Just Crouton Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 [img]http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100429015741/yugioh/images/3/3f/ProhibitionSDMM-EN-C-1E.jpg[/img] Against HEROes: Call Alius Against Geargias: Call Race Car/Armor Against Dark Worlds: Call Grapha Against Wind-Ups: Call...whatever makes them crazy...Shark? MST aside, is this sideable? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aerion Brightflame Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 I always side it. Either it locks them down, or forces them to waste a card killing it. Either way, its a decent situation. Unfourunately, there are some decks where this can't lock them down. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeathSDelano Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 I'm really tempted to make a wierd deck to abuse this and Psi-blocker just to see how many people I can annoy with it, But never actually got to trying to make .-.I'm really tempted to make a wierd deck to abuse this and Psi-blocker just to see how many people I can annoy with it, But never actually got to trying to make .-. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mido9 Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 I think i'd call fortress than racecar. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 Calling any staple is probably the best answer. Can you still chain MST if MST is declared? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mido9 Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 [quote name='Archbaron Thor the Just' timestamp='1347999703' post='6027506'] Calling any staple is probably the best answer. Can you still chain MST if MST is declared? [/quote] Sure. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 [quote name='mido9' timestamp='1347999477' post='6027505'] I think i'd call fortress than racecar. [/quote] Depends on the build. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King of Games Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 I prefer Psi-blocker to this because it works on cards already out. It's also searchable w/ Serene Witch. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zowayix Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 Needs an errata to define "used" better. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 [quote name='Archbaron Thor the Just' timestamp='1347999703' post='6027506'] Calling any staple is probably the best answer. Can you still chain MST if MST is declared? [/quote] Any card already on the field won't be affected by Prohibition, so you don't even need to chain MST. You could just as well activate it after Prohibition has finished resolving. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sander Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 [quote name='Zowayix' timestamp='1348001424' post='6027532'] Needs an errata to define "used" better. [/quote] Uh, no, it doesn't need to be erratad just because you don't understand what "used" means. |: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 I'd agree on Zowayix on that one. As it is, Prohibition will stop any card from being played from the hand (either activated, summoned or set) and this is easy to understand. However, the declared cards can still be played from the deck, graveyard or banished areas, in which case they will hit the field without effect, in addition (if it is a monster) to not being able to change its battle position or being used as an XYZ/synchro material. This is something a player unfamiliar to the rules would not guess in a million years. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
b0b3rt Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 Actually, no. That's a UDE ruling which is no longer active and is rather misleading, it only referred to the card being summonedby [i]other[/i] card effects, not their own summoning conditions. So Prohibition would prevent Grapha from summoning itself (and if it came to a ruling, would probably stop you from using Reborn to bring it back as well). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 [quote name='b0b3rt' timestamp='1348082219' post='6028115'] Actually, no. That's a UDE ruling which is no longer active and is rather misleading, it only referred to the card being summonedby [i]other[/i] card effects, not their own summoning conditions. So Prohibition would prevent Grapha from summoning itself (and if it came to a ruling, would probably stop you from using Reborn to bring it back as well). [/quote] You can use Monster Reborn on a monster that has been prohibited. "Used" encompasses a lot of things. The named card: Cannot be Normal Summoned.or Set. Cannot be Special Summoned using its own inherent Conditions. This includes Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, and Xyz Summons Cannot be used as a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Material Monster. Cannot declare an attack. Cannot change its battle position. Cannot activate its effects. It also cannot apply its Continuous effects. The selected card can still be: Discarded for a cost (with the exception of Vicious Claw) Tributed (including for Tribute Summons and Ritual Summons). Special Summoned by other card effects (do note that cards that perform a proper Fusion Summon or Ritual Summon of a monster, such as "Polymerization" or "Black Luster Ritual" cannot Special Summon a Fusion Monster/Relinquished that has been prohibited. You can use Monster Reborn to Special Summon a prohibited monster from the Graveyard or Instant Fusion to Special Summon a prohibited Fusion monster.) I think that takes care of most of it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stan Alda Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 I sometimes use this to kill Final Countdown decks [in informal matches]. You should see the looks on their faces... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugendramon Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 [quote name='darkwolf777' timestamp='1348084150' post='6028134'] You can use Monster Reborn to Special Summon a prohibited monster from the Graveyard or Instant Fusion to Special Summon a prohibited Fusion monster.) [/quote] Instant Fusion does say the monster counts as Fusion Summoned. Doesn't that account for Prohibition? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 [quote name='Mugendramon' timestamp='1348099466' post='6028284'] Instant Fusion does say the monster counts as Fusion Summoned. Doesn't that account for Prohibition? [/quote] No. Its not a normal Fusion Summon that uses Fusion Material Monsters. Its a Special Summon. A monster that's being Fusion Summoned and a Monster that's being Special Summoned and is being treated as a Fusion Summon are two different things. In the section where I said "Cannot be Spceial Summoned by their own inherent methods", this includes when a Fusion Monster is Fusion Summoned by using Fusion Material Monsters (Polymerization). Contact Fusion is included as it uses Fusion Material Monsters and is the proper way to summon those types of Fusion Monsters (so you cannot Contact Fusion a GB Fusion Monster if its Prohibited). Ritual Monsters must be Ritual Summoned by using a Ritual Spell Card. Xyz Monsters are properly Xyz Summoned by overlaying monsters of similar levels. Synchro Monsters are properly Synchro Summoned using Tuner + Non-Tuner(s). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwarven King Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 [quote name='Stan Alda' timestamp='1348086373' post='6028152'] I sometimes use this to kill Final Countdown decks [in informal matches]. You should see the looks on their faces... [/quote] 1: Opponent activates Finaly Countdown. 2: Flip Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell in response. 3: Opponent flips table. 4: ??? 5: Win match due to poor sportsmanship by your opponent. OT: Prohibition can be easily bypassed if you know your rulings. But most people don't. ^^ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 It works against 7-monster HERO. Call Alius. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.