Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

I have a question about "Wind-Up Shark" and "Wind-Up Magician":

 

During a duel, I saw that the player activated the effect of "Wind-Up Magician" after he Special Summoned "Wind-Up Shark" with its own effect. Can you actually do this? I thought the Special Summon of Shark by its own effect is more of a Summoning Condition rather than an effect, similar to "Cyber Dragon" and "Dark Armed Dragon" Summoning Conditions, so it shouldn't activate Magician's effect.

No, it is not. Shark's summon effect has a colon. That's all you need to know that it activates.

Madolce Puddingcess...

 

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Madolce_Puddingcess

 

Does a replay occur if it destroys a monster it attacks? Because that would be broken as f*ck.

As far as we can tell it does, but that's only because "battle" is vague as f*ck

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Shriek has it translated as "When it battles, after the damage calculation" so no. (Untill proven otherwise)

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo... that WAS necessary.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

No monster to date ever causes a replay simply by attacking something. Those effects always activate either at the start of the Damage Step (Catastor, Grand Mole), where replays do not occur, or after Damage Calculation. Utopia is the closest thing to an exception, but that's because it kills itself when declared as an attack target with 0 Material.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does the effect of Stellar Pollux and Stellar Leonis's effects stack?

Based on other rulings, I would guess that it only applies if Pollux was used AFTER the effect of Leonis was used.

 

Of course, Pollux has a different basis of his effect than Leonis, who's effect resembles General Grunard of the IB and Karakuri Komachi. With Grunard and Komachi, only one of those cards (including Leonis) if all face-up on the field, are allowed to activate their effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does Rabbit get around Skill Drain?

If you Normal Summon Rabbit and use priority and Skill Drain is chained, then yes because it will banish itself then and there and therefore be unaffected. If Skill Drain is already active, then no. (we're talking Rescue here, right?)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you Normal Summon Rabbit and use priority and Skill Drain is chained, then yes because it will banish itself then and there and therefore be unaffected. If Skill Drain is already active, then no. (we're talking Rescue here, right?)

All skill drain does is make monster effects fizzle if the monster is faceup on the field on resolution,it does not prevent activations,if skill drain was already on the field beforehand rabbit can still activate his effect as usual since it would banish itself for a cost and be unaffected by drain,then resolve.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Any Monster effect that removes itself from the Field as a cost will get around Skill Drain. Skill Drain only negates the resolution of a faceup Monster's effect. If the monster is no longer faceup when it resolves, whether by its own effect or something being chained, Skill Drain will not negate it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Any Monster effect that removes itself from the Field as a cost will get around Skill Drain. Skill Drain only negates the resolution of a faceup Monster's effect. If the monster is no longer faceup when it resolves, whether by its own effect or something being chained, Skill Drain will not negate it.

Is there a rule of thumb for deciding whether a card activates on the field or somewhere else? (taking Rai-Oh into consideration here)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is there a rule of thumb for deciding whether a card activates on the field or somewhere else? (taking Rai-Oh into consideration here)

 

A card activates wherever it is when you decide you want to use it with an "I want to use the effect of whatever".

 

Rai-Oh is on the field when you make that decision. Rai-Oh activates on the field.

 

Effect Veiler is in the hand when you choose to activate the effect. Veiler activates in the Hand.

 

All cards resolve in the same place they activated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A card activates wherever it is when you decide you want to use it with an "I want to use the effect of whatever".

 

Rai-Oh is on the field when you make that decision. Rai-Oh activates on the field.

 

Effect Veiler is in the hand when you choose to activate the effect. Veiler activates in the Hand.

 

All cards resolve in the same place they activated.

...wait, so how does Rescue Rabbit follow that...?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

So does Rai-Oh bypass Skill Drain?

 

Skill Drain negates the effects of "face-up monsters". Rai-Oh isn't a "face-up monster" when its effect resolves since it was Tributed for the cost. Therefore, yes, Rai-Oh can get by Skill Drain.

 

Any monster that has an effect can bypass Skill Drain with help from cards that would make them not "face-up" anymore. While Skill Drain is on the field, you can activate your BLS - Envoy's effect to banish, then chain Book of Moon to flip it face-down, or remove it from the field with an effect and the effect of BLS - Envoy will resolve properly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Skill Drain negates the effects of "face-up monsters". Rai-Oh isn't a "face-up monster" when its effect resolves since it was Tributed for the cost. Therefore, yes, Rai-Oh can get by Skill Drain.

 

Any monster that has an effect can bypass Skill Drain with help from cards that would make them not "face-up" anymore. While Skill Drain is on the field, you can activate your BLS - Envoy's effect to banish, then chain Book of Moon to flip it face-down, or remove it from the field with an effect and the effect of BLS - Envoy will resolve properly.

Hm... then that was one dumbass argument about Veiler vs Rai-Oh...
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hm... then that was one dumbass argument about Veiler vs Rai-Oh...

 

Veiler and Skill Drain are very different; Veiler will negate an effect if it ACTIVATED on the field, while Skill Drain can only negate effects that RESOLVE face-up on the field. Skill Drain is the exception to most negation, not the rule of negation.

 

However, if Rai-Oh tributes itself as a cost, your opponent cannot activate Veiler's effect to try to negate it since Rai-Oh is no longer a legal target.

 

It's considered to resolve on the Field, even though it's not on the Field when the effect resolves? That seems contradictory.

 

Yes, darkwolf is wrong when he said that all cards activate in the same place they resolve, since Stardust Dragon (and any monster that tributes itself) resolves in the Graveyard (or wherever they went).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, darkwolf is wrong when he said that all cards activate in the same place they resolve, since Stardust Dragon (and any monster that tributes itself) resolves in the Graveyard (or wherever they went).

No, they resolve on the field. The chain link doesn't leave the field, per se, but the card isn't face-up on the field anymore. The effect still resolves there, disconnected from the card in a sense. Even playing a WC game will tell you this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, they resolve on the field. The chain link doesn't leave the field, per se, but the card isn't face-up on the field anymore. The effect still resolves there, disconnected from the card in a sense. Even playing a WC game will tell you this.

 

Okay, correction: the EFFECT is "on the field". That certainly helps explains why Skill Drain is different (because it requires the monster there) and still shows why Effect Veiler is amazing on such.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Basically Skill Drain is a b*tch.

 

Also note that Fiendish Chain works like Skill Drain for the sole reason that the minute the monster leaves the field Fiendish is destroyed immediately by game mechanics due to losing it's target, and thus is no longer active.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, darkwolf is wrong when he said that all cards activate in the same place they resolve, since Stardust Dragon (and any monster that tributes itself) resolves in the Graveyard (or wherever they went).

 

I am never wrong, and even when I am, I can understand the reasoning behind the correct answer better than anyone (because I am a robot). What I said about where it resolves is fact. All cards resolves where they activated. Stardust Dragon activates and resolves on the field. It does not "resolve in the Graveyard".

 

In the past I have said "resolves in the Graveyard" thing before but have since learned as I continued to understand the unspoken specifics of this game.

 

Basically Skill Drain is a b*tch.

 

Also note that Fiendish Chain works like Skill Drain for the sole reason that the minute the monster leaves the field Fiendish is destroyed immediately by game mechanics due to losing it's target, and thus is no longer active.

 

Fiendish Chain is not an Equip Card. It does not get destroyed if the monster is removed from the field in any way that's not "destruction". The issue is that the negation effect is applied to the monster it is targeting. If the monster leaves the field or is flipped face-down before its effect resolves, then Fiendish Chain's effect can no longer apply to it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am never wrong, and even when I am, I can understand the reasoning behind the correct answer better than anyone (because I am a robot). What I said about where it resolves is fact. All cards resolves where they activated. Stardust Dragon activates and resolves on the field. It does not "resolve in the Graveyard".

 

In the past I have said "resolves in the Graveyard" thing before but have since learned as I continued to understand the unspoken specifics of this game.

 

In other words, this game is needlessly complicated with all sorts of rules that don't appear in the rulebook of the game, nor does there seem to be a comprehensive rulebook that has in it rules that explains why cards' rulings are why they are.

 

However, the main points of all this seemed to be:

• Skill Drain doesn't negate Stardust Dragon and Rai-Oh's second effect (or a monster flipped face-down) because the monster itself isn't face-up on the field.

• Veiler and Forbidden Chalice will negate said monsters (provided they are used before the monster is activated) because their effects are still "on the field".

• Veiler and Chalice do not negate Sangan or Dandylion because those monsters activate in the Graveyard, where the negation doesn't affect then anymore unless the card itself states that it negates even in the Graveyard.

 

Do I have these right?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...