HugPhoenix Posted October 3, 2013 Report Share Posted October 3, 2013 [spoiler='lore']1 level 8 Dragon-type monster + 1 level 8 Fish-type monster. You can detach 1 material from this card; return all other cards on the field to the hand. You cannot activate this effect if you have activated any effects that remove a card from the field this turn.[/spoiler] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 This is a pretty nice card, but I would put something like that this card loses 1000 ATK or something like that when its effect activates until the End Phase. For proper OCG Grammar: "You may Detach 1 Xyz Material from this card, Return all cards on the Field to the Owner's Hand (except this card). You cannot activate this effect if you have activated any Card Effects that removed card(s) from the Field this turn." That's all folks! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet MS Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 For proper OCG Grammar: "You may Detach 1 Xyz Material from this card, Return all cards on the Field to the Owner's Hand (except this card). You cannot activate this effect if you have activated any Card Effects that removed card(s) from the Field." Errata'ing the errata. "[Dragon/Xyz/Effect] 1 Level 8 Dragon-Type monster + 1 Level 8 Fish-Type monster You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; return all other cards on the field to the hand. You cannot activate this effect if you have activated another card effect that has caused card(s) to leave the field this turn." That said, its Summon condition is rather unusual. Never before have we seen Xyz Monsters that specify two different types of Materials. This Summon condition would preferably fit on a Fusion monster, but if we do that, it would become a whole lot more exploitable. Hmm... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flash Flyer - Sakura Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 The summoning requirements are a bit weird (usually we'd expect to see those types of requirements on Fusion Monsters, not Xyz [generally, they don't ask for 2 specific types of monsters to be used for them, just one]; though interesting in a way) As for the effect, it's good but you need another drawback effect on it besides the limitation that you can't use it if you used other effects that remove cards from the field; either that or lower its stats a bit. Although the strange requirements might counterbalance its current stats, as it is now, you basically clear the field; attack your opponent directly with a 3300 ATK monster. Either way, it's a very good card but needs some buffs to its effect to make it less overpowering. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 Errata'ing the errata. "[Dragon/Xyz/Effect] 1 Level 8 Dragon-Type monster + 1 Level 8 Fish-Type monster You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; return all other cards on the field to the hand. You cannot activate this effect if you have activated another card effect that has caused card(s) to leave the field this turn." "The" is not correct. Compulsory Evacuation Device specially says "Owner's Hand" to ensure that a card that may have switched control can only go to the Owner's Hand and not the controller's Hand. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet MS Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 "The" is not correct. Compulsory Evacuation Device specially says "Owner's Hand" to ensure that a card that may have switched control can only go to the Owner's Hand and not the controller's Hand. Um, yeah, about Compulsory Evacuation Device, its PSCT errata would like to have a little word with you. "to the hand"/"to the Deck" have been replacing "to their owners' hands"/"to their owners' Decks", because it's somehow become an unspoken rule that any card, when returned to hand/Deck, will always return to their owner, unless dictated otherwise by another card effect (which would be a rare case). Not to mention it makes things a little less wordy if multiple cards under different players' control would be affected at once. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 I think the LCYW version still says Owner's Hand not 'the Hand'. Besides, it's better to define to make it simpler for newer player's anyway. (In another card game there was a long debate over this, and it was ultimately resolved by all cards returned to a Deck go to Owner's Deck same with Hand, but that it was still best to put Owner's in the effect to keep people from being confused.) EDIT: Okay... Apparently it's "the Hand" which overall is more confusing. Owner's specified the location. "The" has no meaning here. And as this is not an official rule, then Compluse can shoot a monster to your Hand as its been Errata'd to mean so. Konami really has to read and think before making some dumb decisions like that. (What's wrong with 3 more letters? Really!) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ziliath Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 I think the LCYW version still says Owner's Hand not 'the Hand'. Besides, it's better to define to make it simpler for newer player's anyway. (In another card game there was a long debate over this, and it was ultimately resolved by all cards returned to a Deck go to Owner's Deck same with Hand, but that it was still best to put Owner's in the effect to keep people from being confused.) EDIT: Okay... Apparently it's "the Hand" which overall is more confusing. Owner's specified the location. "The" has no meaning here. And as this is not an official rule, then Compluse can shoot a monster to your Hand as its been Errata'd to mean so. Konami really has to read and think before making some dumb decisions like that. (What's wrong with 3 more letters? Really!) The machnics of the game preclude cards entering the opponents had with the exception of certan cards, where in it expressly states it enters the opponents deck/hand, then and while "the" in this point is meaningless; it still inherently retirns the owners hand unless explicidly stated otherwise. If no instruction is specified it usualy is restricted to the owners control. otherwise the card Pollinosis (look it up) would allow it to target the summoned opponents plant monster as the cost to negate the same summoned plant monsters summon.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 My complaint is that Konami can't seem to figure out what would be the easiest wording for new players to understand. A new player will only be confused by the new wording, the old wording didn't. That's my complaint. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ziliath Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 [quote name="TFMegamanlan" post="6282010" timestamp="1380899489"]My complaint is that Konami can't seem to figure out what would be the easiest wording for new players to understand. A new player will only be confused by the new wording, the old wording didn't. That's my complaint.[/quote] I agree (I wish pollinosis would let me target my opponents monsters) but more importantly this ambiguity on wording; if one dose not understand this unspoken rule and just looked at the cards to understand the order of events then yes players who are new might be confused. But, they also wrote a hand book, tell me dose the handbook ignore this rule? If so your problem is with the handbook not the cards, if all else fails there is google.... Look it up and go with the majority if your having a disagreement over wording. I'm sure that's reasonable even if at a later point it was wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TFMegamanlan Posted October 4, 2013 Report Share Posted October 4, 2013 Yugioh Wikia I know does not mention the Ruling as I saw it. I'll check the Handbook again (but that's Sortof an Advanced ruling so they probably don't have it in the rule book). My opinion is keep away from Advanced Rulings as much as possible and try to keep the rules as simple as possible while not making the card's extremely long. My Opinion on that card is what was the card originally meant to do? Only yours or all Plants? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet MS Posted October 5, 2013 Report Share Posted October 5, 2013 When you want to know what the card is originally intended to do, look no further than its original Japanese lore. ...Oh, right. You can't read Japanese, can you? "自分フィールド上の植物族モンスター1体をリリースして発動できる。" -> "Activate by Tributing 1 Plant-Type monster on your side of the field." Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.