Sleepy Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 This card's name is treated as "Umi". All WATER monsters gain 200 ATK and DEF. Once per turn, during your Main Phase: You can have all WATER monsters you currently control gain Levels equal to the number of WATER monsters you currently control, until the End Phase. Discuss~ Btw, I understood the Level altering effect is a trigger effect without all that many limitations. Just went to YGOPro, and taking one of them out to activate another copy made my WATER monsters revert for some reason, was that a glitch or is there something I'm not seeing? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 Apparently, that ruling is legit. If Lemuria's effect has resolved, and Lemuria is removed from the Field afterwards, the Levels revert. I did not expect that, but looked it up. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 Had a bad deck with Frogs and Nimbles. Then had a decent deck with Nimbles + 3 Tidal + 3 Stream + 3 Diva. Then had a not completely awful deck with Nimbles 3 Tidal + 1 Diva. Now it's a totally awful deck again. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
玄魔の王 Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 Apparently, that ruling is legit. If Lemuria's effect has resolved, and Lemuria is removed from the Field afterwards, the Levels revert. I did not expect that, but looked it up. How odd. That must be a BKSS ruling or something to prevent stacking copies for LolRank10 spam. Or something. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 How odd. That must be a BKSS ruling or something to prevent stacking copies for LolRank10 spam. Or something. It's because Lemuria's effect, as a Field Spell, only applies while it's faceup on the Field. (Similarly, this is why some Continuous cards specify their effects continue, even if they leave the Field). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slinky Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 It's because Lemuria's effect, as a Field Spell, only applies while it's faceup on the Field. (Similarly, this is why some Continuous cards specify their effects continue, even if they leave the Field). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 Yes...Continuous Cards, Equip Cards, and Field Spells all normally stop applying their effects when they leave the Field. Several of them outright say they don't. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted January 20, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 I thought that specification was just fool-proof to have the reader not miss the fact those are trigger effects. Since Trigger effects that already resolved wouldn't normally disappear when the card is gone, sort of like how MST doesn't negate. Though Call of the Haunted is an example that that's not necessarily the case I guess.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
玄魔の王 Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 Also, anybody else annoyed they didn't follow the same translation schema as the previous Umi-clone and call this "A Forgotten Ocean"? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted January 20, 2014 Report Share Posted January 20, 2014 I thought that specification was just fool-proof to have the reader not miss the fact those are trigger effects. Since Trigger effects that already resolved wouldn't normally disappear when the card is gone, sort of like how MST doesn't negate. Though Call of the Haunted is an example that that's not necessarily the case I guess.... It's an Ignition Effect, not a Trigger, although often times, it's still true. It varies at times from card to card. For example, Galaxy Zero negates the monster effect and prevents attacking. These only last while Zero is equipped to that monster, and Zero turns ATK to 0 when it leaves the Field, whereas Call of the Haunted explicitly destroys the affected monster. I honestly didn't know if Lemuria left the Levels intact and would have assumed they did due to being an effect that has finished resolving, but apparently, it really is ruled to remove the buffs when it leaves the Field. General rule of thumb supports this, in that effects originating from a Continuous/Equip/Field Spell vanish when the card leaves the Field. The specifications seem to apply to cards that NORMALLY would follow that rule, but are not bound to the Continuous nature of those cards. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.