Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Scenario:

 

Reborn Tengu and Morphtronic Map in play, Morphtronic Scopen is summoned.

Tengu + Scopen = Black Rose Dragon, who wishes to nuke.

 

Does the new Tengu come into play before or after the nuke? Does Map's revival effect miss the timing?

 

Because Reborn Tengu is mandatory (like Dandylion), its effect will be Chain Link 1, and Black Rose will be Chain Link 2. Rose will nuke the field, Tengu will get Summoned. Map misses the timing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can the effect of Naturia Antjaw be used during the Damage Step (I suppose not, but I want to make sure)?

 

And what exactly is this point in the "Tips" section on the Wiki for Naturia Forest supposed to mean?

You can use "Malfunction" and then search for "Naturia Rock".

I don't think you can Summon Rock, because the effect of Forest resolves in a completely different chain, way too late for Rock... I think the Wiki is just being stupid again, but if somebody could confirm that to me, that would be nice.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can the effect of Naturia Antjaw be used during the Damage Step (I suppose not, but I want to make sure)?

 

And what exactly is this point in the "Tips" section on the Wiki for Naturia Forest supposed to mean?

 

I don't think you can Summon Rock, because the effect of Forest resolves in a completely different chain, way too late for Rock... I think the Wiki is just being stupid again, but if somebody could confirm that to me, that would be nice.

Only cards that can be used during damage step are counter traps, cards that effect ATK/DEF, and cards that specify Damage Step.

 

Forest says "If". "If" never misses timing. The only word combination that misses timing is "When...can".

 

Can Rai Oh negate Herald of Perfection?

Do you mean Perfection's Summon? If so no, because Rai-Oh doesn't negate effects that Special Summon monsters. It's like how you have to use Warning on Poly if you want to negate it, you can't wait till afterwards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Only cards that can be used during damage step are counter traps, cards that effect ATK/DEF, and cards that specify Damage Step.

That only applies to Spells/Traps for the most part, and if we look at a near relative of Naturia Antjaw, Naturia Sunflower, we'll see this:

The effect of "Naturia Sunflower" can be activated during the Damage Step.

Doesn't change ATK, is not Spell Speed 3...

 

Forest says "If". "If" never misses timing. The only word combination that misses timing is "When...can".

Read the question again, I didn't say anything about missing the timing, I know it can't. I was asking about that specific line in the Tips section and if it should imply that Naturia Rock can be Special Summoned after it was searched by Naturia Forest.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think you can Summon Rock, because the effect of Forest resolves in a completely different chain, way too late for Rock... I think the Wiki is just being stupid again, but if somebody could confirm that to me, that would be nice.

 

You can. Chain Link #1 was a Trap and Chain Link #2 was Malfunction.

 

When resolving the chain, Malfunction negates the activation of the CL#1 Trap card, and for CL#1 nothing happens because the activation was negated.

 

The Last thing to resolve in the duel was Malfunction, so Forest would work.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can. Chain Link #1 was a Trap and Chain Link #2 was Malfunction.

 

When resolving the chain, Malfunction negates the activation of the CL#1 Trap card, and for CL#1 nothing happens because the activation was negated.

 

The Last thing to resolve in the duel was Malfunction, so Forest would work.

Yes, Forest would work, without a question, but would Naturia Rock work? That's what I asked :lol:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, Forest would work, without a question, but would Naturia Rock work? That's what I asked :lol:

 

Wiki says you chain Naturia Rock to the activation of a Trap Card, not after it resolves, so you wouldn't be able to activate Rock (unless you activated it after the Trap card, but then you wouldn't be able to activate Malfunction.)

 

But the wiki says "Search for Naturia Rock" not "Activate Naturia Rock".

 

If you're asking why it suggests to search for "Naturia Rock" with Forest instead of any other Naturia monster, then unfortunately, I have no idea.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm just a little curious on Once per duel effects, is there anyway to use, negate, and use again? If not, I understand as it says once per duel, but if you negate it by some means, isn't possible to use again? I'm not sure on those lores anymore.

 

I'd think my answer would be no, but you all are better at it then me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm just a little curious on Once per duel effects, is there anyway to use, negate, and use again? If not, I understand as it says once per duel, but if you negate it by some means, isn't possible to use again? I'm not sure on those lores anymore.

 

I'd think my answer would be no, but you all are better at it then me.

 

If a card says "this can only be activated one per duel", then if the activation is negated, then you can use it again.

 

If a card says "this card can only be used once per duel", then even if its activation is negated, you cannot use the effect again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm just a little curious on Once per duel effects, is there anyway to use, negate, and use again? If not, I understand as it says once per duel, but if you negate it by some means, isn't possible to use again? I'm not sure on those lores anymore.

 

I'd think my answer would be no, but you all are better at it then me.

 

No. If you attempted to activate a once per turn or once per duel effect, and the activation/effect got negated, the effect can no longer be used that turn/duel. The reason for this is because that text is a Condition, which cannot be negated or ignored. Once per turn can be re-used by flipping the monster face-down, etc but once-per-duel conditions prevent all copies of that card from using its effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This one's a bit insane, but...

I've normal summoned a Level 6 monster with the help of Cost Down and my opponent activates Blind Destruction and gets a 4 (these are all just examples), can I then play Emergency Provisions to destroy Cost Down and increase my monster's level to negate the destruction?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This one's a bit insane, but...

I've normal summoned a Level 6 monster with the help of Cost Down and my opponent activates Blind Destruction and gets a 4 (these are all just examples), can I then play Emergency Provisions to destroy Cost Down and increase my monster's level to negate the destruction?

 

No...

 

There's so many things wrong with that question.

 

1) Cost Down doesn't stay on the field after it's resolved. It's a Normal Spell.

 

2) Cost Down resolves and is sent to the Graveyard before you can Summon anything.

 

3) The effect continues until the end of the turn, even if it was destroyed by MST or sent by Provisions.

 

EDIT: Hypothetically, if a Continuous/Field Spell was involved in the level reduction, yes, it would work. Like A Legendary Ocean affecting Giga Gagagigo (it's level 4 on the field and hand) and Blind Destruction hitting level 4; removing ALO before Blind's effect resolves would spare Giga.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wiki says you chain Naturia Rock to the activation of a Trap Card, not after it resolves, so you wouldn't be able to activate Rock (unless you activated it after the Trap card, but then you wouldn't be able to activate Malfunction.)

So...

 

But the wiki says "Search for Naturia Rock" not "Activate Naturia Rock".

 

If you're asking why it suggests to search for "Naturia Rock" with Forest instead of any other Naturia monster, then unfortunately, I have no idea.

That's what I thought... they're just writing stupid suggestions, like always :lol:

 

Edit: While we're at Naturia Forest: What actually is considered as "activating a card"? The activation of a Spell and Trap Card, sure, the effect of a face-up Spell/Trap Card most likely not (like Oppression), but what about monsters? Does activating an effect (and negating it with Divine Wrath) trigger Forest? And is Summoning considered "activating a card" (and does in return the negation via Warning trigger Forest)? I just wanted to be sure before I go Rated with the deck on DN.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ok, really really dumb question for you folks.

 

In the WC2011, going up against the Earthbound Immortal in the Free duel, he summons an Earthbound Immortal, tributing Hardened Armed Dragon. Since It was summoned by using the Dragon, the dragon says that the card summoned cannot be affected by the effects of cards that destroy monsters, and there was no Field Spell, so the Earthbound's effect should have kicked in where it was destroyed. Now my question is, is this a legit move? Or was it just a glitch put in the game to make an earthbound deck substantial?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...