Toffee. Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Kinda' had a feeling This would only need 2 Materials. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Ooh, only 2 Mats? Now it actually has a chance of being used! Still not meta, but nothing wrong with that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
玄魔の王 Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Just 2 mats, huh? Personally, I think it would have been best as "2 or more level 1s", just in case you want 3 mats on the ranked up monster for some reason, but this definitely makes it more playable and easily accessible. ...I'm also just noticing on the wikia that it says "banish the face-up monster Special Summoned by this effect". Does that mean that Number 24 can protect itself from banishment by using its eff on itself? Or was that a mistranslation?Considering they were released together, I imagine it's intentional. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchi Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Now I feel like building a Deck revolving around this card... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Progenitor Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 So...this works: Summon Number 24 with this thing. If at any point during the turn that monster is Set, then it will not be banished at the end phase. And Number 24's whole gimmick revolves around it's built in Book of Moon effect that can be used on itself to kill things. The reason this works is because of the fact that a set monster does not inherit the conditions it was first summoned with when flipped back face-up. As reference, here are two rulings for Book of Moon that confirm why it will work like this: If "Majestic Mech - Ohka" is Normal Summoned without Tributes, or if "Majestic Mech - Goryu" is Normal Summoned with one Tribute, and either is flipped face-down with "Book of Moon" and then flipped face-up during the same turn, then its effect which sends it to the Graveyard will no longer activate during the End Phase. If any of these monsters is face-down during the End Phase, then the monster will not be sent to the Graveyard.Confirms that resolution effects that happen at the end phase but are exclusively triggered via the summoning method of the monster in question cannot resolve if the monster was Set at any point during that turn, regardless if it was still set at the end phase or not, since it cannot remember how it was summoned. If a monster Special Summoned by “Rekindling” is flipped face-down by “Book of Moon” it is not removed from play during the End Phase.Confirms that conditions that specifically banish a summoned monster at the end phase cannot resolve if that monster is Set. Combined with the previous ruling, that should mean that even if the monster is once again flipped up before the end phase, it will still remain of the field, since the gamestate does not actually know if the monster was summoned from the effect of Rekindling. That's actually pretty dang good. I think it's honestly the only Number you can pull at this point that benefits hugely since it's basically not even affected by the harsh restrictions Number 74 places on you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinkerer Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 So...this works: Summon Number 24 with this thing. If at any point during the turn that monster is Set, then it will not be banished at the end phase. And Number 24's whole gimmick revolves around it's built in Book of Moon effect that can be used on itself to kill things. The reason this works is because of the fact that a set monster does not inherit the conditions it was first summoned with when flipped back face-up. As reference, here are two rulings for Book of Moon that confirm why it will work like this: Confirms that resolution effects that happen at the end phase but are exclusively triggered via the summoning method of the monster in question cannot resolve if the monster was Set at any point during that turn, regardless if it was still set at the end phase or not, since it cannot remember how it was summoned. Confirms that conditions that specifically banish a summoned monster at the end phase cannot resolve if that monster is Set. Combined with the previous ruling, that should mean that even if the monster is once again flipped up before the end phase, it will still remain of the field, since the gamestate does not actually know if the monster was summoned from the effect of Rekindling. That's actually pretty dang good. I think it's honestly the only Number you can pull at this point that benefits hugely since it's basically not even affected by the harsh restrictions Number 74 places on you.So I was under the impression that this card is kinda like A Wild Monster Appears in its banish condition. Does this mean that if you somehow found a way to flip the A Wild Monster Appears summon into face-down defense position (ignoring the fact it's unaffected by your card effects), it would stick around? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Progenitor Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 So I was under the impression that this card is kinda like A Wild Monster Appears in its banish condition. Does this mean that if you somehow found a way to flip the A Wild Monster Appears summon into face-down defense position (ignoring the fact it's unaffected by your card effects), it would stick around?Yes. However that isn't just theoretically, but just plain actually impossible. Since the monster is unaffected by everything, including it's own effects, it cannot be flipped face down by any means. If it could however, it would NOT return to the deck at the end phase. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinkerer Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Yes. However that isn't just theoretically, but just plain actually impossible. Since the monster is unaffected by everything, including it's own effects, it cannot be flipped face down by any means. If it could however, it would NOT return to the deck at the end phase. A Wild Monster Appears does let the monster affect itself. I just don't think there's a Nomi that flips itself face-down (or at least, I can't think of one). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~~~~ Posted May 13, 2016 Report Share Posted May 13, 2016 Yes. However that isn't just theoretically, but just plain actually impossible. Since the monster is unaffected by everything, including it's own effects, it cannot be flipped face down by any means. If it could however, it would NOT return to the deck at the end phase. A Wild Monster Appears does let the monster affect itself. I just don't think there's a Nomi that flips itself face-down (or at least, I can't think of one). Also, your opponent's effects affect it. If they BoM it, it will stay. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
White Void Posted May 14, 2016 Report Share Posted May 14, 2016 A Wild Monster Appears does let the monster affect itself. I just don't think there's a Nomi that flips itself face-down (or at least, I can't think of one). Rulings state that if you summon it with AWMA and then flip it via its effect, it will stay on the field. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlackBeartic Posted May 16, 2016 Report Share Posted May 16, 2016 So from what I've seen from a few videos (azneyes' replay showcase in particular). 1. Imperial Iron Wall is a godsend for this card. 2. If you happen to overlay into another archive you can.... detach and repeat? Idk if that's a bug since it had said you can't special summon for the rest of the turn but idk. 3. If you get Dora (I might be wrong on this/it might have been covered here already) you can use your eff and you don't get banished? That sounds very... odd. I assume if this works its because the banishing is an eff? Any other ways to abuse this card? Once dev finally decides to change the material requirements to "2 level 1 monsters" i'll make a for fun deck around this :). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinkerer Posted May 16, 2016 Report Share Posted May 16, 2016 2. If you happen to overlay into another archive you can.... detach and repeat? Idk if that's a bug since it had said you can't special summon for the rest of the turn but idk. 3. If you get Dora (I might be wrong on this/it might have been covered here already) you can use your eff and you don't get banished? That sounds very... odd. I assume if this works its because the banishing is an eff? 2. It's a bug. As of right now, it even lets you rank up into the spiders as well. 3. I still don't think Dora can stop it as it is a condition placed on the summon. Again, similar to how "A Wild Monster Appears!" can still shuffle back Zushin/Vennominaga even though they're unaffected by everything. However, if you want to keep your monster by flipping it face down, running Ghostrick Museum might be a good way to do it. Plus you can also run a level 1 Ghostrick engine to access 78 itself. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.