I Hate Snatch Steal Posted October 4, 2014 Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 If this card is used for an Xyz Summon, you can treat it as a Level 6 monster. If this card is in your graveyard: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your graveyard; special summon this card and if you do, you can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your graveyard and special summon 1 spell/trap card from your graveyard as a normal monster (Spellcaster-Type/ LIGHT/ Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0). Banish that card when it leaves the field. You can only use the special summoning effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. Rulings notes: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your graveyard; special summon this card and if you do, you can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your graveyard and special summon 1 spell/trap card from your graveyard as a normal monster (Spellcaster-Type/ LIGHT/ Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0). Banish that card when it leaves the field. is all 1 effect for the purposes of You can only use the special summoning effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. and is resolved all in the same chain link Just like my other recent topic, a very good effect balanced by giving it to an archetype that isn't stellar Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted October 4, 2014 Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 Going to drop an OCG fix here because the 2nd effect is not written correctly as it has an effect within an effect, so to speak; you cannot start another effect while an effect is still ongoing. If this card leaves the field, shuffle it into the Deck. If this card is used for an Xyz Summon, you can treat it as a Level 6 monster. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard; Special Summon this card. If Summoned this way: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard, then target 1 Spell/Trap card in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target as a Normal Monster (Spellcaster-Type/LIGHT/Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0), and if you do, banish it when it leaves the field. You can only use each effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. That aside, the card looks fine. It is a 1-card Rank4, searchable by Generation Force, and supports a rather forgettable archetype, or rather attempts to bind an archetype together since, as far as I know, Xyz cards have a wide array of effects that rarely involve each other. Plus becoming a Level 6 is a nice perk for easier Rank6 plays. I don't get with you added that first clause, though; it looks like it unnecessarily hurts the card, unless there is an unfair combo involving it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I Hate Snatch Steal Posted October 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 Going to drop an OCG fix here because the 2nd effect is not written correctly as it has an effect within an effect, so to speak; you cannot start another effect while an effect is still ongoing. If this card leaves the field, shuffle it into the Deck. If this card is used for an Xyz Summon, you can treat it as a Level 6 monster. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard; Special Summon this card. If Summoned this way: You can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard, then target 1 Spell/Trap card in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target as a Normal Monster (Spellcaster-Type/LIGHT/Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0), and if you do, banish it when it leaves the field. You can only use each effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. That aside, the card looks fine. It is a 1-card Rank4, searchable by Generation Force, and supports a rather forgettable archetype, or rather attempts to bind an archetype together since, as far as I know, Xyz cards have a wide array of effects that rarely involve each other. Plus becoming a Level 6 is a nice perk for easier Rank6 plays. I don't get with you added that first clause, though; it looks like it unnecessarily hurts the card, unless there is an unfair combo involving it. Derp. The first part was a clause left over from an older draft of the card that was much more generic. I'll fix that right now. edit: 'effects within effects' as you call them do happen in the official game: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Magical_Dimension http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Number_74 http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Number_74:_Master_of_Blades Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darj Posted October 4, 2014 Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 Oh yes, they do exist, but in the case of your card the effect was messed up because it targeted a different card, and thus started a new chain, before it resolved, which cannot be done. But I see that you fixed it already. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
razzy Posted October 4, 2014 Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 If this card is used for an Xyz Summon, you can treat it as a Level 6 monster. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can banish 1 other "Xyz" card from your Graveyard; Special Summon this card, then, you can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard, and if you do, Special Summon 1 Spell/Trap Card from your Graveyard. You can only use this effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. That Special Summoned card is treated as a Normal Monster (Spellcaster-Type/ LIGHT/ Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0). The effect is fine as a whole. But I think it does need some work. There is a difference between "then" vs "and if you do". Also adding "you can" to some of the clause otherwise you'd be forced to use the full effect and wouldn't be able to use any of it unless you could fulfill all the requirements (unless that's the way you intended it). I don't really see the point in needing to banish the Spell/Trap card. It's not like a monster that can keep Special Summoning itself through some means and it already has a cost of banishing 2 cards. Plus it helps save on some text. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I Hate Snatch Steal Posted October 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted October 4, 2014 If this card is used for an Xyz Summon, you can treat it as a Level 6 monster. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can banish 1 other "Xyz" card from your Graveyard; Special Summon this card, then, you can banish 1 "Xyz" card from your Graveyard, and if you do, Special Summon 1 Spell/Trap Card from your Graveyard. You can only use this effect of "Xyz Witch" once per turn. That Special Summoned card is treated as a Normal Monster (Spellcaster-Type/ LIGHT/ Level 4/ATK 0/DEF 0). The effect is fine as a whole. But I think it does need some work. There is a difference between "then" vs "and if you do". Also adding "you can" to some of the clause otherwise you'd be forced to use the full effect and wouldn't be able to use any of it unless you could fulfill all the requirements (unless that's the way you intended it). I don't really see the point in needing to banish the Spell/Trap card. It's not like a monster that can keep Special Summoning itself through some means and it already has a cost of banishing 2 cards. Plus it helps save on some text. The point of banishing the spell/trap card when it leaves the field is to prevent return to hand effects from letting you re-use it. For example: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Blackwing_-_Zephyros_the_Elite but that's far from the only card that could do that Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.