BulletMan Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 (Select and destroy a S/T you have. Select and destroy an opponents S/T.) Very epic card I must say. an MST at 3 with a bigger drawback. But that draw back isn't that bad. You could just chain the card you have that is being killed by this instead. Or you could simply destroy Geartown, since its effect will still activate with this card, which = I got rid of 2 cards to destroy your S/T and get a 3000 ATK beatstick and it was worth it. Or you could destroy a card being annoying to you (Royal Oppression, for reasons that come across the average player in side-decking) Discuss. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
byak Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 I like Chain Whirlwind more tbh. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinzuku Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 Magical Scrap Town with Dark Coffin loves this card.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 The destructi0n is a c0st, IM0. Y0u'll need t0 chain this t0 y0ur S/T t0 make it w0rk.I'll use it in my DNA Kuraz Dragi0n Crystal Beasts deck, t0 destr0y my Claym0re dud... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmegaWave Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 We have seen gold. Very win, I must admit. Also, DOUBLE CYCLONE!!!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 16, 2010 Report Share Posted August 16, 2010 Double Cyclone's cost is laughably inexpensive We have seen gold. Very win, I must admit. Also, DOUBLE CYCLONE!!!!!^Win^ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wiithepeople Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 Hey, it's Storm Owl from X4! nice XD Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 seriously, i think you can just target itself for a cost. or at the very least, set then target itself. i see no reason why not. unless maybe...if destruction is a cost, and costs are paid at activation.. would it then destroy itself before it activates? no.. that doesn't make sense. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 You can't target itself any more than MST can target itself. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 seriously, i think you can just target itself for a cost. or at the very least, set then target itself. i see no reason why not.Its a BKSS ruling. Though you can Double Cyclone, chain the card you were going to destroy, then chain a 2nd double cyclone to the 1st one.Or just set 2 cyclones, and then on chain both of them together for awesomeness Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Just Crouton Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 1. Play this.2. Destroy Limiter Overload and an opponent's card.3. SS Speed Warrior.4. Tribute for Monarch.5. Happiness. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 Wii des9read dud... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
byak Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 1. Play this.2. Destroy Limiter Overload and an opponent's card.3. SS Speed Warrior.4. Tribute for Monarch.5. Happiness. -1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Just Crouton Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 -1 Explain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 You can't target itself any more than MST can target itself. i don't see why you can't. OT:if you play a normal spell can you chain this, targetting said normal spell, and still get both effects just fine? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 That's just how cards like this work. Activated S/Ts that target can never affect themselves. Yes, you can. The same reason MST wont negate a normal S/T that's been activated (unless it remains on field), this can be chained to an activated card and destroy it, without losing the effect. More or less, this card's "select one of your S/Ts" aspect can be used the same way as Emergency Provisions. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 if you play a normal spell can you chain this, targetting said normal spell, and still get both effects just fine?Tronta doesnt know the difference between destroy and negate What is... this I..... .....Dont even? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 ah, i see. regardless, i think this works a bit different than mst. i'm sure there's a bkss against it, but theoretically it should be able to be its own cost. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toffee. Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 ah, i see. regardless, i think this works a bit different than mst. i'm sure there's a bkss against it, but theoretically it should be able to be its own cost.If Cyclone could target itself, it would be limited to 1/possibly B& Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 it would be mst, derp. so limited or banned or far more likely, just errata'd/bkss'di see no reason why it can't target itself, so i assume they're just going to bkss/errata it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 All examples to my experience show that activated cards do not affect themselves. Heavy Storm does not destroy "Heavy Storm", so if you activate Heavy Storm with one S/T, you can't chain Starlight Road. MST cannot target itself. So why should this be able to destroy itself for its cost/effect? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 because there's no rule other than the bkss stuff you just listed that says otherwise, and because double cyclone destroys one of your cards as a cost, and the others you listed destroy as part of their resolution. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 In that case, this card could simply be reworded to "select one other S/T you control and destroy it" to alleviate your concerns, even though destroying itself for its cost would be absurd logic when no card to date has allowed itself to do that, to the point that it's almost common knowledge that cards like that don't affect themselves. How can you pay itself for its cost anyway? (Machina Fortress does not count!) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BehindTheMask Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 The reason why "Double Cyclone", "Mystical Space Typhoon", and "Heavy Storm" do not destroy themselves is that when these cards are activated, the game state recognizes that the activated card will destroy itself upon resolution. It's sort of like the reason why Giant Trunade doesn't return itself to the hand. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tronta Posted August 17, 2010 Report Share Posted August 17, 2010 @behindthemaskwe got that far, but the difference holds that this destroys as a cost...it's silly. i mean, you obviously can't do it, but i dislike bkss stuff like this. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.