gmaster1991 Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 I would like to introduce to everyone a new idea for a type of card in the Extra Deck. I call this type of monster "Magi Monsters". As you can see, Magi Monsters have a light-green background on the card similar to Spell Cards. The picture below is an example of a Magi Monster: Breaker the Typhoon Warrior "Breaker the Magical Warrior" & "Mystical Space Typhoon" (When a Spell/Trap card on your side of the field is destroyed, place 1 Spell Counter on this card. Once per turn, you may remove any number of Spell Counters from this card to destroy an equal number of Spell/Trap cards on the field.) To perform a "Magi Summon", a specific Spell Card must be activated while you control a specific monster or a monster who's name has changed into that specific monster's via a card effect. Here's a detailed scenario of how this would work: 1. Player B has activated "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy a face-down Spell/Trap card on Player A's side of the field while Player A has a "Breaker the Magical Warrior" face-up on the field. 2. Player A activates the Magi Summon of "Breaker the Typhoon Warrior" from his/her Extra Deck by tributing the "Breaker the Magical Warrior". This is done in response to the activation of "Mystical Space Typhoon" and is considered Chain Link 2. 3. Player B does not have a response, so the chain resolves. Chain Link 2 resolves first so "Breaker the Typhoon Warrior" is Magi Summoned from the Extra Deck of Player A. 4. "Mystical Space Typhoon" resolves while "Breaker the Typhoon Warrior" is on the field, so 1 Spell Counter is placed on it. As a side note, the following rulings would apply to Magi Summons in general: 1. All Magi Summons are considered Special Summons. 2. Since all Magi Summons are activated in a chain to a specific Spell Card, certain cards such as "Thunder King Rai-Oh" or "Black Horn of Heaven" could not negate a Magi Summon because they can only negate Special Summons that do not start a chain. 3. Magi Monsters have levels like any non-Xyz monster, so the rules of all monsters with levels apply to them. 4. All Magi Monsters may have only 1 specific Spell Card printed as a requirement. However, stronger Magi Monsters may have multiple monsters required as a tribute. 5. A Magi Summon is considered a Spell Speed 2 effect. 6. Like Fusion, Synchro, and Xyz Monsters, cards that would send a Magi Monster back into the hand or Deck would instead send it to the Extra Deck. 7. If a Magi Summon is negated and the Magi Monster is destroyed(by "Solemn Warning", for example), it is sent to the Graveyard just like any other card in the Extra Deck (unless "Dimensional Fissure", "Macro Cosmos", etc. is on the field). 8. Since Magi Summons are activated in a chain, cards such as "Bottomless Trap Hole" or "Torrential Tribute" could not be activated because their summon is never the last thing to occur in a chain. To compensate for this, Magi Monsters are either typically weaker than Synchro or Xyz monsters or require the use of multiple tributes at once. (just added, thank you TFMegamanlan :D) 9. All Magi Summons are activated by the effect of the Magi Monster itself while it's still in the Extra Deck. Therefore, cards such as "Solemn Warning" (which can negate a monster effect that Special Summons a monster) or "Divine Wrath" (which can negate monster effects from anywhere at all) can negate a Magi Summon and destroy it. Cards such as "Doomcaliber Knight" and "Light and Darkness Dragon" must negate it's summoning effect (and in the case of "Doomcaliber Knight", destroy it). Cards such as "Effect Veiler" and "Skill Drain" cannot stop it because it's not on the field when it's summoning effect activates. Cards such as "Number 65: Djinn Buster" can negate it's summoning effect and leave it in the Extra Deck. 10. The tribute of monsters required to Magi Summon a monster is considered a cost effect, so if a Magi Summon is negated, the tributes remain gone as well.Well, what does everyone think? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 I can't say I like this, first off, the implication that Rai-Oh and Black Horn cannot negate them even though they would be an inherint Special Summon means they get around all Special Summon negate cards. It's not an Inherent Special Summon nor is it a Card Effect Special Summon. So what on Earth is it? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gmaster1991 Posted January 25, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 I can't say I like this, first off, the implication that Rai-Oh and Black Horn cannot negate them even though they would be an inherint Special Summon means they get around all Special Summon negate cards. It's not an Inherent Special Summon nor is it a Card Effect Special Summon. So what on Earth is it? Sorry, I almost forgot. The effect of a Magi Summon comes from the monster itself, so it counts as a monster effect. Cards like "Solemn Warning" (which can negate a monster effect that Special Summons a monster) or "Divine Wrath" (which can negate monster effects from anywhere at all) can negate a Magi Summon. Thanks for asking, by the way! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 Also Rules 6 & 7 are incredibly obvious, you don't need them at all. Sorry, I almost forgot. The effect of a Magi Summon comes from the monster itself, so it counts as a monster effect. Cards like "Solemn Warning" (which can negate a monster effect that Special Summons a monster) or "Divine Wrath" (which can negate monster effects from anywhere at all) can negate a Magi Summon. Thanks for asking, by the way! How its written, it would not be a Monster effect. Which adds to even more confusion. Plus it brings into question if any of the Extra Deck monsters would actually be inherent or Effect... (I'd rather they just go back to all Special Summons are effects and Rai-Oh can negate any Special Summon. It makes life simpler.) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gmaster1991 Posted January 25, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 Also Rules 6 & 7 are incredibly obvious, you don't need them at all. Yea, I know. I just put them there anyway. It never hurts to have more information. B) Also Rules 6 & 7 are incredibly obvious, you don't need them at all. How its written, it would not be a Monster effect. Which adds to even more confusion. Really? Oh well... I just wanted to try something new. Thanks for your honest opinion, TFMegamanlan. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zextra Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 New Subtypes belong in Any Other Cards, so this topic will be moved there accordingly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gmaster1991 Posted January 25, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 New Subtypes belong in Any Other Cards, so this topic will be moved there accordingly. Oh, ok. Sorry about that. Thanks! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.