Toffee. Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Geargiano only negates the effect of the Summoned monster while its on the field.Arsenal lets you Tribute itself, so its no longer on the field, to use the effect, which resolves in the Graveyard.Its basically the same as using Skill Drain while I control Exiled Force. So I'm allowed to go: Arsenal -> Giano(Deck) -> Arsenal(Grave) -> Giano(Deck) -> Arsenal(same one) -> etc, right? Neither Arsenal or Giano have rulings pages.People on DN(Yea, I know) think I'm cheating when I do this, despite the fact I'm positive Giano + Arsenal work that way.My move is correct, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Geargiano only negates the effect of the Summoned monster while its on the field.Arsenal lets you Tribute itself, so its no longer on the field, to use the effect, which resolves in the Graveyard.Its basically the same as using Skill Drain while I control Exiled Force. So I'm allowed to go: Arsenal -> Giano(Deck) -> Arsenal(Grave) -> Giano(Deck) -> Arsenal(same one) -> etc, right? Neither Arsenal or Giano have rulings pages.People on DN(Yea, I know) think I'm cheating when I do this, despite the fact I'm positive Giano + Arsenal work that way.My move is correct, right?That's because the ruling would follow Debris Dragon and Lonefire, not Skill Drain. The restriction is a condition, not an effect, no? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 I think it's in line with Junk Synchron, Tour Guide, and Debris Dragon. Effects that activate or apply on the Field are negated. If the effect ACTIVATES in the Grave or RFG zone, it wont be negated. Darkwolf happened to recently clarify that effects that activate on the Field still consider the effects to resolve on the Field, even if the card isn't, and those cards only dodge Skill Drain because Skill Drain specifically states to negate the effects of faceup monsters. So I'd say your move is NOT legal, because Geargiano should negate effects that activate or apply on the Field, even if the monster leaves the Field as a cost. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Geargiano only negates the effect of the Summoned monster while its on the field.No it does not. Read the text carefully:its effects on the field are negated.It has been proven countless times that an effect resolves where it activates. Geargiano says nothing about the monster, only the effect, so if the effect activates on the field, it resolves on the field and as such will be negated by Geargiano. If it had said "its effects are negated while face-up on the field" THEN it would work like Skill Drain. As of now it works like Debris and Junk. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 It has been proven countless times that an effect resolves where it activates. Except for a certain little bee. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Except for a certain little bee. I dont follow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 I dont follow.Which brings me to my next Question. Can Inzektor Hornet Destroy Dai-Sojo of the Ice Barrier? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mido9 Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Which brings me to my next Question. Can Inzektor Hornet Destroy Dai-Sojo of the Ice Barrier?Hornet's destruction effect is treated as that of an equip spell card,so sojo can negate it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 @Above: But if the effect stays negated, then why does Giano include that extra bit of text? Which is why I'm thinking its different :/ Hornet's destruction effect is treated as that of an equip spell card,so sojo can negate it.Sojo doesn't negate, though.It just prevents them from being destroyed. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Hornet's destruction effect is treated as that of an equip spell card,so sojo can negate it.Confirming And is this what you were taking about Aggro? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 @Above: But if the effect stays negated, then why does Giano include that extra bit of text? Which is why I'm thinking its different :/ Sojo doesn't negate, though.It just prevents them from being destroyed.By Spell/Trap effects, which Hornet's effect would be considered as I suppose. And is this what you were taking about Aggro?When? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 @Above: But if the effect stays negated, then why does Giano include that extra bit of text? Which is why I'm thinking its different :/ How many other cards that negate effects (Debris, etc) have been reprinted since they started the Problem-Solving Card Text? I think it mentions the Field so people dont think effects that activate in the Grave, such as Sangan, are negated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 Does Safe Zone negate an opponent's Equip Cards targeting the selected monster?Also, can you switch the target into Defense later and have it retain safety? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 When?Except for a certain little bee.ThenDoes Safe Zone negate an opponent's Equip Cards targeting the selected monster?Also, can you switch the target into Defense later and have it retain safety?Safe Zone negates nothing. It prevents targeting, but cannot prevent cards that have already targetted. So Safe Zone does nothing to already activated equips. Also, yes you can. Safe Zone requires the monster to be in attack on activation, doesn't need any more than that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 What if I chain it to the activation of an Equip Spell? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 5, 2012 Report Share Posted April 5, 2012 What if I chain it to the activation of an Equip Spell?It has already been targeted. Targeting happens on activation so it is to late to "prevent" the targeting. Thus it doesn't work. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 evilfusion, tell me now that Galaxy-Eyes is not multi-chainable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 evilfusion, tell me now that Galaxy-Eyes is not multi-chainable.I read over your convo in the admin chat and I hate to say it Dem, but unless Konami retracts its statement from that email they showed it is multi-chainable :/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 I read over your convo in the admin chat and I hate to say it Dem, but unless Konami retracts its statement from that email they showed it is multi-chainable :/Wait... so what does that mean? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 Wait... so what does that mean?It means somebody emailed Konami about GEPD being multi-chainable and Konami said it was. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 I read over your convo in the admin chat and I hate to say it Dem, but unless Konami retracts its statement from that email they showed it is multi-chainable :/I'm refusing to believe Konami in this instance. From what I saw, they gave no real proof that it was multi-chainable, they simply said "It's Galaxy-Eyes". That's not proof at all.Galaxy-Eyes has always been a single-chain effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 Wait. Hold on. Explain what you mean when you say that it's multichainable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 I'm refusing to believe Konami in this instance. From what I saw, they gave no real proof that it was multi-chainable, they simply said "It's Galaxy-Eyes". That's not proof at all.Galaxy-Eyes has always been a single-chain effect.According to Konami it's always been a multi-chain effect. There's really nothing to do but email Konami. Wait. Hold on. Explain what you mean when you say that it's multichainable.Activate more than once in a single chain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 I'm still waiting on evilfusion. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 8, 2012 Report Share Posted April 8, 2012 Which part of the effect we talking about...? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.