Jump to content

[Retrained] Kaien the Emissary of Darkness


Kyng's Old Account

Recommended Posts

From this, to...

6Jfus0U.jpg

[hr]

When a card you control is sent to the Graveyard by a card effect your opponent controls: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. You must control no cards to activate and to resolve this effect. When Special Summoned this way, activate the appropriate effect, based on the sent card type: (changed so it's easier to understand that you mean the card sent before
● Monster: Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard other than the monster sent to the Graveyard. Its ATK and DEF are equal to the monster sent to the Graveyard.
● Spell/Trap: Activate the effect of the card. If the timing is incorrect: Send 1 Spell or Trap card your opponent controls to the Graveyard.

[hr]
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Retrained? That's a pretty silly word to use, "remake" or "redesign" would make more sense. OP: A little Gorz ripoff, but can't be blamed, they got the same last names. Anyways, first a little OCG fix:

When a card you control is sent to the Graveyard by a card effect your opponent controls: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. You must control no cards to activate and to resolve this effect. When Special Summoned this way, activate the appropriate effect, based on the sent card type: (changed so it's easier to understand that you mean the card sent  before
● Monster: Special Summon 1 Monster from your Graveyard. Its ATK and DEF are equal to the monster sent to the Graveyard. (Not sure if you mean that you make it's ATK and DEF that of it's, or if you mean that it must be the same ATK and DEF here. I have a fix for the last though: Special Summon 1 monster (monster is always lowercased when not talking Extra Deck) from your Graveyard with ATK and DEF equal to the monster sent to the Graveyard.
● Spell/Trap: Activate the effect of the card. If the timing is incorrect: Send (you forgot to uppercase this) 1 Spell or Trap card your opponent controls to the Graveyard.

 

Now for the card: It's interesting, while I never liked the whole design behind Gorz, this is a better design. This way you can't set it up as much, you need something to be on the field for it to work. Now the SS effect, if it's the first second effect it's not that OP, but if it is it also means that your effect is written so you are able to SS the same monster, which I don't like, but correct me on this. Now it's Spell/Trap is something I also tried, and it's kind of weird how you can make that work, do you get the right timing if it's Quick-Like? I don't think any card in the real game can do this, so in that case, we would need to make some rules on how it works. It's weird, but could possibly work and is not really that big of a deal for this card, so I'll leave that effect as it is.

 

So yeah, new Gorz, interesting to say the least, probably not as useful, though that SS can create some possibilities, unless you mean for it to be SS a monster with the same ATK/DEF in which case it will be hard to use (unless you don't follow my advice to change it so it can't summon the sent monster, which would be horribly broken if you didn't). Oh also gotta mention the art, it's very nice, did you make it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thank you very much for the OCG Fix; I've updated the card henceforth!

As per Advanced Clause, enjoy your 100+ words rep! ^^

Anyhoo, I have to agree with you 100% regarding taming the Monster-based effect. I will prevent the same monster from being used, since it would be a basic revival at the cost of no-other cards.

I do know it isn't as useful as Gorz. I intended that, I didn't want this to have to suffer being hypothetically limited like its counterpart.

Now, for Spells/Traps, if it is cards like, say, Mystical Space Typhoon/Rush Recklessly, it'd activate easy peasy. Now, say it was a Face-down Ritual (God knows why you'd set it XD) If it was sent away, then this card's ability couldn't activate it.

Any better? Or did I not get your question?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thank you very much for the OCG Fix; I've updated the card henceforth!

As per Advanced Clause, enjoy your 100+ words rep! ^^

Anyhoo, I have to agree with you 100% regarding taming the Monster-based effect. I will prevent the same monster from being used, since it would be a basic revival at the cost of no-other cards.

I do know it isn't as useful as Gorz. I intended that, I didn't want this to have to suffer being hypothetically limited like its counterpart.

Now, for Spells/Traps, if it is cards like, say, Mystical Space Typhoon/Rush Recklessly, it'd activate easy peasy. Now, say it was a Face-down Ritual (God knows why you'd set it XD) If it was sent away, then this card's ability couldn't activate it.

Any better? Or did I not get your question?

still wondering about how that ATK/DEF thing, how does that work?

Anyways, Spell Speed 1 would be pretty obvious, since they work as Ignition Effect, except from the hand (or if activated while face-down) so that wouldn't be the problem, just not sure for Continuous Effects, would it simply gain that effect? How does that work?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

still wondering about how that ATK/DEF thing, how does that work?
Anyways, Spell Speed 1 would be pretty obvious, since they work as Ignition Effect, except from the hand (or if activated while face-down) so that wouldn't be the problem, just not sure for Continuous Effects, would it simply gain that effect? How does that work?

The ATK/DEF would work on the grounds that, say your opponent Dark Holes your BEWD; you can Special Summon DMG with 3000 ATK & 2500 DEF.

I think the continuous effect wouldn't activate. They need to remain Face-Up to maintain their effect, don't they? So, it wouldn't activate them.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

The ATK/DEF would work on the grounds that, say your opponent Dark Holes your BEWD; you can Special Summon DMG with 3000 ATK & 2500 DEF.

I think the continuous effect wouldn't activate. They need to remain Face-Up to maintain their effect, don't they? So, it wouldn't activate them.

No if their effects are quickly, in which case they would be able to activate the resolve in the same chain. But it seems that you're able to SS any monster and make it's ATK/DEF that of the destroyed monster, so my way of thinking was wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...