Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BGM キャノン

In the Spotlight

Recommended Posts

In the Spotlight
[Normal Trap]


Target 1 monster your opponent controls; all other face-up monsters they currently control cannot attack and their effects are negated, also the targeted monster must attack, if able to. These changes last until the End Phase. If your opponent controls 3 or more monsters, you can activate this card from your hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do like this card, the effect does fit very thematically with the name, and it's an interesting spin on this sort of Trap. However, I do feel that being able to activate this card from your hand is very powerful, almost too powerful (then again, I've been out of the loop since XYZ's became a thing, so this could actually be completely balanced). Plus, it does feel slightly redundant since it is a Trap Card, so by setting it you can still activate it during your opponent's turn. To compensate this, you could make it a Counter Trap that's effect cannot be negated. It could still be removed whilst set, but once it activated it couldn't be stopped.

 

Other than that, though, it's a very good card. I can see it being used 3 fold:

-Target a Defence Possition Monster, cancelling out the battle phase entirely,

-Targeting the weakest monster, causing it to get nuked and have some battle damage get taken by your opponent,

-Targeting the most important monster (either biggest or crucial to the chain), and forcing it into another trap that's been set up to negate, destroy or banish it.

 

So yeah, other than that one thing which I am probably completely wrong about, excellent card!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can this be used in an opening turn? I forget the rulings about cards/effects that involve attacking being live in opening turns because there is no Battle Phase and thus monsters cannot attack anyway.

 

Ruling concerns aside, IDK if this is good enough. The negation only applies on monsters already on board so if they have effects that activate, chances are they already used them by the time there is a monster next to them so you can target the latter and negate the effect of the former.

Well, at the very least is good vs. continuous effects, and to prevent OTKs by battle.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can this be used in an opening turn? I forget the rulings about cards/effects that involve attacking being live in opening turns because there is no Battle Phase and thus monsters cannot attack anyway.

Good question... I found this tad bit of ruling about the card Threatening Roar http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Threatening_Roar. Unfortunately, it doesn't really elaborate because it is probably that self-explanatory. Then again, Threatening Roar specifically mentions your opponent not being able to declare attack as oppose to their monsters. IDK... I am baffled by this honestly, but I guess I wouldn't be too disappointed if it couldn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...