ekko1990 Posted October 9, 2012 Report Share Posted October 9, 2012 [img]http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/672/acallforrelease.jpg[/img] A card created mostly for tribute summons (hence its name, with "release" being the ocg name for tribute). You can of course use it in other ways as well, using Trade-In to draw cards out of it, or in combination with monsters like Beast King Barbaros. I did however concider the option of letting it target the lower level tribute monsters as well, however, Monarchs would make it too derpy. A reasonable pluss with a fair drawback? Discuss. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted October 12, 2012 Author Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 *bump* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 It is looking good to me. Recycles Extra Deck monsters, gives you discard food, plus the uses you just mentioned. Of course it could be argued that it's drawback is too much, but I actually don't really care about it. It has enough balanced ways to use it, and if someone does intend to Special Summon with the targets, it's not like the wait is that long or that it'll seal your other plays. Plus, Yugi + Gandora in the picture is awesome. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted November 6, 2012 Author Report Share Posted November 6, 2012 Fixed a minor ocg error on the card. I think it is fixed now. [u]New text[/u] Target 2 Level 7 or higher monsters in your graveyard: Add those targets to your hand. Then, until your second End Phase after this card's activation, you cannot Special Summon. [u]Old text[/u] Target 2 Level 7 or higher monsters in your graveyard: Add them to your hand. Then, until your second End Phase after this card's activation, you cannot Special Summon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazooie Posted November 6, 2012 Report Share Posted November 6, 2012 I just have to say, the card isn't exactly useful. Sure, it restocks Synchro monsters but you can't use them for two turns so that doesn't matter, plus Synchro's aren't as used so it probably isn't worth deck space just for them. Second, not many level 7 are actually used and this wouldn't really give them a REASON to be used. I mean, the reason Monarchs are used is because it's much easier to get 1 tribute then 2 with Frogs. I guess maybe it could be used in Photon Sanctuary.dek, but it might not be worth the space even there. Overall, while it might not be good, it's designed well, and it's cool for the most part. It's mostly overbalanced, so maybe reduce the Special Summon restriction to one End Phase rather then two, but then Megaloabyss and Moulinglacia exist so you can't really do that safely or those can be abused... It's just a case where it's hard to make really usable. Maybe make it to where you can Special Summon a certain Level +? I mean, it's really hard to get the tributes for the monsters you add as is. Maybe make it to where you can't Special Summon level 5 or higher monsters. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted November 7, 2012 Author Report Share Posted November 7, 2012 The two points of this card was to support decks that use high level tribute summoning. As it allows for setting up tributes with special summons beforehand (since the card only restricts you from special summoning after you activate this card on that turn, not before). In addition, it replenishes your hand, though at a heavy cost (unless you run a normal summon skill drain deck or another deck that uses little to no special summoning). Examples of those deck types would be Deity decks (Egyptian gods/evil gods), Hardened Armed Dragon decks, to a minor degree Gravekeepers, Titano Jurracs, frog decks utilizing Light and Darkness Dragon and Ancient Gear decks (yes, i know they can also utilize the field spell second effect), I also forgot to mention that you can use this to reuse Gorz, Emissary of Darkness. Your idea of allowing low level special summons seems good. I'll think about it a bit, for as of the moment, I can already see that allowing level 2 and 1 special summons would make frog decks a bit broken. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted November 8, 2012 Report Share Posted November 8, 2012 [quote name='ekko1990' timestamp='1352225039' post='6062256'] Fixed a minor ocg error on the card. I think it is fixed now. [u]New text[/u] Target 2 Level 7 or higher monsters in your graveyard: Add those targets to your hand. Then, until your second End Phase after this card's activation, you cannot Special Summon. [u]Old text[/u] Target 2 Level 7 or higher monsters in your graveyard: Add them to your hand. Then, until your second End Phase after this card's activation, you cannot Special Summon. [/quote] Actually, that's not an OCG error at all. There is an IRL difference about it. The newer version makes your card's effect dissapear if one of the targets is removed from it's place before you can grab it. While your older version will still grab whatever's still there to be grabbed. Just so you know. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted November 8, 2012 Author Report Share Posted November 8, 2012 Actually, no. I checked up salvage which has the the exact same wording on the effect part, and that card still adds the other card to the hand if one is removed according to the ruling. *Edit* Thought about adding to the card that you can special summon level 4 monsters, just to make it easier on the card text. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted November 10, 2012 Report Share Posted November 10, 2012 Finding samples is surprisingly hard. Other than Salvage and Avarice. Most of the older cards have no similar effects or no updated grammar. Most of the newer cards have no similar effects or just do not target at all.. but still, Pot of Avarice does loose it's effect. and just checked the wording, and is different than Salvage so, odds are, they are the other way around than what I said above (in which case it doesn't really matter for this thread anymore), but there IS a difference. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinobi Phoenix Posted November 10, 2012 Report Share Posted November 10, 2012 [quote name='ekko1990' timestamp='1352356005' post='6063676'] Actually, no. I checked up salvage which has the the exact same wording on the effect part, and that card still adds the other card to the hand if one is removed according to the ruling. *Edit* Thought about adding to the card that you can special summon level 4 monsters, just to make it easier on the card text.[/quote] [url="http://www.konami.com/yugioh/articles/?p=2962"][b]http://www.konami.com/yugioh/articles/?p=2962[/b][/url] [quote] New [b]Trap Hole[/b]: [i]When your opponent Normal Summons or Flip Summons 1 monster with 1000 or more ATK: Target that monster; destroy [u]that target[/u].[/i][list] [*]Clues: [*]This card destroys ‘that target’. So if the target’s ATK is no longer 1000 or more, the effect disappears. [/list] [color=#ffffff].[/color] Compare that to [b]Adreus, Keeper of Armageddon[/b] (from [i]Generation Force[/i]): [i]Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card to target 1 face-up card your opponent controls; destroy [u]it[/u].[/i][list] [*]Clues: [*]This card destroys ‘it’. So even if the target was flipped face-down, or shifted to your side of the field, it’s still destroyed. (If it’s not on the field at all when the effect resolves, it’s not destroyed, of course.) [/list] [/quote][list] [*] [/list] She made her point clear, but if you want proof from the horse itself, there you go. So that wasn't a correction. So I have little to nothing to say about the card itself, it's pretty plain. Maybe wish it says 1 or 2. Also, I am surprised you knew about the "target"/"it" distinction, but still left a glaring mistake in your text anyway. "Target 2 Level 7 or higher monsters in your graveyard: Add them to your hand. Then, until your second End Phase after this card's activation, you cannot Special Summon." I assume you meant to put a semi-colon ( ; ) between "...your Graveyard" and "Add them..." since Targeting something (when not done during resolution) is a cost, not a condition. So that's semi-colon, not colon. Usually an activation "cost" is just an action you have to perform and have total control over if you can do it and while a condition is something in the environment of the game itself that you haven't necessarily created (even if you have attempted to and succeed in engineering the condition to exist). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Me_Gustos Posted November 11, 2012 Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 Play this with Mausoluem. Easy summoning, although you may run out of life points fast. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ekko1990 Posted November 11, 2012 Author Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 Ok, I'll fix the semi-colon part as soon as the card maker starts working again. However, you are off with the targeting part, so don't go on showing rulings on cards that does not apply to the same situations as salvage. Here are some rulings that apply for Salvage, which has the card text "[color=#3A3A3A][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif][size=3][background=rgb(250, 250, 250)]Target 2 WATER monsters with 1500 or less ATK in your Graveyard; add those targets to your hand."[/background][/size][/font][/color] [url="http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.php?p=18644264&postcount=185"]http://www.pojo.biz/...4&postcount=185[/url] [quote]Gottoms' Emergency Call vs. Salvage [font=verdana, geneva, lucida,]Previous rulings on [/font][url="http://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/yugioh_single_card.asp?cn=Salvage&partner=POJO"]Salvage[/url][font=verdana, geneva, lucida,] state that if one of the targets is removed before resolution (for example by way of DD Crow) the effect resolves and the player adds the remaining water monster to their hand.[/font] [font=verdana, geneva, lucida,]Gottom's Emergency Call is ruled that if one of the targets is removed before resolution, then the player does not add the remaining card to their hand.[/font] [font=verdana, geneva, lucida,]We had several players that felt the [/font][url="http://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/yugioh_single_card.asp?cn=Salvage&partner=POJO"]Salvage[/url][font=verdana, geneva, lucida,] ruling was not correct in light of the ruling on Gottoms' and that if one of the targets was removed then the player would not get to add the remaining one Water monster. We explained that they still would add the one target and that [/font][url="http://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/yugioh_single_card.asp?cn=Salvage&partner=POJO"]Salvage[/url][font=verdana, geneva, lucida,] was not the same ruling as Gottoms'[/font][/quote] and for a second source [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Salvage"]http://yugioh.wikia....Rulings:Salvage[/url] [quote][color=#3A3A3A][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif][size=3][background=rgb(238, 238, 255)]If an effect is chained to "[/background][/size][/font][/color][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Salvage"]Salvage[/url][color=#3A3A3A][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif][size=3][background=rgb(238, 238, 255)]" and removes 1 of the [/background][/size][/font][/color][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Target"]targeted[/url][color=#3A3A3A][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif][size=3][background=rgb(238, 238, 255)] cards from the Graveyard, the other target will still be returned to the hand.[/background][/size][/font][/color][sup][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Salvage#cite_note-0"][1][/url][/sup][/quote] Therefore due to that the only difference in card text is that Call says "2 level 7 or higher monsters", while Salvage says "2 Water monsters with 1500 or less ATK", they should be subject to the same rulings. *edit* Also, could anyone help me think about if this would break anything if the card allowed level 4 special summons. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinobi Phoenix Posted November 11, 2012 Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 [quote name='ekko1990' timestamp='1352623365' post='6066307'] Ok, I'll fix the semi-colon part as soon as the card maker starts working again. However, you are off with the targeting part, so don't go on showing rulings on cards that does not apply to the same situations as salvage. Here are some rulings that apply for Salvage, which has the card text "[color=#3A3A3A][font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif][size=3][background=rgb(250, 250, 250)]Target 2 WATER monsters with 1500 or less ATK in your Graveyard; add those targets to your hand."[/background][/size][/font][/color] [url="http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.php?p=18644264&postcount=185"]http://www.pojo.biz/...4&postcount=185[/url] and for a second source [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Salvage"]http://yugioh.wikia....Rulings:Salvage[/url] Therefore due to that the only difference in card text is that Call says "2 level 7 or higher monsters", while Salvage says "2 Water monsters with 1500 or less ATK", they should be subject to the same rulings. *edit* Also, could anyone help me think about if this would break anything if the card allowed level 4 special summons. [/quote] A: You realized you just quoted a KSS and a UDE Old Ruling, right? KSS is rampant among many older cards. B: You quoted from Pojo of all places, back in 2010? Again, well before any of this new rulings script and writing style was in place. C: Your card is NOT Salvage. Your card doesn't have a KSS, nor would it need one. Simply changing two words on it to have it do what you want it to do (not keeping it and claiming it does something else anyway when you have proof of the other way). You just listed one card against another where players knew it should have been the same and Konami via KDE tells them basically "All well, our game." The Problem Solving Text was another attempt to prevent KSS from happening as they have to ensure they get the card creator's input before writing the English Versions in order to do a problem-solve version (as you know OCG cards are NOT written in Problem-Solving Style). This was not the case when UDE had the game and I know from Inside Sources that it's not very easy to get the sort of information or even cards they want for the game. There's plenty of situations they have to abide by that make no sense to them either due to the various inner politics (3 or 4 Americans being told what to do by Japanese owners who really don't care about creativity or structure all that much as marketing and attracting buyers... or didn't you notice that only TCG has a Tournament Structure at all?). Also, you still quoted from an old ruling that KDE hasn't gotten around to cleaning up and as of yet would be following a KSS still. The wording on it goes against their own Mechanic Standard which is on paper in writing. This is a KSS. Pure and simple, I mean what is so hard about changing the wording on the card to mean what you are trying to have it do, rather than argue that you should be able to keep it this way, beyond ego anyway. You have a source that says what it should say NOW in this current game state, not reference an old card that already had a debated ruling; and it's shorter even, so why debate it so much? You act like the source is from some random forum and you keep going back to that, but yet NO OTHER examples that would match it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.