Jump to content

The One Who Waits for the Bus


Recommended Posts

Xyz boost using Tour Guide. Constructive criticism welcome and encouraged.

 

QgNel9d.jpg

 

Effect:

2 level 3 monsters 
You can also Xyz Summon this card by using "Tour Guide from the Underworld" you control as the Xyz material. When this card is Xyz summoned: Banish it. During your next Main Phase 1 after this card was banished: You can add 1 Level 3 Fiend-Type monster from your Deck or your Graveyard to your hand. If you use "Tour Guide from the Underworld" as Xyz material while this card is banished: Attach this card to that Xyz monster and either increase its ATK by 500 or increase its DEF by 1000. During the turn that this card is detached from an Xyz monster to activate an effect, that effect cannot be negated or responded to.
 

Thanks for reading.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Let's say my opponent has a Set Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare. I use Tour Guide to make Leviair. This snaps onto Leviair and pumps it to 33/31. I detach this card, retaining the ATK/DEF boost, and Special Summon a banished monster, and this cannot be countered by Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare because it is a cost. Is this possible?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Let's say my opponent has a Set Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare. I use Tour Guide to make Leviair. This snaps onto Leviair and pumps it to 33/31. I detach this card, retaining the ATK/DEF boost, and Special Summon a banished monster, and this cannot be countered by Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare because it is a cost. Is this possible?

 

Other than the retaining of the ATK/DEF boost, yes. I'll fix that. I thought it might need some balance, and you kind of just clarified. What would you suggest?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's a revolutionary concept but I must comment against the 1 Level 3 materials. Given this has never been done before and honestly makes no sense, you should at least give it normal summoning requirements and then throwing the Xyz Change clause;

"You can also Xyz Summon this card by using (X) you control as the Xyz Material."

 

Other than that little fact, I'd like to elaborate on what the above poster said regarding the timing; this is one instance in which wording is very important. I imagine what you tried to say was that it would go off after the second turn of banishment(or whatever the word is, lol). You should specify whether it counts both players' turns or just your own (think Final Countdown vs Future Fusion). Throwing in an exact timing for the activation of that effect would also help a lot, and since it's obviously meant to be a trigger effect, the comma should be a colon as well.

 

Since you're going through the trouble of making a weird ass wording for the second effect, I'd like to add that it would be that much easier to say that the monster's effects could not be negated when it is detached, rather than the whole cost thing. You see, that sort of effect is what you could define as a ruling nightmare. Since the whole thing would be a cost, you could screw up the order of resolution (in fact, that semi-colon indicates an effect resolving, which is all but impossible in the middle of detaching a mat! it should be a comma, to denote a continuous effect.) and do whatever weird shit. Hell, continuous effect that detach materials could not even work. And you made it compulsory to attach, so you'd waste the thing's effect if you ever needed to make a wall out of Tour Guide.

 

I still must say it's a lovely card with decent theory behind it.

 

EDIT: oh shit no tone down that atk boost

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Even if it couldn't be negated the Artifact Xyz could still alter it.

 

Don't know if that matters.

I like the idea of "effect becomes cost".

 

Yeah, it does. You could instead make it so it cannot be negated or responded to, which is also existing wording.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for the constructive comments.

 

My OCG is rusty in general, so when I thought this up I knew that it'd be a little messy. 

 

It's late at night where I'm at right now and I'm extremely tired, so could either of you maybe type out the effect in correct OCG? I'll get around to it, but right now it's too late at night for me to wrap my head around this thing. Maybe suggest a few edits? I'm open to anything.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 level 3 DARK monsters 
You can also Xyz Summon this card by using "Tour Guide from the Underworld" you control as the Xyz material. When this card is Xyz summoned: Banish it. sending its Xyz material(s) to the Graveyard.(this is unnecessary, as it's already implied.) During your next Main Phase 1 after this card was banished: You may  can (you should never use may. Can is universal.) add 1 Level 3 Fiend-Type monster from your Deck or your Graveyard to your hand. While this card is banished: If you use "Tour Guide from the Underworld" as Xyz Material: If you use "Tour Guide from the Underworld" as Xyz material while this card is banished: (in this case, both clauses were activation timing. Thus they go in the same sentence, not using two colons.) Attach this card to that Xyz monster and either increase its ATK by 500 or increase its DEF by 1000. During the turn that this card is detached from an Xyz monster to activate an effect(in this case, you're looking for a continuous effect, because as I said starting a chain when a material is detached is impractical and confusing. Thus you don't use the timing: cost; effect, but rather just a single sentence with commas.) that effect cannot be negated or responded to.

 

 

So the final version would look more or less like this:

 

2 level 3 DARK monsters 
You can also Xyz Summon this card by using "Tour Guide from the Underworld" you control as the Xyz material. When this card is Xyz summoned: Banish it. During your next Main Phase 1 after this card was banished: You can add 1 Level 3 Fiend-Type monster from your Deck or your Graveyard to your hand. If you use "Tour Guide from the Underworld" as Xyz material while this card is banished: Attach this card to that Xyz monster and either increase its ATK by 500 or increase its DEF by 1000. During the turn that this card is detached from an Xyz monster to activate an effect, that effect cannot be negated or responded to.


Since you made the changes I asked, here's an ocg purge. Also, I feel you'd be okay with just needing 2 Level 3's, generic.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...