Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Say Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field, and you activate Disturbance Strategy, how would that resolve? Would the effect still activate without the opponent drawing any new cards or can't you activate it?

You cannot activate a card effect that would knowingly make the opponent draw a card while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field. While you can still flip summon cards like Morphing Jar and use it's effect, Disturbance Strategy cannot be used. You can, however, activate Disturbance Strategy, then use CotH to bring PotS as a chain, thus causing the opponent to add his hand to his deck and not draw.

 

I should know, I had to ask this question.

 

And Darkwolf still needs to post his Morph Jar explanation of this. That was plain awesome.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Following situation:

 

I control a face-up T.G. Warwolf, my opponent a Treeborn Frog.

He tributes the Treeborn Frog to Summon Caius, the Shadow Monarch and activates his effect, targeting T.G. Warwolf.

I chain TG1-EM1, targeting my Warwolf and his Caius. It resolves and control switches.

 

1) T.G. Warwolf should still be removed, since it's a valid target, correct?

2) Who takes the damage from Caius' effect (T.G. Warwolf is DARK after all)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Following situation:

 

I control a face-up T.G. Warwolf, my opponent a Treeborn Frog.

He tributes the Treeborn Frog to Summon Caius, the Shadow Monarch and activates his effect, targeting T.G. Warwolf.

I chain TG1-EM1, targeting my Warwolf and his Caius. It resolves and control switches.

 

1) T.G. Warwolf should still be removed, since it's a valid target, correct?

2) Who takes the damage from Caius' effect (T.G. Warwolf is DARK after all)?

 

1) Yes. Caius can remove any card on the field, regardless of who controls it.

 

2) You do. Caius' effect activated while under your opponent's control. The damage is inflicted to the opponent of the player who Tribute Summoned Caius, regardless of who controls the card or Caius at resolution.

 

Question of my own:

 

Suppose I play 2 Into the Void in the same turn. When I discard my hand, it includes a Dark World monster, such as Snow or Broww, and gives me a card due to their effect(s). Do I discard my hand again (due to the 2nd Into the Void)? Or is it that both Into the Void resolved during the End Phase as one "chain" and so my new hand is safe?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Suppose I play 2 Into the Void in the same turn. When I discard my hand, it includes a Dark World monster, such as Snow or Broww, and gives me a card due to their effect(s). Do I discard my hand again (due to the 2nd Into the Void)? Or is it that both Into the Void resolved during the End Phase as one "chain" and so my new hand is safe?

 

You get to choose when to resolve each Into the Void yourself, but you cannot resolve both simultaneously. You can resolve them sequentially (one after the other), but in your situation, your Trigger Effects interrupt that.

 

After you resolve the first Into the Void, your Trigger Effects of your Dark Worlds activate (so you cannot yet resolve the 2nd Into the Void). You'll have to resolve Snow/Broww/etc, then resolve the 2nd Into The Void, discarding those cards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) Yes. Caius can remove any card on the field, regardless of who controls it.

 

2) You do. Caius' effect activated while under your opponent's control. The damage is inflicted to the opponent of the player who Tribute Summoned Caius, regardless of who controls the card or Caius at resolution.

Just as I thought (and the way we played it out in the end), thanks :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm fairly certain that all Dark Worlds and Fableds are effects that cannot miss the timing (some are mandatory (using When) and others are optional and use "If" so they cannot miss the timing). Beckoning Light discards as an effect, so it should work for Dark Worlds and of course Fableds.

 

I really was just wondering about The Fabled Peggulsus, because his effect is an optional "Can/When" effect, and I wanna know what cards trigger it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I really was just wondering about The Fabled Peggulsus, because his effect is an optional "Can/When" effect, and I wanna know what cards trigger it.

 

Peggulsus may be the exception. Cards that have the discard as the last effect to resolve will activate its effect. Any effects that discard as a cost (Brio, etc) will miss the timing. Morphing Jar and Card Destruction will miss the timing.

 

Raven should still Trigger it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 player controls two monsters (let's just say Wingweaver and Baby Dragon, the important part is that the stronger monster is equipped with Metalsilver Armor), the stronger being equipped with MA. The other player activates Fissure. What happens?

Also, say the first player instead of having MA equipped chains Shift and targets the stronger monster. Is the outcome different?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does Reborn Tengu get it's effect when overlaid?

 

No. Xyz Materials are not considered to be on the field when attached. Sangan will not get its effect, so Tengu will not, either.

 

 

Can Scrap Orthros be Special Summoned by Scrap Chimera?

 

Yes.

 

I've received conflicting translations of whether Orthros is a Semi-Nomi or a "No Normal Summon/Set" monster. If the former, Orthros must be Special Summoned by its effect before Chimera can revive it. If not, it can be used regardless.

 

1 player controls two monsters (let's just say Wingweaver and Baby Dragon, the important part is that the stronger monster is equipped with Metalsilver Armor), the stronger being equipped with MA. The other player activates Fissure. What happens?

Also, say the first player instead of having MA equipped chains Shift and targets the stronger monster. Is the outcome different?

 

Fissure doesn't target. The monster that will be destroyed is not decided at activation, because it is dependant on the ATK scores of monsters, so it destroys at resolution and therefore does not target.

 

Baby Dragon would still be destroyed, and Shift cannot be used for the same reason: Fissure doesn't target.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My Odin ends on my opponent's side of the field, I destroy it with Dark Hole. Can I use its revival effect?

 

No. While Odin considers itself to have been destroyed by it's opponent's Dark Hole, when it reaches your Graveyard, the viewpoint changes on the trigger as it sees it was destroyed from your own card effect rather than an opponent's.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As far as I can tell, Tengu DOES get his effect.

 

Remember, when he is REMOVED FROM THE FIELD.

 

Xyz Materials are not on the field anymore after they are overlaid.

 

So I think he does get his effect.

 

I may be wrong tho.

 

The thing is, Tengu's effect has to activate from somewhere. It either activates in the hand, Graveyard, or RFG zone. When it's Overlaid...where exactly is it? It's on the field, but not treated as such. Cards such as Genex Ally Birdman and Totem Dragon aren't RFGed when they're Overlaid, at least as far as my understanding of Xyz Material goes.

 

My understanding of Xyz Material is that an Overlaid monster is no longer treated as a monster and "disappears" from the field, without being physically removed. Then, when sent to the Graveyard, either due to being detached or by the Monster being destroyed, the cards are not considered to have been sent to the Graveyard from the field, so effects like Sangan, Tengu, and Birdman/Plaguespreader's RFG clauses dont react.

 

We may find out more when Xyz rules are more well known, but this is my conclusion based on the info we did get.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The thing is, Tengu's effect has to activate from somewhere. It either activates in the hand, Graveyard, or RFG zone. When it's Overlaid...where exactly is it? It's on the field, but not treated as such. Cards such as Genex Ally Birdman and Totem Dragon aren't RFGed when they're Overlaid, at least as far as my understanding of Xyz Material goes.

 

My understanding of Xyz Material is that an Overlaid monster is no longer treated as a monster and "disappears" from the field, without being physically removed. Then, when sent to the Graveyard, either due to being detached or by the Monster being destroyed, the cards are not considered to have been sent to the Graveyard from the field, so effects like Sangan, Tengu, and Birdman/Plaguespreader's RFG clauses dont react.

 

We may find out more when Xyz rules are more well known, but this is my conclusion based on the info we did get.

 

My answer should have been enough to cover it o.x As an XYZ Material, it no longer has its effect, so even if it was removed from the field, there's no longer an effect to activate, but then again, it is my assumption though that they lose their effect once they become materials rather than them "not leaving the field".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can I contact Neos and King of the Swamps for a Neos fusion? Since we already decided that contact fusions still use fusion materials it should work right?

 

The Contact Fusions specifically state "by using the above cards". King of the Swamps is not one of the "above" cards listed on those Contact Fusions. You must use the correct materials (or so long as the monster has the exact name as those materials, so E-Hero Prisma or Hero Mask is ok~)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

300px-DeckDevastationVirusCP05-EN-R.png

 

If I were to Special Summon a monster with <1500 ATK from my Grave after the above card's activation (Let's say on the 2nd turn), is my monster destroyed instantly or does that only apply when the card is activated?

So long as it's after the card has already resolved, it won't be destroyed. Same goes for Sangan effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...