Jump to content

Galactic Trooper[Single Challenge 13/100]


Ren✧

Recommended Posts

bacJNfK.jpg

[spoiler=From forth the remains of shattered stars marches in a new breed of warrior]

Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. This card cannot be used as an Xyz Material Monster. If your opponent detaches an Xyz Material Monster from an Xyz Monster they control to activate its effect; Negate the monster's effect and destroy it, Special Summon this card. When this card is Summoned; Banish 1 Xyz Monster from your opponent's Graveyard. This card's ATK is treated as that of the banished monster. If this card would be removed from the field; Banish it. Each player can only activate the effects of "Galactic Trooper" once per turn.

 

[/spoiler]

 

OCG help/constructive criticism/REPS/go!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is actually rather original. Though there are definitively lots of negative points to it. For example, Summoning it as a cost is SO bad. I wouldn't really have a problem with a Counter Trap card that negated the effects of an Xyz Monster and destroyed it at no cost or something, but this not only does that, it also Summons itself as a COST (which is supposed to be a negative thing to make up for the advantage you're creating), which means you can't even respond to that, and from the DECK. It's insane, albeit a bit situational. It's a +2 from the Deck, to sum it up, and that's broken.

 

Make it from the hand only, make its summoning not a cost, add an actual cost instead. That should make the card good.

 

I give you credit for originality, though, that's something I value. Also, that effect it has on summon needs a colon, not a semi-colon, as it is an activation condition and not a cost. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is actually rather original. Though there are definitively lots of negative points to it. For example, Summoning it as a cost is SO bad. I wouldn't really have a problem with a Counter Trap card that negated the effects of an Xyz Monster and destroyed it at no cost or something, but this not only does that, it also Summons itself as a COST (which is supposed to be a negative thing to make up for the advantage you're creating), which means you can't even respond to that, and from the DECK. It's insane, albeit a bit situational. It's a +2 from the Deck, to sum it up, and that's broken.

 

Make it from the hand only, make its summoning not a cost, add an actual cost instead. That should make the card good.

 

I give you credit for originality, though, that's something I value. Also, that effect it has on summon needs a colon, not a semi-colon, as it is an activation condition and not a cost. 

 

This OCG with colons and crap confuses the crap out of me. I'll try to fix something up here. If I do the summoning from the hand, I think I will change the Once per duel clause to once per turn.

 

EDIT: Alright I tried to fix it, but like I said this cost and condition thing is really messing me up so if you want to rearrange the effect for me, I would be greatly appreciative.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This OCG with colons and crap confuses the crap out of me. I'll try to fix something up here. If I do the summoning from the hand, I think I will change the Once per duel clause to once per turn.

 

EDIT: Alright I tried to fix it, but like I said this cost and condition thing is really messing me up so if you want to rearrange the effect for me, I would be greatly appreciative.

It hasn't really become much better. Now it negates and destroys as a cost which is maybe even worse. At least it doesn't summon itself from the Deck anymore (now it doesn't say from where it actually summons itself), which was a big problem before the edit.

General tips about PSCT (Problem-Solving Card Text):

 

Before a colon ( ":" ) you must state activation conditions. That means WHEN, HOW or HOW OFTEN you can activate the effect. Note that there can be effects without activation conditions, meaning you can activate them at anytime that it's appropriate to do so. Also note that any word that comes after the colon is capitalized.

 

"Once per turn: You can destroy 1 card on the field."

"When this card is Normal Summoned: Gain 1000 Life Points."

"While you control another face-up "HERO" monster: You can make this card's ATK 2000, but is is destroyed at the End Phase."

 

As a general rule, any text that is written with a colon starts a Chain. Meaning, they're effects (not conditions) and they activate (so, they're not continuous). There are few exceptions to this, like the Morphtronic archetype, whose OCG includes colons and yet is continuous, but that's an exception.

 

Also note that there can be more than 1 condition. If there are, you seperate them using a comma.

 

"Once per turn, while you have 3 or fewer cards in your hand: You can discard 1 card."

 

Now about costs. Costs are things you do at the time you activate a card, mandatorily, contrary to the card's own EFFECT, which you only really apply when the card resolves. You cannot activate a card if you cannot pay its cost. 

 

Example:

 

Opponent activates a random Trap Card. He/she pays the card's cost, then you are given the chance to respond with a card or effect as Chain Link 2. Note that though the cost is paid now, the effect only happens when the Chain resolves.

You then activate Seven Tools of the Bandit as Chain Link 2. You pay 1000 Life Points, but the opponent's card is not negated yet, because that is the card's effect. The card's cost, though, is already paid.

Then the opponent activates Dark Bribe as Chain Link 3, in response to your Seven Tools. You don't draw a card yet, because that is part of Dark Bribe's effect, not cost (the part about you drawing a card contains no semi-colon - Dark Bribe has no cost).

Then the Chain resolves like this: Dark Bribe negates Seven Tools, and you draw a card by the effect of Dark Bribe. Seven Tools is negated, so its effect is lost, but your paid Life Points won't come back (costs are never refunded or negated), then the random Trap Card's effect happens as usual, as if nothing had been activated in response to it.

 

Before a semi-colon ( ";" ) you must state an effect's cost. 

In this example, activation conditions are in green, costs are bold and effects are written as normal.

 

"You can pay 1000 Life Points; destroy all other cards on the field."

"You can discard 1 card; draw 1 card."

"Once per turn: You can target 1 card on the field; destroy it."

"During either player's turn: You can Tribute this card; Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard."

 

Also note that, just as activation conditions, you can have more than 1 action as a cost.

 

"When a monster is Summoned: You can discard 1 card to target that monster; send it to the Graveyard."

 

Now an effect structure that shows multiple activation conditions, multiple costs and multiple actions as an effect.

 

"While this card is in face-up Defense Position, when your opponent activates a Spell/Trap Card: You can Tribute this card and pay 500 Life Pointsnegate that card's activation, and if you do, destroy it.

"While you control no monsters, if you control a face-up Field Spell Card: You can send the top card of your Deck to the Graveyard and banish 1 monster from your Extra Deck; Special Summon this card in face-up Attack Position, also draw 1 card."

 

Something important about the order of effects is about the words "then", "if you do", "and" and "also".

 

"Target 1 card on the field; send it to the Graveyard, then your opponent gains 1000 Life Points."

 

In this first example, about "then", even though it's all 1 card effect, there's an order. First the targeted card is sent to the Graveyard, THEN your opponent gains 1000 Life Points. This doesn't happen simultaneously and is important to determine whether or not a card makes another miss timing. Something important to note about "then" is that the first effect before the "then" (in this card, "send it to the Graveyard") MUST happen in order for the second one ("your opponent gains 1000 LP") to also happen. However, the contrary does not apply. If your opponent cannot gain 1000 Life Points for some reason, then he doesn't, even though you can send his/her card to the Graveyard.

 

"While you control a monster: You can pay 1000 Life Points; destroy all monsters on the field and discard 1 random card from your opponent's hand."

 

In the "and" example, you either do both effects or none. If you activate this card while the opponent has 1 card on their hand, then they activate something as a Chain that discards that only card from their hand, this effect disappears - meaning no monsters will be destroyed, since you couldn't discard 1 random card from your opponent's hand anymore. The same holds true if there are no monsters on the field to destroy - then you won't discard a card from your opponent's hand. Also, the effects are simultaneous, not in an order like the "then" effects.

 

"Negate a Spell/Trap Card's activation, and if you do, destroy it."

 

"And if you do" effects are like "then" effects - if you do the first part, you also do the second, but you can't do the second if you can't do the first part. In this example, you wouldn't be able to destroy that card if you couldn't negate it. What's different about "and if you do" effects in comparison to "then" effects is that "and if you do" effects are considered to happen simultaneously, contrary to "then" effects which happen in order.

 

"When this card is Normal Summoned: Special Summon 1 "HERO" Level 4 or lower monster from your Deck, also add 1 card from your Graveyard to the hand."

 

"Also" effects are effects in which none requires the other. If you cannot Special Summon for a reason, you still add 1 card from your Graveyard to the hand. If there are no cards in your Graveyard, you still Special Summon. This is also simultaneous.

 

I hope this was helpful. :P

Any questions, ask me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It hasn't really become much better. Now it negates and destroys as a cost which is maybe even worse. At least it doesn't summon itself from the Deck anymore (now it doesn't say from where it actually summons itself), which was a big problem before the edit.

General tips about PSCT (Problem-Solving Card Text):

 

Before a colon ( ":" ) you must state activation conditions. That means WHEN, HOW or HOW OFTEN you can activate the effect. Note that there can be effects without activation conditions, meaning you can activate them at anytime that it's appropriate to do so. Also note that any word that comes after the colon is capitalized.

 

"Once per turn: You can destroy 1 card on the field."

"When this card is Normal Summoned: Gain 1000 Life Points."

"While you control another face-up "HERO" monster: You can make this card's ATK 2000, but is is destroyed at the End Phase."

 

As a general rule, any text that is written with a colon starts a Chain. Meaning, they're effects (not conditions) and they activate (so, they're not continuous). There are few exceptions to this, like the Morphtronic archetype, whose OCG includes colons and yet is continuous, but that's an exception.

 

Also note that there can be more than 1 condition. If there are, you seperate them using a comma.

 

"Once per turn, while you have 3 or fewer cards in your hand: You can discard 1 card."

 

Now about costs. Costs are things you do at the time you activate a card, mandatorily, contrary to the card's own EFFECT, which you only really apply when the card resolves. You cannot activate a card if you cannot pay its cost. 

 

Example:

 

Opponent activates a random Trap Card. He/she pays the card's cost, then you are given the chance to respond with a card or effect as Chain Link 2. Note that though the cost is paid now, the effect only happens when the Chain resolves.

You then activate Seven Tools of the Bandit as Chain Link 2. You pay 1000 Life Points, but the opponent's card is not negated yet, because that is the card's effect. The card's cost, though, is already paid.

Then the opponent activates Dark Bribe as Chain Link 3, in response to your Seven Tools. You don't draw a card yet, because that is part of Dark Bribe's effect, not cost (the part about you drawing a card contains no semi-colon - Dark Bribe has no cost).

Then the Chain resolves like this: Dark Bribe negates Seven Tools, and you draw a card by the effect of Dark Bribe. Seven Tools is negated, so its effect is lost, but your paid Life Points won't come back (costs are never refunded or negated), then the random Trap Card's effect happens as usual, as if nothing had been activated in response to it.

 

Before a semi-colon ( ";" ) you must state an effect's cost. 

In this example, activation conditions are in green, costs are bold and effects are written as normal.

 

"You can pay 1000 Life Points; destroy all other cards on the field."

"You can discard 1 card; draw 1 card."

"Once per turn: You can target 1 card on the field; destroy it."

"During either player's turn: You can Tribute this card; Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard."

 

Also note that, just as activation conditions, you can have more than 1 action as a cost.

 

"When a monster is Summoned: You can discard 1 card to target that monster; send it to the Graveyard."

 

Now an effect structure that shows multiple activation conditions, multiple costs and multiple actions as an effect.

 

"While this card is in face-up Defense Position, when your opponent activates a Spell/Trap Card: You can Tribute this card and pay 500 Life Pointsnegate that card's activation, and if you do, destroy it.

"While you control no monsters, if you control a face-up Field Spell Card: You can send the top card of your Deck to the Graveyard and banish 1 monster from your Extra Deck; Special Summon this card in face-up Attack Position, also draw 1 card."

 

Something important about the order of effects is about the words "then", "if you do", "and" and "also".

 

"Target 1 card on the field; send it to the Graveyard, then your opponent gains 1000 Life Points."

 

In this first example, about "then", even though it's all 1 card effect, there's an order. First the targeted card is sent to the Graveyard, THEN your opponent gains 1000 Life Points. This doesn't happen simultaneously and is important to determine whether or not a card makes another miss timing. Something important to note about "then" is that the first effect before the "then" (in this card, "send it to the Graveyard") MUST happen in order for the second one ("your opponent gains 1000 LP") to also happen. However, the contrary does not apply. If your opponent cannot gain 1000 Life Points for some reason, then he doesn't, even though you can send his/her card to the Graveyard.

 

"While you control a monster: You can pay 1000 Life Points; destroy all monsters on the field and discard 1 random card from your opponent's hand."

 

In the "and" example, you either do both effects or none. If you activate this card while the opponent has 1 card on their hand, then they activate something as a Chain that discards that only card from their hand, this effect disappears - meaning no monsters will be destroyed, since you couldn't discard 1 random card from your opponent's hand anymore. The same holds true if there are no monsters on the field to destroy - then you won't discard a card from your opponent's hand. Also, the effects are simultaneous, not in an order like the "then" effects.

 

"Negate a Spell/Trap Card's activation, and if you do, destroy it."

 

"And if you do" effects are like "then" effects - if you do the first part, you also do the second, but you can't do the second if you can't do the first part. In this example, you wouldn't be able to destroy that card if you couldn't negate it. What's different about "and if you do" effects in comparison to "then" effects is that "and if you do" effects are considered to happen simultaneously, contrary to "then" effects which happen in order.

 

"When this card is Normal Summoned: Special Summon 1 "HERO" Level 4 or lower monster from your Deck, also add 1 card from your Graveyard to the hand."

 

"Also" effects are effects in which none requires the other. If you cannot Special Summon for a reason, you still add 1 card from your Graveyard to the hand. If there are no cards in your Graveyard, you still Special Summon. This is also simultaneous.

 

I hope this was helpful. :P

Any questions, ask me.

 

This is like a gift from heaven. Thanks so much. I fixed it and I get what you mean, the effect was making it so that even if the summon of the monster was negated the Xyz Monster would still be destroyed. I switched it though. So is it good now? Thanks so much!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...