Jump to content

Revision Challenge: Card 8 (Protective Mother Bear/Protective Mother Bear)


Zazubat

Recommended Posts

Click HERE to view the info thread.

  

Old Card:

      57619.jpg            

Original Lore:

Once this card is destroyed and send to your graveyard, you can Special Summon 1 "Protective Mother Bear" from your deck. Only 1 "Protective Mother Bear" can be Special Summoned this way per turn.

Fixed Lore:

When this card is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 "Protective Mother Bear" from your Deck. You can only Special Summon 1 "Protective Mother Bear" this way per turn.

My Thoughts:

Reborn Tengu, just somewhat different. It might be considered more balanced, but it really isn't as useful as him, but hey, I probably didn't know that card even existed at that time.

New Card:

ProtectiveMotherBear.png

New Lore:

When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 “Bear Token” (Beast-Warrior/EARTH/Level 1/ATK 0/DEF 1000). When a “Bear Token” you control is destroyed by your opponent’s card (either by battle or card effect): You can Special Summon 1 “Protective Mother Bear” from your Deck.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What makes Tengu rather OP is how its effect activates when it leaves the field. So returning it to the hand, it getting banished will cause the effect to go off. Having a card that does the same thing, but it having a clause like "The effect of XXX can only be used once per turn" wouldn't be all that broken.

 

Anyway I think this card is pretty neat. I guess my only question is in the event of something like dark hole would mother effect still happen? Right now it seems that mother would have to be on the field to resolve the effect. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What makes Tengu rather OP is how its effect activates when it leaves the field. So returning it to the hand, it getting banished will cause the effect to go off. Having a card that does the same thing, but it having a clause like "The effect of XXX can only be used once per turn" wouldn't be all that broken.

 

Anyway I think this card is pretty neat. I guess my only question is in the event of something like dark hole would mother effect still happen? Right now it seems that mother would have to be on the field to resolve the effect. 

I think, I am not 100 % sure, but I think that it still would as it's a condition put on the token, not an effect of the monster itself. Tokens are always problematic for me to be honest, so it could very well be wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The way it's worded means that Mother Bear's effect triggers when the token is destroyed so Dark Hole will not trigger her effect since she will no longer be on the field to activate. I think she has lots of potential. But since Normal Summoning her is the only way to get the tokens, the third copy will be dead in the deck. It makes a semi-decent 2 card "engine". Also your opponent isn't gonna trigger this. They're more likely gonna run over the Mother before going after the token.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The way it's worded means that Mother Bear's effect triggers when the token is destroyed so Dark Hole will not trigger her effect since she will no longer be on the field to activate. I think she has lots of potential. But since Normal Summoning her is the only way to get the tokens, the third copy will be dead in the deck. It makes a semi-decent 2 card "engine". Also your opponent isn't gonna trigger this. They're more likely gonna run over the Mother before going after the token.

I had another Token problem once, and I asked the Rulings thread, and they said that it should work, as it works similarly how Ojama Trio works.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...