Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

If Mist Valley Falcon is attached to Ninjitsu Art of Transformation, and bounces Art for its attack, can Mirror Force be chained to the effect of Art?

That doesn't start a chain iirc.

Two questions

  1. If D.D. Survivor is in the S/T zone as a Cont.S/T/Equip and is then banished, will I be able to SS it during the End Phase?
  2. Do I have to show the cards I look at from Chronomaly Technology?

1. It was face-up on the field, so yes.

2. There are no specifications on what you have to add, you just add a card. So your opponent does not need to see it. (tl;dr: no)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That doesn't start a chain iirc.

Continuous Monster Effects do not start a Chain, therefore they cannot be negated by "Divine Wrath", "Pulling the Rug", "Doomcaliber Knight" or "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror". - Yu-Gi-Oh Wikia.

 

Mist Valley Falcon's effect is a Continuous Monster Effect, so it would only make sense that if you connect those two... bingo no chains.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Mist Valley Falcon is attached to Ninjitsu Art of Transformation, and bounces Art for its attack, can Mirror Force be chained to the effect of Art?

 

To my knowledge, Mist Valley Falcon returns a card to the hand to pay the cost of declaring an attack before selecting an attack target. If Mist Valley Falcon returns Ninjitsu Art of Transformation and Mist Valley Falcon is destroyed, then Attack Declaration was never completed and the monster is not considered to have declared any attack, so Mirror Force cannot be used here.

 

From my memory of the game, the game tends to have you pick the attack target, then pay the cost, but in the same situation, the attack completely stops when Mist Valley Falcon is destroyed with no Attack Declaration response.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To my knowledge, Mist Valley Falcon returns a card to the hand to pay the cost of declaring an attack before selecting an attack target. If Mist Valley Falcon returns Ninjitsu Art of Transformation and Mist Valley Falcon is destroyed, then Attack Declaration was never completed and the monster is not considered to have declared any attack, so Mirror Force cannot be used here.

 

From my memory of the game, the game tends to have you pick the attack target, then pay the cost, but in the same situation, the attack completely stops when Mist Valley Falcon is destroyed with no Attack Declaration response.

Playing 2011, this is what happens.

I summoned the monster and went to the Battle Phase, then I targeted a monster for an attack, it then tells me to return a card, then it returns that card and the attack continues. Not sure what you can gather by that, but I would say that declaring the attack has already happened, and since you can still activate cards in response to the attack (as far as I know) you should also be able to use Mirror Force here.

EDIT: Played a little bit more, my opponent activated Battle Instinct when I attacked after returning the card, so yes you can still use cards in response according to 2011: Over the Nexus. Interesting note here, when the replay happens, you don't have to return an other card. I suppose this is because the monster still "declared the attack" which means if it declares to attack an other monster it wouldn't have to return. Interesting.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Playing 2011, this is what happens.

I summoned the monster and went to the Battle Phase, then I targeted a monster for an attack, it then tells me to return a card, then it returns that card and the attack continues. Not sure what you can gather by that, but I would say that declaring the attack has already happened, and since you can still activate cards in response to the attack (as far as I know) you should also be able to use Mirror Force here.

EDIT: Played a little bit more, my opponent activated Battle Instinct when I attacked after returning the card, so yes you can still use cards in response according to 2011: Over the Nexus. Interesting note here, when the replay happens, you don't have to return an other card. I suppose this is because the monster still "declared the attack" which means if it declares to attack an other monster it wouldn't have to return. Interesting.

 

It doesn't look like you paid any attention to the card being asked, but Ninjitsu Art of Transformation destroys the monster it is targeting if it leaves the field. If Mist Valley Falcon is targeted by Ninjitsu Art of Transformation and is attempting to declare an attack and returns Ninjitsu Art of Transformation to the hand, Mist Valley Falcon will be destroyed.

 

Also, Replays are not a second attack declaration, so of course you do not play the cost of Mist Valley Falcon if a replay were to occur (nor could cards that respond to an attack declaration be used when a new target is selected because of a replay.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It doesn't look like you paid any attention to the card being asked, but Ninjitsu Art of Transformation destroys the monster it is targeting if it leaves the field. If Mist Valley Falcon is targeted by Ninjitsu Art of Transformation and is attempting to declare an attack and returns Ninjitsu Art of Transformation to the hand, Mist Valley Falcon will be destroyed.

 

Also, Replays are not a second attack declaration, so of course you do not play the cost of Mist Valley Falcon if a replay were to occur (nor could cards that respond to an attack declaration be used when a new target is selected because of a replay.

I must have misread, I thought that it was the monster being destroyed that destroyed the card. In any case, the monster would be destroyed before even Mirror Force would be able to activate, so I'm pretty sure that you would simply go back to the start of the Battle Step. Though, you might be able to Chain to the attack with Mirror Force. Not quite sure actually.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm a bit confused about the second effect of Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms.

 

It reads:

During your Main Phase: You can target 1 other face-up Xyz Monster on the field; until the End Phase, have this card's name become that monster's name and have this card gain that monster's effects. This effect of "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms" can only be used once per turn.

 

Now, I can see the implication is that it can only copy once per turn, but... After the first copy, it's not "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms". It's whatever it copied, which makes it seem like it could copy again.

 

I figure that's not the case as it seems to defeat the point of the limitation, but I just want an explanation of why it can't stack when it's no longer Number 69.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm a bit confused about the second effect of Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms.

 

It reads:

During your Main Phase: You can target 1 other face-up Xyz Monster on the field; until the End Phase, have this card's name become that monster's name and have this card gain that monster's effects. This effect of "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms" can only be used once per turn.

 

Now, I can see the implication is that it can only copy once per turn, but... After the first copy, it's not "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms". It's whatever it copied, which makes it seem like it could copy again.

 

I figure that's not the case as it seems to defeat the point of the limitation, but I just want an explanation of why it can't stack when it's no longer Number 69.

Alright, this is something I'm actually pretty sure about (though don't qoute me, it's simply from what I have read/learned in the games), because I have studied a bit on how Konami's choice of OCG as we call it, and something you should be aware of is that when ever you mention a card in quotation marks that means that even if you were to summon an other Number 69 that card would not be able to use that effect. If the effect said "once per turn", even if that card was flipped face-down and then face-up or an other copy was to be placed, it would get an additional "turn" to use it. Furthermore it's a Lingering Effect, which means that it's something that happens after resolution, so even if the card was changed to an other card it would still have that Lingering Effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm a bit confused about the second effect of Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms.

 

It reads:

During your Main Phase: You can target 1 other face-up Xyz Monster on the field; until the End Phase, have this card's name become that monster's name and have this card gain that monster's effects. This effect of "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms" can only be used once per turn.

 

Now, I can see the implication is that it can only copy once per turn, but... After the first copy, it's not "Number 69: God Medallion, Coat of Arms". It's whatever it copied, which makes it seem like it could copy again.

 

I figure that's not the case as it seems to defeat the point of the limitation, but I just want an explanation of why it can't stack when it's no longer Number 69.

 

When a card's effect states "You can only the effect of <Insert Monster Name Here> once per turn", this means the effect that is originally on that named card. Changing the name of the monster wont let you use it again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I looked up a ruling for Lava Golem that said that you can use Venominaga as a tribute for it. Venominaga cannot be targeted by s/t or effects. So does that mean that you can use a monster with Safe Zone as a tribute?

It's using them as a tribute, a cost, for its summon, so it does not target the monsters used in any way and there is no way to stop what it kills on the field receiving Lava Golem. So, yes, you can use it on a Safe Zoned monster.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

More of a philo question than anything, but can anyone think of a situation where a monster whose effect activates upon its own NS, is "When: You can;" and the turn player controls it and wants it to go off can miss the timing?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

More of a philo question than anything, but can anyone think of a situation where a monster whose effect activates upon its own NS, is "When: You can;" and the turn player controls it and wants it to go off can miss the timing?

I'm somewhat confused about your question, are you asking if a monster effect that activates apon Normal Summon that is optional can miss the timing if it was "When: You can"? If that's the case, I'm pretty sure it doesn't matter if it was in the summon or not, as I know anything that was "When: You can" can miss the timing no matter what. Though I'm not sure if that's what you're asking, nor am I 100 % sure that it's true though from what I remember anything that says that should be able to miss the timing.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

More of a philo question than anything, but can anyone think of a situation where a monster whose effect activates upon its own NS, is "When: You can;" and the turn player controls it and wants it to go off can miss the timing?

 

When you use Ultimate Offering on a Chain Link #2 or higher to Normal Summon that monster.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When you use Ultimate Offering on a Chain Link #2 or higher to Normal Summon that monster.

He said "it's own NS", of course it wouldn't be able to if you used Ultimate Offering, since that effect resolves, and since you can't chain anything after effects resolves you wouldn't be able to use that monster's effect.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

He said "it's own NS", of course it wouldn't be able to if you used Ultimate Offering, since that effect resolves, and since you can't chain anything after effects resolves you wouldn't be able to use that effect.

 

Ultimate Offering Normal Summons monsters. A monster Normal Summoned on Chain Link #2 or higher will cause such an effect that was described to miss the timing.

 

The monster is Normal Summoned this way, and an effect that would activate on "its own NS" would still be triggered this way as asked. If they meant something else, then they need to clarify.

 

Otherwise, there is no other situation where this would happen. Any Continuous Effects that were to activate would add on with any current responses and not miss their timings and any trigger effects would chain with it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Otherwise, there is no other situation where this would happen. Any Continuous Effects that were to activate would add on with any current responses and not miss their timings and any trigger effects would chain with it.

Continuous Effects don't activate though, unless you mean by activating Continuous Trap Cards where activating the Trap would add on the chain but not using it's effect iirc, though Continuous Effects of Trap Cards can't activate just like Effect Monsters can't activate Continuous Effects.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Continuous Effects don't activate though, unless you mean by activating Continuous Trap Cards where activating the Trap would add on the chain but not using it's effect iirc, though Continuous Effects of Trap Cards can't activate just like Effect Monsters can't activate Continuous Effects.

 

Obviously meant Continuous Effects that would apply their effects. If they started a chain, they would be Ignition-Like or Trigger-Like which when would've been pointless for me to mention Continuous and Trigger separately.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can Apprentice Magician place a Spell Counter on a Breaker the opponent controls?

I'm pretty sure you can since most counters say where they can be placed, and since it doesn't say it, you should just be able to use it on any card. Only few cards don't work this way, like Tributing where you cannot Tribute cards your opponent controls unless it is said that you can. Though you can target your opponent's monsters since it doesn't say "target 1 of your monsters".
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes. You can place a Spell Counter on any faceup card that may receive Spell Counters, such as Breaker, Citadel, Royal Magical Library, etc.

oh yes that's right, some counters can only be placed on specific cards. I only really ever used Alien, and they can place on any of your opponent's monsters.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...