Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The new OCG for Darkworld confuses me even more. Does it gain the last effect regardless of how it's discarded for what?

 

"If this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: If it was discarded from your hand to your Graveyard by an opponent's card effect, target 1 Fiend-Type monster on the field; Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, then that target (if any) gains 500 ATK."

 

Or is this how the effect works:

discarded

If this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: If it was discarded from your hand to your Graveyard by an opponent's card effect, target 1 Fiend-Type monster on the field; Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, then that target (if any) gains 500 ATK.

discarded by opp

If this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: If it was discarded from your hand to your Graveyard by an opponent's card effect, target 1 Fiend-Type monster on the field; Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, then that target (if any) gains 500 ATK.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's how it works.

 

"When this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: "

 

- This is the Trigger. It is the minimum requirement for the effect to activate. This effect starts a chain.

 

"If this card was discarded by an opponent's card effect, target 1 Fiend-Type monster on the Field; "

 

- This is the secondary effect of Latinum. It only applies if the opponent discarded it, and it targets.

 

"Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, and the target (if any) gains 500 ATK"

 

- This is the resolution. You will Special Summon it regardless of who discarded it (because the basic Trigger was just to be discarded by a card effect), but if it targeted something (which it will only do if the opponent discarded it), it also gives that target +500.

 

The reason it's worded like that is because of the system of how colon and semi-colon relate to actions when activating and resolving the effect.

 

Up until the colon is the Trigger, before the semi-colon are actions taken before resolution, and after that is the resolution. However, Dark Worlds only use their secondary effect if an ADDITIONAL factor occurred, that being the opponent's effect discarding it.

 

Because Latinum's secondary effect targets, it MUST be written before a semi-colon. But it only targets if the secondary effect is Triggered.

 

Now, if you look at Sillva and Grapha, you may notice they're not written weirdly at all. That's because their secondary effects affect the hand, and you can't target the hand.

 

tl;dr - If it was your own effect discarding it, ignore the part before the semi-colon. The rest of the effect will still resolve fine.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's how it works.

 

"When this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: "

 

- This is the Trigger. It is the minimum requirement for the effect to activate. This effect starts a chain.

 

"If this card was discarded by an opponent's card effect, target 1 Fiend-Type monster on the Field; "

 

- This is the secondary effect of Latinum. It only applies if the opponent discarded it, and it targets.

 

"Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, and the target (if any) gains 500 ATK"

 

- This is the resolution. You will Special Summon it regardless of who discarded it (because the basic Trigger was just to be discarded by a card effect), but if it targeted something (which it will only do if the opponent discarded it), it also gives that target +500.

 

The reason it's worded like that is because of the system of how colon and semi-colon relate to actions when activating and resolving the effect.

 

Up until the colon is the Trigger, before the semi-colon are actions taken before resolution, and after that is the resolution. However, Dark Worlds only use their secondary effect if an ADDITIONAL factor occurred, that being the opponent's effect discarding it.

 

Because Latinum's secondary effect targets, it MUST be written before a semi-colon. But it only targets if the secondary effect is Triggered.

 

Now, if you look at Sillva and Grapha, you may notice they're not written weirdly at all. That's because their secondary effects affect the hand, and you can't target the hand.

 

tl;dr - If it was your own effect discarding it, ignore the part before the semi-colon. The rest of the effect will still resolve fine.

 

The wording is still a bit confusing. It's just less of a confusion now. So it's still close to what I posted up right? Discard by effect, activate the last effect which is the SS ignoring the additional effect. Discard by opp, activate all the effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm looking at the new card Night Shot that's coming out soon, and I have a potentially stupid question.

 

Say I use Pot of Duality and get Night Shot with it. Is there a way my opponent could activate a card before I get to activate Night Shot on one of their set spells/traps? Could they chain the resolution of Duality or something?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm looking at the new card Night Shot that's coming out soon, and I have a potentially stupid question.

 

Say I use Pot of Duality and get Night Shot with it. Is there a way my opponent could activate a card before I get to activate Night Shot on one of their set spells/traps? Could they chain the resolution of Duality or something?

 

They can start a new chain immediately after you add it to your hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Evil Fusion: Now I have a reason for a theoretical card question to be asked here; if you don't mind...

 

Solidified Toad

level: 1

Water

Aqua/Tuner

Lore:

If you have 1 original (printed) type or 1 Attribute monster in your Graveyard; This card gains 100 ATK/DEF for each card with Same-Type.

ATK/DEF 0/0

 

So, if I had no cards in the graveyard; that would make it remain at 0; right?

 

2nd: Would thi be abused by Solidarity?

 

Reasons I ask is b/c of Duel Portal and I would have been in the tourney but Sea didn't recieve the notification I mailed him back.....oh well, it can always wait for dueling in tourney...

 

It is probably obvious, but jus want to make sure....

 

-------

 

Unrelated: How on earth did your opponent get to 500000 Life Points?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Firstly, your OCG bugs me. The line before a semi-colon is a cost/action taken before resolution. Also, that means it starts a chain, but it doesn't have a Trigger. It looks like it's just supposed to be a Continuous Effect, which uses neither a colon nor a semi-colon.

 

As with Solidarity, if you have no monsters, it will not gain any ATK. If you don't have only one Type, you don't gain ATK.

 

Yes, if you have only Aqua Type monsters in the Graveyard and a Solidarity active, this will gain ATK for every Aqua in Grave, plus 800 from Solidarity.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Evil Fusion: Meh, sorry; its meant to be a continous monster effect, Hmm, How would I fix the ocg? And so, should I say its unnafect by Solidarity so it would not be abused?

 

I believe I just editied soldiartiy effect on to this card....

 

----

 

Unrelated: But how on earth did your opponent get to 500,000 life points in your epic duel log?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...