Giga Hand Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 I love this thread. So helpful. Generation Shift on Harpie Queen. What do I search? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 I love this thread. So helpful. Generation Shift on Harpie Queen. What do I search? Add a Harpie Lady. Harpie Queen states its name is treated as "Harpie Lady" while on the field or in the graveyard, since Gen Shift adds a card of the same name (it doesn't say same card, it specifies name) then the name has to be Harpie Lady. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 I have been testing with "The Sacreds" while a friend was testing with "Vylons" and after our battles some questions rose: -The Sacred Beehive:Can I activate its effect if it attacks directly? Or perhaps the question is: does attacking directly is considered as "battling"? -Star Sign of The Sacred:1. Just to be sure: If I have multiple copies of this card on the field, do I draw 1 card for each "Star Sign" on the field after Special Summoning a "The Sacred" monster?2. If I Special Summon a "The Sacred" Xyz Monster during my opponent's turn (via "Xyz Reborn", "Call of the Haunted", etc.), do I get to draw cards by this card's effect? -Vylon Prism/Stella/Tetra/etc.Only to confirm: While those cards are equipped to a monster, are they treated as Equip Cards (although their effects don't mention anything about becoming Equip Cards) and thus they can activate the effect of "Vylon Element" if destroyed? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CDDRodrigo Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 I have been testing with "The Sacreds" while a friend was testing with "Vylons" and after our battles some questions rose: -The Sacred Beehive:Can I activate its effect if it attacks directly? Or perhaps the question is: does attacking directly is considered as "battling"? Yes, battling doesn't need to involve two monsters. -Star Sign of The Sacred:1. Just to be sure: If I have multiple copies of this card on the field, do I draw 1 card for each "Star Sign" on the field after Special Summoning a "The Sacred" monster?2. If I Special Summon a "The Sacred" Xyz Monster during my opponent's turn (via "Xyz Reborn", "Call of the Haunted", etc.), do I get to draw cards by this card's effect? Yes, you can stack the effect of multiple Star Signs and you can draw during your opponent's turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Yes, if a monster is "equipped" to another monster, it is considered an Equip Card. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 I see. Thanks for your answers. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Okay, question Quillbolt hedgehog attached to an Xyz monster. Tuner on the field. According to rules, when card detached it is sent to the graveyard, but technically its no removed from the field, so would it go to grave and stay there and then can be Special Summoned back, or would it still go to the banished Pile? Equip card equips to opponents Xyz monster, what happens? Do they lose there Xyz attached cards? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Okay, question Quillbolt hedgehog attached to an Xyz monster. Tuner on the field. According to rules, when card detached it is sent to the graveyard, but technically its no removed from the field, so would it go to grave and stay there and then can be Special Summoned back, or would it still go to the banished Pile? Equip card equips to opponents Xyz monster, what happens? Do they lose there Xyz attached cards? Quillbolt is sent to the Graveyard when detached. As would Birdman or Plague. Do you mean an Xyz becomes an Equip, such as Relinquished absorbing an Xyz? If so, yes, they lose their Materials. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 @Evilfusion: Well, thats one way to put it as equipping, I meant for the card flint. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Equipping a card to an Xyz would not have any effect on the Materials. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 @EvilFusion: Really? So, only if an union monster would equip to it, then it would hurt it? Like relinquished? Even thought its not a union. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Either I don't understand your questions at all, or you're thinking too hard about the mechanic. Xyz Monsters behave just like any other monster, except instead of Levels, they have Ranks, making them unaffected by everything Level-related. They can still have cards equipped (provided that card isn't specifically related to Level), and the Xyz Materials are only affected if the card says so (like Space Cyclone detaching a Material). If an Xyz is removed from the Field, it loses the Materials. If the Xyz ceases to be a monster (like with Relinquished turning it into an equip), it loses the Materials. If the Xyz is flipped down, it KEEPS the Materials. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Oh, okay, that helps alot, thanks....basically, you helped me out on the first 2.... Oh, so if the a monster card equips the Xyz Monster, then it loses its Xyz material monsters? Handcuff dragon.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 Oh, okay, that helps alot, thanks....basically, you helped me out on the first 2.... Oh, so if the a monster card equips the Xyz Monster, then it loses its Xyz material monsters? Handcuff dragon.... Handcuffs Dragon equips itself to the Xyz, so nothing happens to its material. The Xyz will lose its materials only if it specifically ceases being a monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 @Evilchris: Ah, okay, that is confusing, but I got it. Thanks. Well, so at least now I know with quillbolt and Xyz, it goes to the graveyard after being detached and it does not continue with its removef from play after effect...? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
IceDorago Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 It goes to the graveyard because it's not considered on the field. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted March 3, 2012 Report Share Posted March 3, 2012 @All: Thank you, sorry if I asked a lot of questions; its annoyingly confusing with Xyz's right now, but in time, maybe I'll understand them..but you all did answer the important one question; Which is that we can abuse Quillbolt Hedgehog even better now..... I'd rep you all, but can't because I've use my quota, so I guess I'll thank you all in some other way.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SamFTW Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 (in simple terms) can someone PLEASE explain priority to me and how it works? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 (in simple terms) can someone PLEASE explain priority to me and how it works?Priority is the ability to activate card effects before your opponent.Turn player always retains priority after a move or to start a chain.Let's say it's my turn:It's my Draw Phase. I draw a card. I now retain priority to use any Spell Speed 2 card effect. I can use an MST in my hand or a Trap I currently have on the field. If I do not do anything, I pass priority to my opponent to activate his own Spell Speed 2 card. If neither of us do anything, we move to the Standby Phase.If my opponent decided to activate Trap Dustshoot though, priority gets passed to me to chain my own card effect in response to Dustshoot. I choose to do nothing, so the chain resolves. Afterwards, priority is once again passed to me as the turn player to activate a Spell Speed 2 card effect. Phases do not change until both players agree on it.During the Main Phase, I as the turn player can also activate Spell Speed 1 effects. It works the same way only I cannot activate them in response to an action or as a chain.In the TCG however, a Spell Speed 1 monster ignition effect (under the turn player's control) can be used in response to the summon of a monster. This ruling is special and what most people hate.For example, I summon BLS. I can now use it's banishing effect in response to it's own summon, or pass priority to my opponent (this is assuming the summon wasn't negated by T-King or Solemn of course). If I decide not to, then the opponent can use his Bottomless Trap Hole to banish my BLS.Take note that at this time I cannot go back and say "Owait I wanted to use priority". This is one of the thing that people don't get, there are no redos, and you have to let your opponent claim whether they retain priority or not. This is generally the biggest problem with it. NOTE: You cannot just activate a bunch of cards in a chain ignoring your opponent. Once you activate a card your opponent now gets a chance to respond, if they don'w you may respond to your own activation. If they do you have to respond to their activation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryan Weise Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 If an XYZ monster is returned to the hand, is it destroyed? If a spirit monster is tributed for a tribute summon, or destroyed by any means that does involve flipping it face-up, is it still sent back into the hand? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 If an XYZ monster is returned to the hand, is it destroyed? If a spirit monster is tributed for a tribute summon, or destroyed by any means that does involve flipping it face-up, is it still sent back into the hand?No it's returned to Extra No, has to be face-up to do that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wave_Sine Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 If an Xyz monster is returned to the hand or deck, it is returned the the Extra Deck, and its Xyz Material are sent to the Graveyard. For your second question: No. A Spirit monster's effect that returns it to the hand is only activated if it is face-up on the field during the End Phase. If it is in the Graveyard, it is not face-up on the field. Gahhh, ninjas... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SarcastiXDevil Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 I don't know whether it's appropriate to ask it here, but here goes.Can you make/print custom made tokens just like the real cards -they have stats, effect written on them like the effect stated on the card summoning them, level, name, etc.- and use them in official duels? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 No. That's called proxying, and proxying is generally not allowed. If it were allowed, people could just print up nonexpensive versions of expensive decks. EDIT: Misread. I'm sure you can use any kinds of tokens in competitive play. They are just tokens, after all. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted March 4, 2012 Report Share Posted March 4, 2012 I don't know whether it's appropriate to ask it here, but here goes.Can you make/print custom made tokens just like the real cards -they have stats, effect written on them like the effect stated on the card summoning them, level, name, etc.- and use them in official duels? You can use whatever you want (within reason) for tokens. Personally, I use Metapod pokemon cards, but that's just me. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.