Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Can Naturia Beast's effect be activated if D-Fissure or Macro Cosmos is on the field?

 

The sending to the Graveyard is a cost, so they have to be able to go to the Graveyard. It's the same thing that makes the Gravekeeper's Spy lockdown, where your opponent cannot pay the cost to attack because the cards are banished. In this case, you can't because the cards don't go to the Graveyard.

 

In the case of Fissure, which Klav was skeptical with, you can't either, you cannot guarantee that the top 2 cards of your deck are S/Ts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm still a bit confused on the effect of Snoww, Unlight of Dark World. Say I discarded it with Dark World Dealings. Which effect do I activate? The searching effect or the Special Summon effect?

 

From the way it's worded, the first part states that it has to be discarded to activate. Then you check whether you can conduct the second part of the effect, in this case if it was discarded by an opponent's card you THEN target 1 card to grab, if not then that part is skipped. Then, you finish the effect, if discarded by your own card (your DWD) you only get the search as you never got to target a card. If it was discarded by your opponent's card effect you get the summon and the search.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From the way it's worded, the first part states that it has to be discarded to activate. Then you check whether you can conduct the second part of the effect, in this case if it was discarded by an opponent's card you THEN target 1 card to grab, if not then that part is skipped. Then, you finish the effect, if discarded by your own card (your DWD) you only get the search as you never got to target a card. If it was discarded by your opponent's card effect you get the summon and the search.

 

Okay. It is worded a little weird. Just thought I'd confirm that I get the search when I discard it with my own cards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Correct. Because Naturia Beast is a cost, you cannot pay if any of the cards would be banished, so Fissure and Macro would prevent its effect being used. Even if you do know the cards you'd mill (Convulsion of Nature), you still cannot.

 

The reason some of the DWs' secondary effects are written that way is because they target, and targets must be chosen before resolution. Grapha and Sillva affect the hand and because the hand cannot be targeted, they're written normally.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does Neo-Spacian Grand Mole's effect target?

 

Previously Official Rulings

These TCG rulings were issued by Upper Deck Entertainment and have since been deemed unofficial by Konami.[6] They were previously considered official, but may or may not necessarily hold true nowadays. References: [7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A simple "No" would have sufficed, since you also copy-pasted something that sheds doubt on it.

 

No, Grand Mole doesn't target.

 

So I assume we take previously official rulings as official until word of konami states otherwise?

 

A simple "No" would have sufficed, since you also copy-pasted something that sheds doubt on it.

 

No, Grand Mole doesn't target.

 

So I assume we take previously official rulings as official until word of konami states otherwise?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...