Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Ok, really really dumb question for you folks.

 

In the WC2011, going up against the Earthbound Immortal in the Free duel, he summons an Earthbound Immortal, tributing Hardened Armed Dragon. Since It was summoned by using the Dragon, the dragon says that the card summoned cannot be affected by the effects of cards that destroy monsters, and there was no Field Spell, so the Earthbound's effect should have kicked in where it was destroyed. Now my question is, is this a legit move? Or was it just a glitch put in the game to make an earthbound deck substantial?

 

It's valid. HAD prevents the monster from being destroyed by effects. This includes its own negative effect. However, it will not spare the monster from being destroyed by maintenaince costs (such as a level 7+ Koaki Meiru).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can I use a Crystal beast's effect AND Crystal release when the monster is destroyed?

 

If not then the card is somewhat not worth playing...

 

Yes, of course. A CB's effect activates when it's destroyed, but before sending to Graveyard. Release would get sent to the Graveyard because the equipped monster is gone. They don't miss the timing unless the CB/Release was destroyed in the middle of a chain.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why does Flip-Flop Frog not target?

 

Flip Flop Frog doesn't target because the number of cards it returns is depended on the number of Frog monsters you control. That value is decided when resolving the card, not at activation. If you flip up Flip Flop Frog and another Frog monster are on the field at resolution, it'll return 2 monsters. If you flip up Flip Flop Frog and a card is chained that adds or removes frogs to your side of the field, then at resolution you will determine how many frogs there are and return up to that many monsters.

 

In the same way, Fortune Lady Wind and Elemental Hero Stratos also do not target.

 

I'm inclined to say that since Oath is not drawing, you cannot use it. I think picked up cards are considered to still be in the deck, but to be honest, I don't know. It brings up the similar question: "If Archfiend's Oath guesses wrong, and you picked up Wulf, Lightsworn Beast, do you Special Summon it?"

 

Seems like something for darkwolf to analyze or someone to check in a WC game.

 

EDIT: Another thing to think about is that sometimes you pick up cards and "return it to the deck" so maybe it's not in the deck, but it's not in the hand, either. But that's somewhat confusing.

 

Oath is still adding a card from the Deck to the Hand, so you cannot use it while Rai-Oh is on the field.

 

The other part is true as well. If you guess wrong, Wulf will be sent from the Deck to the Graveyard. Its effect will activate.

 

Can Judgment of Anubis protect Trap Monsters from Dark Hole?

 

Yes, Judgment of Anubis can be activated to save a Trap Monster from Dark Hole. Dark Hole (a Spell Card) is destroying one of your Trap cards (your Trap Monster).

 

The wording says "that has an effect of destroying Spell and/or Trap Cards" but its treated more like "whose effect will destroy a Spell and/or Trap Card", similar to cards like Warning and Oppression in regards to "that have an effect that Special Summons" vs "that could/would Special Summon".

 

Can the effect of Naturia Antjaw be used during the Damage Step (I suppose not, but I want to make sure)?

 

No, you cannot activate Naturia Antjaw during the Damage Step. Generally, Optional Trigger Effects cannot be activated during the Damage Step that do not "modify ATK/DEF", unless the Optional Trigger is something that could only be tripped during the Damage Step (such as "When it is destroyed by battle" or "When you take battle damage".)

 

While we're at Naturia Forest: What actually is considered as "activating a card"? The activation of a Spell and Trap Card, sure, the effect of a face-up Spell/Trap Card most likely not (like Oppression), but what about monsters? Does activating an effect (and negating it with Divine Wrath) trigger Forest? And is Summoning considered "activating a card" (and does in return the negation via Warning trigger Forest)? I just wanted to be sure before I go Rated with the deck on DN.

 

Yes, negating the activation of a Monster Effect will trigger Naturia Forest.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I activate Card Destruction with Type Zero Magic Crusher on my side of the field, and several spell cards are sent to the graveyard, does the damage accumulate or count as one discard?

 

Neither, because that's not how Type Zero Magic Crusher works.

 

The old card lore is incorrect. Type Zero Magic Crusher is an Ignition Effect rather than a Continuous one.

 

The Lore should be "You can discard 1 Spell Card from your hand to inflict 500 Damage to your opponent's Life Points.".

 

Using Card Destruction and discarding Spell Card that way will not inflict any damage for Type Zero Magic Crusher. You need to activate Type Zero Magic Crusher and discard 1 Spell Card as the cost to inflict 500 Damage when it resolves.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Same question as the last one I asked, with a slight difference.

 

Morphtronic Scopen + Reborn Tengu into Black Rose Dragon while Morphtronic Map is out. Rose nukes.

 

However, that's the second Tengu, and I've drawn the 3rd.

 

Does showing my Deck to my opponent to verify that there are no more copies of Tengu in there make Map's revival miss the timing?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Same question as the last one I asked, with a slight difference.

 

Morphtronic Scopen + Reborn Tengu into Black Rose Dragon while Morphtronic Map is out. Rose nukes.

 

However, that's the second Tengu, and I've drawn the 3rd.

 

Does showing my Deck to my opponent to verify that there are no more copies of Tengu in there make Map's revival miss the timing?

 

The last thing to happen in the duel was Tengu's effect resolving, whether there are any copies of Tengu left in the Deck or not. Morphtronic Map will miss the timing.

 

The last thing will always have to be the destruction of Morphtronic Map, even if a card resolves and nothing happens. Say I activated a Continuous Trap card like Ultimate Offering without using the effect as CL#1 and Raigeki Break as CL#2 to destroy Map. Map will miss the timing even though Ultimate Offering didn't do anything (the fact is, the last thing to happen was the resolution of Ultimate Offering, not the resolution of Raigeki Break where Map was destroyed.)

 

Only negating the activation of a card will make it as if the Chain Link never existed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So let's say I have Macro Cosmos activated. Could my opponent use a card like Future Fusion or no? I'm asking this because FF says send the Fusion Materials to the Grave, and with Macro Cosmos I'm wondering if them being removed is fine, or since they're removed and not in the grave is my opponent not allowed to use the card?

 

Sorry if this is confusing

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Neither, because that's not how Type Zero Magic Crusher works.

 

The old card lore is incorrect. Type Zero Magic Crusher is an Ignition Effect rather than a Continuous one.

 

The Lore should be "You can discard 1 Spell Card from your hand to inflict 500 Damage to your opponent's Life Points.".

 

Using Card Destruction and discarding Spell Card that way will not inflict any damage for Type Zero Magic Crusher. You need to activate Type Zero Magic Crusher and discard 1 Spell Card as the cost to inflict 500 Damage when it resolves.

Okay, then let's say there would be a card with an effect that activated every time a card of a specific type was discarded. Would that accumulate or count as one discard with Card destruction?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So let's say I have Macro Cosmos activated. Could my opponent use a card like Future Fusion or no? I'm asking this because FF says send the Fusion Materials to the Grave, and with Macro Cosmos I'm wondering if them being removed is fine, or since they're removed and not in the grave is my opponent not allowed to use the card?

 

Sorry if this is confusing

 

Sending monsters to the Graveyard is part of the effect, not a cost, so it can be used even if Macro is active. The monsters will be RFGed instead.

 

@Northern: It depends on the card. Magical Thorn counts each card, but most with that sort of effect will count multiple discards, draws, Special Summons, etc as 1 instance.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, then let's say there would be a card with an effect that activated every time a card of a specific type was discarded. Would that accumulate or count as one discard with Card destruction?

If the card says "every time a card(s) is discarded, your opponenent takes 500 lp." Then no the effect doesn't stack. If the card says "every time a card(s) is discarded, your opponent takes 500 lp x the number of cards" then yes it does.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, then let's say there would be a card with an effect that activated every time a card of a specific type was discarded. Would that accumulate or count as one discard with Card destruction?

 

Depends on the wording of the card.

 

For example:

 

A: "Whenever a Spell Card(s) is discarded from your hand, inflict 500 damage to your opponent's Life Points". <- Will only inflict 500 Damage no matter how many you discard.

 

B: "Whenever a Spell Card(s) is discarded from your hand, inflict 500 damage to your opponent's Life Points for each Spell Card discarded." <- Will inflict 500 Damage for each.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) In the TCG, does Granel constantly change it's attack or does it stay at the value it had when summoned?

 

"This card gains ATK and DEF equal to half of your Life Points." is a stand alone statement. This is a Continuous Effect. The ATK/DEF will change to always equal half your Life Points.

 

2) Can Tiger King Wanghu(Wangu?) kill Granel when the later gets summoned?

 

Yes, if you Special Summon Granel with 1400 ATK or less (less than 2800 Life Points, excluding other ATK modifiers).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...