Jump to content

Antivationist


Loleo

Recommended Posts

Antivationist

level 4

FIRE

Beast-Warrior/Effect

You can discard 2 cards including a trap card and declare 1 trap (Quick Effect); this effect is replaced by the declared trap.  You can only use the effect of "Antivationist" Once per turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
On 6/8/2022 at 10:14 PM, Kokoroshi said:

Noice

Your fingers must sting after typing such a long, detailed and thoroughly helpful review xD

~~~

IDK about the effect. It's... badly worded, I'm afraid. Declare 1 Trap? As in, any Trap in the universe? The Trap you discarded? or 1 of the Traps you discarded if you discarded 2? I hope it's the latter. Allowing a monster to activate any Trap effect in the game is... well, leave the craziness aside, it will cause issues. Imagine that you're playing IRL.

Loleo: "Well, I activate the effect of Trap X"

Kokoroshi: "I'm dumb as heck, I don't remember the effect of Trap X"

Loleo": "You're definitely dumb as heck. Trap X lets me win the Duel when I activate it".

Kokoroshi: "Ah ok".

Leaving jokes aside, it's no good if you try to give an effect that can become any Trap in the game.Now, if it's copying one of the Traps it's discarding (which I think it's the actual intended effect screwed by the wording xD) then:

Once per turn (Quick Effect): You can discard 2 cards, including 1 Trap; this effect becomes the effect of 1 of the discarded Traps when activated.

Anywho, there's also the fact that Quick Effects are Spell Speed 2 while Counter Traps are Spell Speed 3, causing further trouble. Would a monster be able to copy Spell Speed 3 effects? IDK. Pretty confusing card, tbh the only thing clear to me in this thread is that Kokoroshi is dumb as heck.

Hello Koko, just kidding xD

:7624_key:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Rayfield Lumina said:

Your fingers must sting after typing such a long, detailed and thoroughly helpful review xD

Lmao dramatic irony .

~~~

IDK about the effect. It's... badly worded, I'm afraid. Declare 1 Trap? As in, any Trap in the universe? The Trap you discarded? or 1 of the Traps you discarded if you discarded 2? I hope it's the latter. Allowing a monster to activate any Trap effect in the game is... well, leave the craziness aside, it will cause issues. Imagine that you're playing IRL.

Yes ANY trap that exists. (Rulings for this would make it to where you must specify a card legal in the current format)

Loleo: "Well, I activate the effect of Trap X"

Kokoroshi: "I'm dumb as heck, I don't remember the effect of Trap X"

Loleo": "You're definitely dumb as heck. Trap X lets me win the Duel when I activate it".

Kokoroshi: "Ah ok".

Leaving jokes aside, it's no good if you try to give an effect that can become any Trap in the game.

:3 that's exactly what I meant, you may have to take time to confirm the effects of the card you are attempting to declare, but I think it's fun, balanced, and awards a wide array of knowledge of the game!

Now, if it's copying one of the Traps it's discarding (which I think it's the actual intended effect screwed by the wording xD) then:

Once per turn (Quick Effect): You can discard 2 cards, including 1 Trap; this effect becomes the effect of 1 of the discarded Traps when activated.

Would be weaker but probably better, still would be getting to activate a trap on your own turn that you might not normally be able to.

Anywho, there's also the fact that Quick Effects are Spell Speed 2 while Counter Traps are Spell Speed 3, causing further trouble. Would a monster be able to copy Spell Speed 3 effects? IDK. 

Yes they would, but the effect would be treated as spell speed 2 like verte copying super poly. 

Pretty confusing card, tbh the only thing clear to me in this thread is that Kokoroshi is dumb as heck.

I actually made a card called innovationist which did the same thing for spells and he addressed some similar concerns there lol. One version was level 7 and required one discard instead.

Hello Koko, just kidding xD

:7624_key:

Glad to see you back Ray! 

Lots of critiquing can go into the cards discarded, what effects you can declare, Spellspeed, how easy it is to summon the monster etc.

One more issue left untouched is trap monsters! In which case the monster does a gemini summon like thing making itself the declared trap monster!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Rayfield Lumina said:

Your fingers must sting after typing such a long, detailed and thoroughly helpful review xD

~~~

IDK about the effect. It's... badly worded, I'm afraid. Declare 1 Trap? As in, any Trap in the universe? The Trap you discarded? or 1 of the Traps you discarded if you discarded 2? I hope it's the latter. Allowing a monster to activate any Trap effect in the game is... well, leave the craziness aside, it will cause issues. Imagine that you're playing IRL.

Loleo: "Well, I activate the effect of Trap X"

Kokoroshi: "I'm dumb as heck, I don't remember the effect of Trap X"

Loleo": "You're definitely dumb as heck. Trap X lets me win the Duel when I activate it".

Kokoroshi: "Ah ok".

Leaving jokes aside, it's no good if you try to give an effect that can become any Trap in the game.Now, if it's copying one of the Traps it's discarding (which I think it's the actual intended effect screwed by the wording xD) then:

Once per turn (Quick Effect): You can discard 2 cards, including 1 Trap; this effect becomes the effect of 1 of the discarded Traps when activated.

Anywho, there's also the fact that Quick Effects are Spell Speed 2 while Counter Traps are Spell Speed 3, causing further trouble. Would a monster be able to copy Spell Speed 3 effects? IDK. Pretty confusing card, tbh the only thing clear to me in this thread is that Kokoroshi is dumb as heck.

Hello Koko, just kidding xD

:7624_key:

Lol, it I’m pretty sure if your declaring a trap, than it would be any trap seeing as how “The True Name” has an effect where you declare a card which can be any card in the game, so yes, it is broken.

2 hours ago, Loleo said:

Glad to see you back Ray! 

Lots of critiquing can go into the cards discarded, what effects you can declare, Spellspeed, how easy it is to summon the monster etc.

One more issue left untouched is trap monsters! In which case the monster does a gemini summon like thing making itself the declared trap monster!

I do agree with the trap issue, would be difficult to sort out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...