JesusofChaos™ Posted July 5, 2008 Report Share Posted July 5, 2008 When an attack is declared, the Turn Player can retain priority to activate effects. At this time they are free to activate cards that perform an action when a monster attacks or any other effect with timing they can meet.If the Turn Player decides that they will pass, their opponent is given a chance to activate effects that respond to the attack (Sakuretsu Armor, Mirror Force, etc.) or any other effects with timing they can meet.If the Turn Player passes, and the opponent passes as well, the chance to use effects with like that of "Sakuretsu Armor", "Mirror Force", "Magic Cylinder", etc. is GONE.Now, the Battle Step doesn't immediately fast forward to the Damage Step. Players can still activate effects in the Battle Step. However, at this point it is too late to use cards that need to respond to an attack. "Enemy Controller" or "Book of Moon", for example, would still be possible at this point. Now what happens if a Chain is activated in response to the attack declaration and the attacking monster survives the Chain? For example, the opponent activates "Sakuretsu Armor" and the turn player uses "Trap Jammer" to negate it. Can the opponent begin another Chain with "Mirror Force"?The answer is no. There is only one Chain that can be used to respond to the declaration of the attack. When this Chain resolves, or is completely passed on by both players, the Battle Step will only allow for Chains that don't involve cards that need to respond to an attack. Situation 1:Turn Player attacks with a monster. Their opponent activates "Sakuretsu Armor". Turn Player chains "Trap Jammer". The Chain resolves and "Sakuretsu Armor" is negated.The opponent wants to activate another copy of "Sakuretsu Armor".... but they cannot! The Chain that could be used to respond to the attack has passed. It is no longer possible to activate cards like "Sakuretsu Armor" in response to this attack. Situation 2:Turn Player attacks with a monster. Their opponent activates "Sakuretsu Armor". Turn Player chains "Trap Jammer". The Chain resolves and "Sakuretsu Armor" is negated.The opponent wants to activate "Book of Moon".... and they can, because "Book of Moon" doesn't need to respond to an attack. That Chain has passed, but additional Chains can still be created during the remainder of the Battle Step. Situation 3:The Turn Player declares an attack. They ask their opponent if they would like to respond, and the opponent says "no". The Turn Player wants to activate "Magician's Circle".... but they cannot! The chance to respond to the attack is over and done, because both players passed. If the Turn Player had wanted to ensure the activation of his "Magician's Circle", he should have retained priority and activated it when he declared his attack. Situation 4:The Turn Player declares an attack. They retain priority to activate "Magician's Circle". The opponent responds with "Seven Tools of the Bandit". The Chain is resolved, and "Magician's Circle" is negated. The chance to activate effects that respond to the attack declaration has passed.The Turn Player decides to activate the first effect of "Enemy Controller", selecting the monster he was planning to attack. The opponent responds with "Ring of Destruction", to destroy the target chosen by the Turn Player. Neither player activates any further effect, so the Chain is resolves. "Ring of Destruction" destroys its target, and "Enemy Controller" fails because its target was removed by "Ring of Destruction".Now that the attack target has been removed from the field, a replay occurs. The Turn Player must now redecide their attack. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Exiro Posted July 5, 2008 Report Share Posted July 5, 2008 Once again, good job! I can't find any errors this time. In fact, I found things that I wasn't even aware of. Other things that can be added...If the first Sakuretsu Armor is chained to by a card of Spell Speed 2, for example Royal Decree, the timing for the second Sakuretsu is still correct, and since it is chained to Royal Decree, it will resolve before Royal Decree and destroy the attacking monster nonetheless.If a replay occurs, Sakuretsu Armor and other cards that can be activated when an attack is declared can NOT be activated because the attack has already been declared. {I am not sure about this one} Anyways, that's a rep for you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JesusofChaos™ Posted July 5, 2008 Author Report Share Posted July 5, 2008 Your 2nd point is incorrect with TCG rules, OCG it is ok. When replay occurs you go back to the point just after you declare attack, here cards such as sak can be chained. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.