Jump to content

[賢狼ホロ] Heart of the Cards


賢狼ホロ

Recommended Posts

391367r.jpg

p><p>[center][img]<a href=http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/5082/391367h.jpg' alt='391367h.jpg'>[/center]

p><p>[spoiler=Effect]Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). Draw 1 card. If the card you drew is a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If the card you drew has an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), activate that card

 

 

 

[spoiler=Original Card]

 

[spoiler=Effect]Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). Draw 1 card and Summon a monster(s) using that card. (If you draw a Monster Card that can be Normal Summoned, you can Special Summon it.) The effect(s) of the Summoned monster(s) is negated until your next turn. If you cannot Summon any monster, discard all cards in your hand.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I understand the effect, but I believe you are not following the correct OCG. You could try something like this:

 

Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). Draw 1 card. If the card you drew is a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If the card you drew has an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), activate that card's effect. The effect(s) of the Summoned monster(s) is negated until your next turn. If you cannot Summon any monster, discard all cards in your hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I understand the effect' date=' but I believe you are not following the correct OCG. You could try something like this:

 

Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). [b']Draw 1 card. If the card you drew is a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If the card you drew has an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), activate that card's effect. [/b]The effect(s) of the Summoned monster(s) is negated until your next turn. If you cannot Summon any monster, discard all cards in your hand.

 

Agreed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I kind of agree with that OCG, apart from that it doesn't allow you to draw a Machine-Type monster to activate Machina Fortress effect, etc. Another line stating "If you draw a card that allows you to activate another card's effect that Special Summons a monster, activate it."? This last thing has probably never been done in the TCG, so I would suppose there is no correct OCG for this.

 

Any suggestions on limiting its powers? Is it Forbidden-Overpowered or Limited-Overpowered?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

LOL! You have created a card that have the same name as my old card! :D

 

[spoiler=Check It]

wveicj.png

 

 

 

 

Judging by your card's effect, it based on luck/chance. If you manage to Draw Monster Card, you win. If not, you got zero card in your hand for 1 turn. I think it balance because today, the majority of cards in the Deck is a Spell Cards. People usually stock few monsters especially with OTK Deck.

 

But if you want add a drawback, i guess you should add: "Your opponent can negate this card's activation by discarding 1 Monster, Spell and Trap Card from their hand." So if you failed to Summon a monster and lost all cards from your hand because of your opponent negation, your opponent is also lost 3 cards from their hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I was just thinking of that legendary quote: "I place my faith in the heart of the cards, and my faith rewards me with Blue-Eyes White Dragon!" So, naturally, it became "Heart of the Cards". :3

 

It is not that I want to add a drawback, according Xand it is overpowered, so I was thinking that it needed a drawback. But as you put it seems quite all right as it is...

 

Still it can be used together with cards that allows you see and/or rearrange the top cards, but I think the drawback of not being able to use the effect of that monster (for a while) is a drawback enough.

 

Updated with new OCG... Better? >_>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I kind of agree with that OCG' date=' apart from that it doesn't allow you to draw a Machine-Type monster to activate Machina Fortress effect, etc. Another line stating "If you draw a card that allows you to activate another card's effect that Special Summons a monster, activate it."? This last thing has probably never been done in the TCG, so I would suppose there is no correct OCG for this.

 

Any suggestions on limiting its powers? Is it Forbidden-Overpowered or Limited-Overpowered?

[/quote']

 

I see you are interested in summoning "Machina Fortress" from the grave, but I believe that is not possible, because if you draw a monster (even if it is the Machine-type monster with just the 2 Levels you need for completing the 8 levels) it will be automatically summoned by your card, so you cannot discard it as fodder for the Fortress.

 

 

And I think the card is just fine because it is based on luck. Of course there are ways to manipulate the Deck in order to summon a nice monster with the Trap, but you would have to combine this card with other 2 or 3 cards and it make take some Time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Machina Fortress was the only card I could think of that has such a summoning requirement. But lets say you have Anteatereatingant then: you have only one Spell Card in your hand, but you get another one with heart of the cards. So you can set it to immediately summon Anteatereatingant by its effect. Or if you draw Foolish and send 1 insect monster to the graveyard so you can special summon Doom Dozer.

Perhaps, taking it that far is too far? Should I leave it and just make it normal summon / instant summon effects? Or (not correct ocg, but you get the point):

Activate only by revealing your hand while you cannot Summon any monsters. Draw 1 card and activate the appropriate effect:

* If it was a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If you cannot, discard your hand.

* If it was a Spell Card, activate it and Summon a monster before the end of the turn. Otherwise discard your hand.

* If it was a Trap Card, activate it from your hand and Summon a monster before the end of the turn. Otherwise discard your hand.

(don't correct the ocg, I am too tired to sort it out just now : p)

 

Or is it just to complicated?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You say "activate that card's effect", so rulings applying to Diamond Dude would apply likewise to this card.

But the thing is you don't have to actually "use" the card you draw, so you could potentially benefit from the effect twice. That might be a concern, despite that the penalty is great...

(Let's say if you draw "Crystal Abundance" by this card and activate its effect, it would wipe your opponent's field and populate your own (for free), while leaving you yet another "Crystal Abundance" in your hand.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is getting too complicated and OPed. I think you should stick to this:

 

I understand the effect' date=' but I believe you are not following the correct OCG. You could try something like this:

 

Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). [b']Draw 1 card. If the card you drew is a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If the card you drew has an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), activate that card's effect. [/b]The effect(s) of the Summoned monster(s) is negated until your next turn. If you cannot Summon any monster, discard all cards in your hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You say "activate that card's effect"' date=' so rulings applying to Diamond Dude would apply likewise to this card.

But the thing is you don't have to actually "use" the card you draw, so you could potentially benefit from the effect twice. That might be a concern, despite that the penalty is great...

(Let's say if you draw "Crystal Abundance" by this card and activate its effect, it would wipe your opponent's field and populate your own (for free), while leaving you yet another "Crystal Abundance" in your hand.)

[/quote']

 

He has a point, the card with the summoning effect would remain in your hand and you could use it later. So, to prevent that, you could add the text in bold to the effect I suggested:

 

Activate only when you control no monsters, and your opponent controls a monster(s). Draw 1 card. If the card you drew is a monster that can be Normal Summoned, Special Summon it. If the card you drew has an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), send that card to the Graveyard and activate its effect. The effect(s) of the Summoned monster(s) is negated until your next turn. If you cannot Summon any monster, discard all cards in your hand.

 

And I not being biased because I suggested it, but I too think you should stick with this, since adding the effect you wish is complicated and hard to type as we don't have any OCG examples from official cards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That is almost what I was to point out: the way I wrote it, the effect would be negated by "Necrovalley" or cards that negate the effects of cards in the grave.

 

And yes, I think the card is finished. Great job.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...