Jump to content

Vorpal Giant Trap Hole


YamiNekoChan

Recommended Posts

And here we have the 2000+ version of Chain Destruction; suppose it was inevitable (although it has a cost). 

 

Suppose it would be nice against getting rid of common ED monsters and to an extent, the Main; though, much like Destruction and whatever that smaller one is called, it does nothing to stop the monster from triggering any on-summon effects. In the case of Kozmos, you could use this to blast their ships away, but then they have the Field Spell to get them back, so that will backfire on you to an extent. It also does nothing for copies in the hand though (again, it's likely going to be multiple Dark Destroyers or something, among others). 

 

But otherwise, as you already mentioned, it is still a Rafflesia target, which also gives it an edge over the other two. (Come to think of it, even without being a Trap Hole, this card would probably still see play). 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Eh, fix the card grammar.

 

"When a monster with 2000 or more ATK is Summoned: Pay 1000 LP; banish it, and if you do, banish all cards with that name from the controller's Deck."

 

It's a good card for sure, but somewhat obsolete against Pendulums (As they prefer to get PS'ed in swarms), and BA/PK (Although Beatrice and Break Sword can still be banished by this card, just not all copies from the Extra Deck). It's useful in getting rid of single monsters that are a nuisance though, like Sakura had mentioned.

 

He also already mentioned the Rafflesia point, so I don't need to comment on that. Everything looks fine here. Good job. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Would rafflesia bypass the LP cost?, i mean because of her text it requires the same activation conditions, but still doesnt activate the card itself, after that it becomes tha trap hole effect. Im asking this because if not mistaken there are no trap holes with a "cost".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Would rafflesia bypass the LP cost?, i mean because of her text it requires the same activation conditions, but still doesnt activate the card itself, after that it becomes tha trap hole effect. Im asking this because if not mistaken there are no trap holes with a "cost".

I would probably assume that you can't, since if Rafflesia takes the effect of the card (cost included), you still have to shell out the LP for it. 

 

But you are correct in that no Trap Hole thus far has an activation cost. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would probably assume that you can't, since if Rafflesia takes the effect of the card (cost included), you still have to shell out the LP for it. 

 

But you are correct in that no Trap Hole thus far has an activation cost. 

 

Actually, Junk Collector has the same wording as Rafflesia and it bypasses costs, so Rafflesia should bypass costs too.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm currently not sure what to say about it. I've been detached from the game for quite a long time in terms of competitive and power level and mostly playing that I've found cards that I think are broken are actually unplayable trash. With that in mind, my opinion of how powerful this card is almost certainly doesn't matter.
Additional design complaints:
• When it says "Deck", does it mean "Main Deck" and/or "Extra Deck"? I feel like that should be specified, particularly with the Pendulum Mechanic and the unused NEX cards running around, allowing cards with the same name to occupy both.
• Thanks to pendulum Summoning, more than one monster can be Summoned at once, and each of them can even have a different name. Is this designed to work against multiple summoned monsters at once? Will it banish based on all their names?

Personally, I think it should be changed to only work when exactly one monster is Summoned and not have the LP cost (after all, it doesn't matter with rafflesia anyway). That would make it somewhat of a side-grade to both the other Trap Holes I've seen and a side-grade to things that just negate one summon. Designwise, I don't really care which way the Main deck and/or Extra Deck thing works.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It should imply Main Deck, so if it hits the ED monsters, I don't think the copies in there will get blown up. As for Pendulum Summoned monsters and multiple stuff, honestly not sure about that one. Suppose we can go ask that question in TCG (or I end up asking evilfusion again)

 

Looking at the rulings for Chain Destruction, it only hits the Main Deck [and hand]. I didn't see anything about multiple monsters for that card though (if they are summoned, are all the copies of the summoned monsters in question banished?)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...