Master Hyperion Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 "Obsidian Dragon's" effect is a Continuous Effect. Equip Spell Cards equipped during a previous turn will be negated and destroyed by "Obsidian Dragon's" effect. When a Union Monster is equipped to a DARK monster you control' date=' it is negated and destroyed by "Obsidian Dragon's" effect after equipping to the DARK monster. If you use "Snatch Steal" to take control of your opponent's DARK monster while you control "Obsidian Dragon", "Snatch Steal" is negated and destroyed, and the DARK monster is returned to your opponent. [b']If you use "Brain Control" to take control of your opponent's DARK monster while you control "Obsidian Dragon", the effect of "Brain Control" is not negated. [/b] OCG Rulings: "Obsidian Dragon's" Continuous Effect only resolves after a Spell or Trap Card targeting a DARK monster resolves, and stays on the field. This is because the "...and destroy them." part of the effect cannot resolve for Normal Spell Cards, Trap Cards etc that do not stay on the field after resolving. This is the biggest difference between this card and the similarly worded" Cyber Phoenix". Therefore this effect can only be applied to Equip Spell Cards, Continuous Spell Cards and Continuous Trap Cards targeting DARK monsters. Are the bolded actually correct rulings? Because the card itself offically says that when a Spell or Trap card targets a DARK monster, the Spell/Trap card is negated and destroyed. If the ruling is correct, then this card is useless against Sakuretsu armor, Magic Cyclinder, Drain Control and other cards that target. Also, discuss EDIT: I also wanted to check the offical website for this card's rulings, but the offical site is dead for some reason. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.