well as making sure your opponent has the cards needed to preform some of the actions. It's an interesting Archetype in my own opinion, but what do you think? Leave a comment and let me know. If you're going to point out OCG faults, make sure you get them right okay? I am after all the OCG Police :P Anything in bold are things I know about, and I will fix them when I have time. Also, if the Rulings are wrong, be sure to let me know as well.
 
Main Deck Monsters
 
[spoiler=Tist]
TistBirdoftheNorth.png

 

When this card is Summoned: You can target 1 Set Spell/Trap Card you control and 1 your opponent controls; return both to the top of the Deck. Neither player can activate those targets in response to this effect. This card must be face-up on the field to activate and to resolve this effect. If this card is sent to the Graveyard for the Synchro Summon of a Winged Beast-Type monster: You can target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; place that target on the top of the Deck, and if you do, your opponent Sets 1 monster from their hand.

 


 
Based off of the Danish city Thisted.

Rulings:
*Your opponent does not have to reveal the card that they Set, however, if your opponent does not Set a card, you can confirm that they have no cards in their hand that can be Set by looking at their hand (this is not considered "revealing" their hand, also, if their hand is already revealed, you just continue the game as normal when they say that they don't have any)
*If your opponent has no card that can be Set during resolution, then you still return the card to the top of the Deck. [/spoiler]
 
[spoiler=Scaken]
ScakenBirdoftheNorth.png

 

You can return 1 Set Spell/Trap Card you control to the top of the Deck; Special Summon this card from the hand. You can only Special Summon "Scakan, Bird of the North" this way once per turn. You can target 1 "Society” card in your Graveyard and 1 “Bird of the North” or "Society" card in your Graveyard: Set 1 the first target, and if you do, return the second target to the top of the Deck. You cannot activate the second target for the rest of the turn. This effect of "Scaken, Bird of the North" can only be activated once per turn.

 


 
Based off of the Danish city Skagen (fun fact: It's the most northern city in Denmark, and it's beach's top is the most northern place in Denmark and a popular turist attraction)
 
Rulings:
*If this card is discarded before resolution, you still return the card to the top of the Deck, but you do not Special Summon the card, and you cannot try to Special Summon the card again until your next turn.
*If you cannot Set the "Society" card, then you do not return the "Bird of the North" or "Society" card to the top of the Deck, but if you can Set, but the target is gone during resolution, then you still Set.
*"This effect of "Scaken, Bird of the North" can only be activated once per turn." is a condition and cannot be negated.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Browst]

BrowstBirdoftheNorth.png

 

If this card is Summoned: Reveal 1 card in your hand; if it is a "Bird of the North" monster, Special Summon it, but it is banished when it leaves the field, if it is a "Society" card, you can return 1 "Bird of the North" monster from your Graveyard to the top of your Deck and if you do, you can Set that card, if it is neither, take 1500 damage. If this card is sent to the Graveyard for the Synchro Summon of a Winged Beast-Type monster: You can target 1 Set Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls; place that target to the top of the Deck, and if you do, your opponent Sets 1 Spell/Trap Card from their hand. Your opponent cannot activate that target in response to this effect.

 



Based off of the Danish City Brovst

Rulings:

*Your opponent does not have to reveal the card that they Set, however, if your opponent does not Set a card, you can confirm that they have no cards in their hand that can be Set by looking at their hand (this is not considered "revealing" their hand, if their hand is already revealed, you just continue the game as normal when they say that they don't have any)
*You cannot return 1 of their cards if they do not have a card in their hand at activation.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Nieb]

NeibBirdoftheNorth.png

 

If this card in your possession is sent to the Graveyard: You can banish this card and reveal the top 3 cards of your Deck; you can add any "Bird of the North" monsters to your hand, then you can Set any number "Society" cards, then return the remaining cards to the top of the Deck in any order. You cannot activate “Society” cards by the same name as the Set card(s) for the rest of this turn.



Based off of the Danish city Nibe

Rulings:

*If you cannot banish cards from the Graveyard or reveal 3 cards, you cannot resolve this card properly, and the cards are returned to the top of the Deck in the same order.

*You do not have to add any cards to your hand, or set any cards, but you do have to return them to the Deck in any order you choose.

*"You cannot activate “Society” cards by the same name as the Set card(s) for the rest of this turn." Is a condition and cannot be negated.

[/spoiler]

Spell and Trap Cards

[spoiler=Bird's Nest]

SocietysBirdNest.png


When your opponent Summons a monster(s) while the only monster(s) you control is a "Bird of the North" monster(s): Your opponent returns those monsters to the top of the Deck, in any order, then you can draw 1 card, then return all monsters you control to the top of the Deck in any order. You can only activate 1 "Society's Bird Nest" per turn.


Rulings:

*If you do not control a Bird of the North monster at resolution, your opponent still returns the cards to the top of the Deck.

*Your opponent chooses which order he/she returns them in.

*If you draw 1 card, you must also return all monsters to the top of your Deck in any order you choose.

*"You can only activate 1 "Society's Bird Nest" per turn." is a condition and cannot be negated.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Overwatch]

SocietysOverwatch.png

Reveal the top 3 cards of your Deck; if you revealed no "Bird of the North" or "Society" cards, shuffle your Deck, then return up to 3 "Bird of the North" and/or "Society" cards from your Graveyard to top of your Deck in any order, if you revealed 1 or more "Bird of the North" or "Society" cards, you can add 1 of those cards to your hand, and if you do, return the remaining to the top of the Deck in any order.

 



Rulings:

*Revealing 3 cards is a cost, if you cannot reveal, or you have 2 or less, you cannot activate this card.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Lamppost]

SocietysLampost.png

 

Banish 1 "Society" card or "Bird of the North" monster from your Graveyard; "Bird of the North" monsters that would be bansished are sent to the Graveyard instead until the End Phase.


Rulings:
*If you banish a Bird of the North monster to activate this card, that monster is not returned, neither are cards that are banished before resolution of this card.

*You can still banish monsters as cost, but they will be sent to the Graveyard instead (I might change this so it cannot, as that would be somewhat cheap, leave a comment if I should or not)

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Flock]

FlockoftheSociety.png

 

Discard 1 “Society” card or “Bird of the North” monster; Special Summon 1 "Bird of the North" monster from your hand in face-up Defense Position, but its effects are negated and it is banished when it leaves the field.


Rulings:
*Discarding is a cost

*If there's not Bird of the North monster in your hand during resolution, you do not Special Summon any monsters.

[/spoiler]

Extra Deck Monsters

[spoiler=Funn]

FunnBirdoftheNorth.png

 

2 Level 3 Winged Beast-Type monsters
"Bird of the North" effects that target Set Spell/Trap Cards can also target face-up Spell/Trap Cards and Set monsters. Once per turn: You can target 1 of your banished cards and 1 monster in your Graveyard, then detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; return the first target to the Graveyard, then return the second target to the top of the Deck.


Based off of the third largest island (if you don't consider Jutland an island, some of it is, some of it isn't) in Denmark, Fyn (or as it's known in English, Funen)

Rulings:

*The first effect of this card is Continuous. If that card leaves the field, you can no longer target those cards, but the targets will still be valid if they were already targeted.

*If you do not return the first target, you do not return the second target. If you cannot return the second target, you can still return the first target.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Selan]

SelenBirdoftheNorth.png

 

1 “Bird of the North” Tuner + 1 or more Winged Beast-Type non-Tuner monsters
"Bird of the North" effects that target Set Spell/Trap Cards can also target face-up Spell/Trap Cards and Set monsters Once per turn, if 1 or more "Bird of the North" monsters or "Society" cards would be returned to the top of the Deck, you can return 1 of those cards to your hand instead. Once per turn, during either player's turn: If the only monster(s) you control is a "Bird of the North" monster: You can target 1 face-up monster; change it to face-down Defense Position


Based off of the second largest island (if you don't consider Jutland an island, some of it is, some of it isn't) in Denmark, Sjælland (or as it's known in English, Zealand)

Rulings:

*The first effect of this card is Continuous. If that card leaves the field, you can no longer target those cards, but the targets will still be valid if they were already targeted.

*Returning the monster to the hand instead of the top of the Deck does not start a chain, and is applied when the card would be returned to the Deck, either at activation as a cost, or during resolution of the effect.

*If all Bird of the North monster you control leave the field, then still change that monster to face-down Defense Position.

[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Julan]

JulanBirdoftheNorth.png

 

1 "Bird of the North" Tuner + 1 or more Winged Beast-Type non-Tuner monsters
"Bird of the North" effects that target Set Spell/Trap Cards can also target face-up Spell/Trap Cards and Set monsters. Once per turn, during either player's turn: If the only monster(s) you control is a "Bird of the North" monster(s): You can target 1 face-up monster; change it to face-down Defense Position. Once per turn: You can target 1 face-up "North of the Beast" monster you control, except this card, and 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; switch control of those monsters, (should have also here) the first target gains 500 ATK and DEF, also you cannot attack with the second target for the rest of the turn.


Based off of the largest island (if you consider Jutland an island, some of it is, some of it isn't) in Denmark Jylland (or as it's known in English, Jutland)

Rulings:

*The first effect of this card is Continuous. If that card leaves the field, you can no longer target those cards, but the targets will still be valid if they were already targeted.

*If all Bird of the North monster you control leave the field, then still change that monster to face-down Defense Position.

*If either of the targets have left the field during resolution, neither is switched, but the first target will still get 500 ATK and DEF, and the second target will not be able to attack.

[/spoiler]
 
[spoiler=Marka]
MarkaBirdoftheNorth.png

 

1 "Bird of the North" Tuner + 1 or more Winged Beast-Type non-Tuner Synchro Monsters
"Bird of the North" effects that target Set Spell/Trap Cards can also target face-up Spell/Trap Cards and Set monsters. Your opponent cannot add cards from their Deck to their hand, except by drawing them. Once per turn, during either player's turn: If the only monster(s) you control is a "Bird of the North" monster(s): You can target 1 face-up monster; change it to face-down Defense Position. Once per turn: You can look at your opponent’s hand; choose 1 card and Set it. After a “Bird of the North” effect has been activated and has resolved: You can destroy 1 card your opponent controls. This effect of “Marka, Bird of the North” can only be activated once per turn.


Based off of Denmark, the Scandinavian country located above Germany.
 
Rulings:
*The first effect of this card is Continuous. If that card leaves the field, you can no longer target those cards, but the targets will still be valid if they were already targeted.
 
*The second effect of this card is Continuous. If that card leaves the field, your opponent can add cards to their hand again. If this card would leave the field during resolution, your opponent would be able to add cards to their hand during that resolution.
 
*If all Bird of the North monster you control leave the field, then still change that monster to face-down Defense Position.
 
*You can both Set monsters and Spell and Traps, but if a card is preventing you from Seting one of them, you must Set the other instead.
 
*Setting a monster is considered a Normal Set. It does not take up your Normal Summon, and you cannot Set the monster if it has a Special Summon only condition.
 
*If your opponent has no cards in their hand during resolution, you do not Set any cards.
 
*"This effect of “Marka, Bird of the North” can only be activated once per turn." is a condition and cannot be negated.
[/spoiler]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...