deathxy Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Valhalla,_Hall_of_the_Fallen long time ago everyone says that this is crap like was crap of the mummy, but now is better or still crap and the question op: activate valhalla me: k op: activate the effect of valhalla me: warning op: u cant cuz its already on field and blablabla so, who is wrong? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Resident Fascist Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='deathxy' timestamp='1309377793' post='5320130'] long time ago everyone says that this is crap like was crap of the mummy, but now is better or still crap [/quote] [quote]In Nordic Mythology, Valhalla is a great hall within Asgard, the home of the gods. Where dead heroes were taken by Odin and the valkyries, partying with the gods, and preparing to battle in Ragnarök. * Contrary to this card's effect, Valhalla is populated only by the Aesir (the Norse war gods), the valkyries, and (cheifly) the Einherjar, warriors who died gloriously in battle. [/quote] Mythologic cards ftw anyway, card is goos. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Sacred Ninja Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='deathxy' timestamp='1309377793' post='5320130'] op: activate valhalla me: k op: activate the effect of valhalla me: warning op: u cant cuz its already on field and blablabla so, who is wrong? [/quote] You're wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Rai Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 You can activate Warning in response because using its effect is activating it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Sacred Ninja Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='Cursed Reaction' timestamp='1309378374' post='5320161'] You can activate Warning in response because using its effect is activating it. [/quote] Isn't activating the card only playing it? Anyway, the Darklords NEED this card! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Rai Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 No. Otherwise, you can't activate Warning in response to any Effect Monster Effects. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vough Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 From my experiences, you cannot activate Warning when Valhalla is played due to it being continuous. You also cannot chain Warning to the activation of Valhalla's effect, nor the Special Summon of the monster. You can only activate Judgment when Valhalla is initially activated, not to the summon of the monster. "No. Otherwise, you can't activate Warning in response to any Effect Monster Effects." What do you mean? You can still activate it, you cannot chain it to a continuous effect that does not occur during initial resolution (Which is why Macro Cosmos/Starlight Road can be Warning'd, because they can special summon during initial activation, while Valhlla can't) So yeah, impervious to Warning and mildly with judgment. I luuuuuurrrrrrvvvvee it in Darklords, makes them 1030254823952x more playable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 It's confusing because Warning and Stardust have the same wording, but Stardust/SD Assault Mode can respond to effects activating, whereas Warning has to respond to Spell Card or Trap Card ACTIVATION, or Effect Monster Effects. I can only assume it has to do with Warning being a Counter Trap. It also means Warning can't stop Infernity Launcher. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vough Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='evilfusion' timestamp='1309379488' post='5320236'] It's confusing because Warning and Stardust have the same wording, but Stardust/SD Assault Mode can respond to effects activating, whereas Warning has to respond to Spell Card or Trap Card ACTIVATION, or Effect Monster Effects. I can only assume it has to do with Warning being a Counter Trap. It also means Warning can't stop Infernity Launcher. [/quote] Which means Warning cannot respond to Valhalla (BUT OPPRESSION CAN, DAMNIT!!) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='evilfusion' timestamp='1309379488' post='5320236'] I can only assume it has to do with Warning being a Counter Trap. It also means Warning can't stop Infernity Launcher. [/quote] I thought it was because it said "The activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or an Effect Monster's effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catterjune Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 I always liked Valhalla, strictly because I made a high level Fairy deck (as in, the fairies were of a high level. Not the deck) and it was a good way to summon them. Combined with Athena and CoSR (this was an old deck) and I could easily get out high level beatsticks. It was lulzy. Not good, but funny. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vough Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='PikaPerson01' timestamp='1309379759' post='5320255'] I always liked Valhalla, strictly because I made a high level Fairy deck (as in, the fairies were of a high level. Not the deck) and it was a good way to summon them. Combined with Athena and CoSR (this was an old deck) and I could easily get out high level beatsticks. It was lulzy. Not good, but funny. [/quote] I used to run Darklords with Athena. OTKed every other duel with Superbia-Zerato-Athena All 'cause of Valhalla Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Rai Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Never mind, I realised that Valhalla Special Summons upon resolution which I think means it dodges Warning. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deathxy Posted June 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 but u need to manually activate valhallas eff, starting a chain. Pay 2000 Life Points. Negate the Summon of a monster OR [b]the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's [u][i]effect[/i][/u][/b] that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), and destroy that card. the effect word refers only to effect monster's effect or spell card effect, trap card effect also, like Pay 2000 Life Points. Negate the Summon of a monster OR the activation of a Spell Card effect, Trap Card effect, or Effect Monster's effect that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), and destroy that card. is the same card with different wording, or a totally different card? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 I actually think the better wording would be "Spell, Trap, or Effect monster's effect". But then we look at Stardust Dragon, which can chain to the activation of Blaze Accelerator Cannon's effect despite it being a Continuous Card with Ignition properties, the same as Valhalla. Stardust is worded "...negate the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's effect..." I don't know why the cards are ruled differently. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugendramon Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 [quote name='evilfusion' timestamp='1309382196' post='5320385'] I actually think the better wording would be "Spell, Trap, or Effect monster's effect". But then we look at Stardust Dragon, which can chain to the activation of Blaze Accelerator Cannon's effect despite it being a Continuous Card with Ignition properties, the same as Valhalla. Stardust is worded "...negate the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's effect..." I don't know why the cards are ruled differently. [/quote] On this note, I've always thought Stardust couldn't negate Blaze Accelerator. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilhorus Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 If it helps clear any arguments, I had Warning set against an opponent on WC2011, and he played Valhalla. I didn't get an option to chain warning on card actiation or effect activation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Well, here's the ruling in that case: "Stardust Dragon's" effect can be chained to the effect of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card, like "Blaze Cannon" or "Skull Lair". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode wins for being the only card that can stop a face-up Royal Oppression *provided it's not the one being negated* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Warning only negates the activation of cards that Special Summon. The activation of effects cannot be negated by Warning, so you cannot activate Warning when someone activates the card "Valhalla" (because it doesn't Special Summon at this time) nor when they activate the effect of Valhalla (because Warning only negates card activations). Activating the effects of Monster cards count as "activating a card" rather than "activating an effect", so Naturia Forest will work if you negate the activation of a Monster Effect. Warning and Stardust have the same wording because Konami fails at using proper wording. Stardust Dragon and Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode can negate the activation of cards and the activation of effects. SD/AM can negate Valhalla both when someone tries to activate the card and when they try to activate the effect of an already face-up Valhalla. Stardust should just say "You can Tribute this card to negate an effect that destroys a card(s) on the field, and destroy it". SD/AM should say "You can Tribute this card to negate an effect and destroy the card." You can add the "Spell/Trap/Monster Effect" part if you want, though it doesn't seem necessary as they're all "effects". They kinda got it right with Fabled Unicore that simply states "negate all Spell, Trap, and Effect Monster Effects" Royal Oppression can negate a face-up Valhalla when someone tries to activate the effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brinolovania Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Wait, you can't Warning it? ...Apparently, I cheated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CDDRodrigo Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Yeah, you can't use Solemn Warning on cards like this (Valhalla, Herculean Power, Water Hazard, Call of the Mummy) neither Fusion Gate. Fatty Fairies is fun Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.