Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

What happens if Big-Tusked Mammoth attacks a Decoy Dragon (or any other circumstance that would change the attack target via a Special Summon, e.g. Call of the haunted?)

 

I'm not sure what you're getting at, but in regards to the "Big-Tusked Mammoth" vs "Decoy Dragon", nothing would be different if it were any other monster. Big-Tusked Mammoth says the "monster can't attack.", meaning the player cannot declare an attack using it, and any already declared attacks with that monster would be stopped. It doesn't say the monster can't battle or be attacked, so your Mammoth will attack Decoy Dragon, Decoy Dragon will summon a Dragon, and then Mammoth will attack the newly summoned Dragon as normal.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If Tender of the Laval Volcano is removed from the Graveyard before its effect resolves, does it still get to mill a Laval or not?

 

Pretty sure it doesn't, but I wanna be sure.

 

Yes, it does.

 

Being sent to the Graveyard is the Trigger. It doesn't still have to be in the Graveyard to resolve, just to activate. It's the same with Sangan and Dandylion. But I think there still has to be another Laval in the Grave to successfully resolve.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What if a monster that isn't DARK-attribute battles Catastor but the other monster has Heart of Clear Water equipped?

 

Heart of Clear Water only protects from destruction effects that target. Catastor does not target. It will kill the monster by its effect.

 

If for any reason Catastor's effect fails to destroy an appropriate monster by its effect (Wind-Up Zenmaines, Six Samurais, etc), Damage Calculation will continue as normal.

 

But Catastor's effect says without damage calculation, so either way, no one loses LP right?

 

No. If Catastor fails to kill a monster its effect was used on, Damage Calculation applies normally. Battle Damage will be inflicted if applicable and monsters can be destroyed by battle.

 

Under normal circumstances, the opposing monster dies, so the battle ends at that point before comparing ATK/DEF values. That's what "before Damage Calculation/without applying Damage Calculation" means. Damage Calculation is the stage during the Damage Step where ATK/DEF are compared. If the battle doesn't end prematurely (due to Catastor's effect killing it before the attack "connects"), you DO enter Damage Calculation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In both cases, Tender misses the timing.

 

Charge is because milling is a cost, so the last thing to resolve will be adding a Lightsworn.

 

Card Destruction is because drawing is the last thing to occur, NOT discarding.

I assume it's this way with Synchro as well?

Unlike Sangan who's mandatory.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In both cases, Tender misses the timing.

 

Charge is because milling is a cost, so the last thing to resolve will be adding a Lightsworn.

 

Card Destruction is because drawing is the last thing to occur, NOT discarding.

Actually, I remember reading a blog post by Konami on simultanious occurences. For example, Quickdraw doesn't cause miss timing for anything.

 

I'll see if I can find the post.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Actually, I remember reading a blog post by Konami on simultanious occurences. For example, Quickdraw doesn't cause miss timing for anything.

 

I'll see if I can find the post.

 

Card Destruction was referenced a long time ago previously. You cannot draw AND discard (or vice versa) at the same time. Even if they resolve as a single action, they do not occur simultaneously.

 

Quickdraw's sending of a monster is part of the Summon, similar to BLS banishing a Light and Dark.

 

Gem-Knight Citrine vs XX-Saber Fulhelmknight

 

GOGOGOGOGOGO

 

Citrine is a Continuous effect, the same as Ancient Gears. It does not start a chain and therefore is always applied at the appropriate timing. Fulhelmknight cannot negate the attack.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Citrine is a Continuous effect, the same as Ancient Gears. It does not start a chain and therefore is always applied at the appropriate timing. Fulhelmknight cannot negate the attack.

...must...resist...urge...to...*hug* Thanks! I knew I was right the entire time!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wattsquirrel vs AOJ Nullfier. Both monsters negate each other's effects so do they both lose their effects? Or would it become a chain and thus one monster loses his ability first.

 

These are not Continuous Effects. They are Trigger Effects and both start chains. Chain Link #1 goes to the turn player (the attacker) and Chain Link #2 goes to the opponent (who is being attacked). Therefore, the one being attacked is whose effect will be applied.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...