King of Nothing Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 [img]http://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/products/m12/e1fq4ugovf_en.jpg[/img] Garruk was taken, so discuss this instead. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flame Dragon Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 Such a trolly card. I couldn't help but think of Maro's explanation as to why they print "bad" rare as I read this. Any, card actually has use, just feel bad for people that pull this.....ever. And I'm calling it now, I'm pulling this at the prerelease. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Immortal Chaos Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 Its not that bad of a card, say you attacked, combine this with that blue card that lets you take an extra 2 turns after it I think it is. Say you attack, and your opponent tries to somehow counter the damage, they waste the card, you activate this things effect, end the turn, the counter is null, you have a new turn to attack again, and if they try something again, end it again, then you have your third turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King of Nothing Posted July 1, 2011 Author Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 At a prerelease event it'll suck, but outside of one it can actually be really good. Still, I think this card was made for classic play. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Immortal Chaos Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 If I still had spending money, I might find some way to use this card to an advantage other than what I stated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King of Nothing Posted July 1, 2011 Author Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 [quote name='Dark Hero Flashman' timestamp='1309497459' post='5324306'] If I still had spending money, I might find some way to use this card to an advantage other than what I stated. [/quote] You can put it on the stack with effect that trigger at the end of the turn, and those effects don't happen. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Immortal Chaos Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 Yeah, good point Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Lightray Daedalus- Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 in m12: WHITE: Alabaster Mage gives Lifelink permanently. Benalish Veteran's +1/+1s are permanent. Gideon Jura Becomes a 6/6 FOREVER! Guardians' Pledge and Mighty Leaps's Boosts are permanent. Stave Off Protection won't wore off. BLUE: Chasm Drake will grant Flying to creatures till they die. Turn to Frog permanently turn things into Frogs BLACK: Call to the Grave will never get selfdestroyed Devouring Swarm's Pump ups are permanents. Hideous Visage grants Intimidate permanently. Onyx Mage grants Deathtouch permanently. Wring Flesh well you'll imagine...XD RED: Act of Treason gives you permanent control of you opponent's creature (Combine with chandra's second effect trollface.jpg) Slaughter Cry Power Increase is permanent along the extra First Strike GREEN: Arachnus Web loses its drawback Overrun's Boost won't wore off Skinshifter form changes can last till you decide to change it to another...=O Titanic Growth's Buff = permanent SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO That's its use with the current cards on m12...Going Back in time makes the Card stupidly Broken...so yeah...XD Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boss Z Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 [quote name='The suppression PLUTO' timestamp='1309549801' post='5325702'] in m12: WHITE: Alabaster Mage gives Lifelink permanently. Benalish Veteran's +1/+1s are permanent. Gideon Jura Becomes a 6/6 FOREVER! Guardians' Pledge and Mighty Leaps's Boosts are permanent. Stave Off Protection won't wore off. BLUE: Chasm Drake will grant Flying to creatures till they die. Turn to Frog permanently turn things into Frogs BLACK: Call to the Grave will never get selfdestroyed Devouring Swarm's Pump ups are permanents. Hideous Visage grants Intimidate permanently. Onyx Mage grants Deathtouch permanently. Wring Flesh well you'll imagine...XD RED: Act of Treason gives you permanent control of you opponent's creature (Combine with chandra's second effect trollface.jpg) Slaughter Cry Power Increase is permanent along the extra First Strike GREEN: Arachnus Web loses its drawback Overrun's Boost won't wore off Skinshifter form changes can last till you decide to change it to another...=O Titanic Growth's Buff = permanent SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO That's its use with the current cards on m12...Going Back in time makes the Card stupidly Broken...so yeah...XD [/quote] Didn't think of any of that... b ut very nice to know that if I manage to draft this I won't have to completely RAEG... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted July 2, 2011 Report Share Posted July 2, 2011 [quote name='The suppression PLUTO' timestamp='1309549801' post='5325702'] in m12: WHITE: Alabaster Mage gives Lifelink permanently. Benalish Veteran's +1/+1s are permanent. Gideon Jura Becomes a 6/6 FOREVER! Guardians' Pledge and Mighty Leaps's Boosts are permanent. Stave Off Protection won't wore off. BLUE: Chasm Drake will grant Flying to creatures till they die. Turn to Frog permanently turn things into Frogs BLACK: Call to the Grave will never get selfdestroyed Devouring Swarm's Pump ups are permanents. Hideous Visage grants Intimidate permanently. Onyx Mage grants Deathtouch permanently. Wring Flesh well you'll imagine...XD RED: Act of Treason gives you permanent control of you opponent's creature (Combine with chandra's second effect trollface.jpg) Slaughter Cry Power Increase is permanent along the extra First Strike GREEN: Arachnus Web loses its drawback Overrun's Boost won't wore off Skinshifter form changes can last till you decide to change it to another...=O Titanic Growth's Buff = permanent SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO That's its use with the current cards on m12...Going Back in time makes the Card stupidly Broken...so yeah...XD [/quote] Did you read the reminder text? [i]and "until end of turn" effects end.[/i] Therefore, it really has none of those uses. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King of Nothing Posted July 3, 2011 Author Report Share Posted July 3, 2011 [quote name='Mystery Guest' timestamp='1309611233' post='5327799'] Did you read the reminder text? [i]and "until end of turn" effects end.[/i] Therefore, it really has none of those uses. [/quote] It has all of those uses. You can chain it to the "End of turn" effects to instantly end the turn. Read the article on it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted July 3, 2011 Report Share Posted July 3, 2011 Link me to the article. The reminder text itself says that "until end of turn" effects will end. Though I must admit that I did miss Call to the Grave from that list. Yes, it will skip Call to the Grave's trigger, but everything with "until end of turn" will still end. Here's the official ruling on "End the turn". 712. Ending the Turn 712.1. One card (Time Stop, though soon it will be two cards) ends the turn. When an effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order, as they differ from the normal process for resolving spells and abilities (see rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities”). 712.1a Exile every object on the stack, including the object that’s resolving. Remove all creatures and planeswalkers (including those that are phased out) from combat. All objects not on the battlefield or in the command zone that aren’t represented by cards will cease to exist the next time state-based actions are checked (see rule 704, “State-Based Actions”). 712.1b Check state-based actions. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack. 712.1c The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. Skip any phases or steps between this phase or step and the cleanup step. Here are the rulings of the cleanup step: 514. Cleanup Step 514.1. First, if the active player’s hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce his or her hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. 514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. 514.3. Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated. However, this rule is subject to the following exception: 514.3a At this point, the game checks to see if any state-based actions would be performed and/or any triggered abilities are waiting to be put onto the stack (including those that trigger “at the beginning of the next cleanup step”). If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities. Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins. Therefore, you can't respond against "until end of turn" and "this turn" effects fading away. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Lightray Daedalus- Posted July 3, 2011 Report Share Posted July 3, 2011 Yeah...aparrently I'm blind...What this card supports are effects that work: "During the NEXT end Phase"...card still skips this...therefore work with TAKEANEXTRATURN cards...XD also it still works with Arachnus Web Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.