Agro Posted April 19, 2012 Report Share Posted April 19, 2012 WC 2011 says it can. My field: Face-Up Blaze AcceleratorMy hand: Volcanic Scattershot My Opponent's field: SD/AM I activate Accelerator, SD/AM tributes to negate and destroy. EDIT: After reading Meta's post I tested some more My Field: Face-Up SD/AM and set CotHMy Graveyard: Stardust DragonOpp Field: Face-Up Oppression I activate CotH to revive Stardust, but Royal Chains. I'm allowed to and do negate Oppression with SD/AM. IDK what happened to you Meta, but you can. EDIT 2: So I tested Meta's specific situation and found that it did not work. It seems that SD/AM cannot negate a Continuous Spell/Trap if it is not the 3rd card in the chain. Anyone care to explain? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted April 19, 2012 Report Share Posted April 19, 2012 Coding error? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted April 19, 2012 Report Share Posted April 19, 2012 Stardust Dragon and Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode can both negate the effects of face-up cards as well (not just card activations). Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode can negate any effect that starts a chain (that's not a Counter Trap), so SD/AM can negate cards like "Blaze Accelerator", "Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen", "Infernity Launcher", etc SD and SD/AM have always worked this way, but the wording in the TCG have both been incorrect. SD got a wording update, though SD/AM has not yet. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 19, 2012 Report Share Posted April 19, 2012 Go with Aggro then, stupid coding errors :/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 19, 2012 Report Share Posted April 19, 2012 Okay, good to know. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 If Neo-Spacian Dark Panther copies the name of Number 39: Utopia. Can you Chaos Xyz Chaos Number 39 over it? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 If Neo-Spacian Dark Panther copies the name of Number 39: Utopia. Can you Chaos Xyz Chaos Number 39 over it?I do believe you could. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 Yes, you should be able to, as it doesn't require Utopia to be an Xyz Monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 Thank you, you two. Hilariousness... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 Copy a Rank 6 Xyz to use it- oh wai... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted April 20, 2012 Report Share Posted April 20, 2012 There is nothing preventing me from returning a TG Warwolf to the hand to summon Genex Birdman, and then special summon that same TG by it's own effect when Birman resolves, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 21, 2012 Report Share Posted April 21, 2012 There is nothing preventing me from returning a TG Warwolf to the hand to summon Genex Birdman, and then special summon that same TG by it's own effect when Birman resolves, right?Correct Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted April 21, 2012 Report Share Posted April 21, 2012 If I banish the monsters returned for Psychic Feel Zone, do I still get the Special Summon?Also, if a Synchro Monster summoned by this effect is returned to the Extra Deck, can I still Synchro Summon it? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 21, 2012 Report Share Posted April 21, 2012 If I banish the monsters returned for Psychic Feel Zone, do I still get the Special Summon?Also, if a Synchro Monster summoned by this effect is returned to the Extra Deck, can I still Synchro Summon it?The Synchro is summoned immediately so you only have to pay the cost. Anything afterwards doesn't matter. Also, Semi-Nomi only applies to Graveyard and Banished Zone. Extra Deck doesn't matter so the monster can still be summoned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted April 21, 2012 Report Share Posted April 21, 2012 The Synchro is summoned immediately so you only have to pay the cost. Anything afterwards doesn't matter. Also, Semi-Nomi only applies to Graveyard and Banished Zone. Extra Deck doesn't matter so the monster can still be summoned.Thought so. Thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted April 22, 2012 Report Share Posted April 22, 2012 I control Maestroke with materials and another Djinn with materials. Opponent Dark Holes. Can I protect both monsters with that single Maestroke? (with each djinn detaching one of it's own materials) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted April 22, 2012 Report Share Posted April 22, 2012 I control Maestroke with materials and another Djinn with materials. Opponent Dark Holes. Can I protect both monsters with that single Maestroke? (with each djinn detaching one of it's own materials) Provided they both have at least 1 Material on them, yes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
seattleite Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 Why can Rai-Oh negate Endymion but not Dark Simorgh's summon? What's the big difference? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 Endymion is a Summon Condition that can include the Graveyard, the same as Machina Fortress and Grapha. This does not start a chain and can be negated by Rai-oh, Black Horn, or Solemn Judgment. Dark Simorgh is ruled as being an Ignition Effect that starts a chain (Problem-Solving card text makes this clearer). Since it starts a chain, it is a card effect resolving that Summons Simorgh, and its Summon cannot be directly negated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 Why can Rai-Oh negate Endymion but not Dark Simorgh's summon? What's the big difference?Dark Simorgh's summon is by its effect, whereas Endymion's is an Inherent Summon. Rai-Oh cannot start a chain, which it does if trying to negate Dark Simorgh. Therefore Rai-Oh cannot negate Dark Simorgh. But Endymion, being an inherent summon, does not cause Rai-Oh to start a chain to negate, so you can use its effect to negate the summon. Make sense? EDIT: DAMNIT EVILFUSION I ALMOST HAD IT Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
seattleite Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 Yes, thanks. looks like Problem-Solving text is helpful after all... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 Your wording is...kind of off. Rai-oh does start a chain. It's a Trigger Effect. What it can't do is chain TO something. Although a more accurate explanation is the issue with Summon negation having a very specific timing. Summon negation is before the monster is considered successfully Summoned, referred to in Problem-Solving Card Text as "when a Summon is attempted". However, when a card effect Special Summons a monster during resolution, the window to negate the Summon is missed, because cards and effects may not interrupt another card's resolution. Therefore, by the time you have the option to respond, the monster has already been successfully Summoned, and the Summon cannot be negated. Your wording is...kind of off. Rai-oh does start a chain. It's a Trigger Effect. What it can't do is chain TO something. Although a more accurate explanation is the issue with Summon negation having a very specific timing. Summon negation is before the monster is considered successfully Summoned, referred to in Problem-Solving Card Text as "when a Summon is attempted". However, when a card effect Special Summons a monster during resolution, the window to negate the Summon is missed, because cards and effects may not interrupt another card's resolution. Therefore, by the time you have the option to respond, the monster has already been successfully Summoned, and the Summon cannot be negated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted April 24, 2012 Report Share Posted April 24, 2012 The literal term for an activated effect may be "starting a chain", but the more generic, easier-way-of-looking-at-it is chain being chaining to something to have more than one link. Yes, it's not the best wording as far as jargon is concerned, but it's a simple and easy way of getting the point across. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted April 25, 2012 Report Share Posted April 25, 2012 Rai-Oh's effect to negate a summon is a Quick Effect. It doesn't have priority to negate over other negation effects (say my opponent has Rai-Oh and I have Solemn Judgment and I want to negate my own summon, my opponent does not have the right to use Rai-Oh over me playing Solemn Judgment on my summon. Perhaps not the best example, but maybe I want my Life Points to be low and this would have some strategic use >_>; ) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted April 25, 2012 Report Share Posted April 25, 2012 Rai-Oh's effect to negate a summon is a Quick Effect. It doesn't have priority to negate over other negation effects (say my opponent has Rai-Oh and I have Solemn Judgment and I want to negate my own summon, my opponent does not have the right to use Rai-Oh over me playing Solemn Judgment on my summon. Perhaps not the best example, but maybe I want my Life Points to be low and this would have some strategic use >_>; )Believe evilfusion did that once to go C39 and win. Anyway problem is Simorgh's older text made it look similar to a condition so it's ruling needed to be explained pretty much. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.