Magic The Gathering Question(s)

MarbleZone

Apologies if this doesn't belong here, I honestly couldn't think of a better place to ask, and making a thread about Magic the Gathering here seems pointless as others have tried and failed due to the low number of players in this site.

Anyway, I started playing today. Being the idiot I am, I bought two Expert level decks, which don't come with a rulebook. I found one online, and watched a few videos on youtube, and despite being much more complicated to pick up than Yugioh, it's not that hard, I think.

However, when I started playing myself to try the rules out, I came across a question I can't find the answer to anywhere.

Instants. They can be played during either player's turn. However, they have a mana cost, right? So, if mana burn takes place when you end your turn, that means you have no mana in your pool during your opponent's turn, yes? Then how can I play Instants during my opponent's turn if I can't touch my Lands and generate mana outside of my turn? I obviously misread a ruling somewhere, but the rulebook is enormous and way too much to soak it all up in one read.

Just for kicks, first person to clarify earns a rep.

Mana in your mana pool is only available during your turn. If you have excess mana at the end of your turn, each one left over deals 1 damage to you.

You CAN tap lands for mana during your opponent's turn to activate Instants and abilities if you have it available. I use Instants in my Green deck a lot.

Hope that helps you out. If you need more clarity, I'll help if I can.

I can tap Lands during my opponent's turn? So, how exactly does that work? If I tap them during my turn, and I only get to untap them during my next turn, that's a problem right there... also, what's the timing for tapping Lands during my opponent's turn? Whenever I want so I can activate Instants, or is there a ruling?

Okay, lemme see if this example helps: