Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

According to the Wikia, when an Xyz Monster is sent to the Graveyard while Dimension Fissure is active, then the Xyz Monster will be banished but the materials will not. Is this correct? If so, why?

 

Xyz Materials are not Monsters. They are Xyz Materials. Unless otherwise mentioned by its own effect or by another card effect, they are simply blank Materials which have no effects, stats, card types or anything, in a similar fashion to Counters which on their own are meaningless unless an effect tells them otherwise.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There aren't too many things that are considered conditions in the game:

 

1: Summoning Conditions - Anything that tells you how a monster can or cannot be Summoned, or how it may/must be summoned.

 

2: Used as Materials - Anything that mentions how a card may or may not be used as a "Synchro Material Monster", "Fusion Material Monster", or "Xyz Material Monster" (once such an effect is released). Note that it must have the exact phrase of "X Material Monster" in order for it to be a condition. Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor states "cannot be used for a Synchro Summon", but nothing about it as a Material. If Vayu is negated, it may be used for a Synchro Summon on the field.

 

3: Activation Conditions - Any effects that generally state "If you activate this card/effect, you cannot...". Provided its a card activation, negating the activation will stop the condition from taking place. If its a card activation but only the effect is negated, the condition will still be in effect.

 

That's all I can think of off-hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ah, so Chaos Sorcerer's inability to attack if it used its effect is a Condition? Good to know.

 

Correct. If the effect is negated, it still wont be able to attack. If the activation is negated (LaDD), then it may attack, so you could summon Chaos Sorcerer, activate effect with a full LaDD, then attack when you're both at 2300 ATK.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Which, for that matter, reminds me of another question. If LADD negates a Lightsworn's mill effect, it still has to mill again (allegedly). If so, is this because the activation was negated, and therefore it was treated as if it didn't go off in the first place?

 

The Trigger of a Phase or part of a phase (Standby Phase, End Phase, End of the Battle Phase) is a period of time. It is not a pinpoint moment as most triggers. Trigger Effects can/must be activated once over the course of the Phase (in no particular order). Since the activation was negated, it is considered to not have had its "once" activation yet and so as long as it is "During the X Phase", the Trigger will become re-triggered. Provided any other conditions are correct as part of its trigger, it may be activated again (or if its mandatory, will be activated again).

 

For Example, a Gladiator Beast Secutor that was Summoned by a Gladiator Beast and had Battled this turn will continue to drain an LaDD to 800/400 as the Trigger and Conditions will continue to be satisfied until the activation is no longer negated and gets its one activation for that phase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you activate Trap Dustshoot right after your opponent draws, during their draw phase? Also, what if they have 4 cards in hand, including a MST? Can they drop MST immediately after their draw, preventing Dustshoot's activation?

 

Remember that you, as the opponent, does not have priority until the opponent gives it to you. You obtain priority when the Turn Player activates a card effect (in which priority is passed to you) or when the opponent passes priority by not activating an effect.

 

After drawing a card during the Draw Phase, turn player has the right to activate a card effect first in response to "Drawing a card". At this time he may activate MST in his hand before you are allowed to activate Trap Dustshoot.

 

If the Turn Player passes priority and chooses not to activate a card in response to his own draw, then you may activate Trap Dustshoot without worry.

 

Provided you do these things properly, there would never be an issue. Many assume they can immediately play Trap Dustshoot as soon as they draw, which is not correct as they do not have priority. On the other hand, many assume they can force a play after seeing Trap Dustshoot "because they have priority" after the opponent incorrectly activates dustshoot. Generally in these situations on DN, both players are in the wrong, and its a rather annoying issue to deal with over and over again. No one ever talks, no one ever gives up priority or says they aren't activating anything, or even asks for responses, so generally its both player's fault =/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

Remember that you, as the opponent, does not have priority until the opponent gives it to you. You obtain priority when the Turn Player activates a card effect (in which priority is passed to you) or when the opponent passes priority by not activating an effect.

 

After drawing a card during the Draw Phase, turn player has the right to activate a card effect first in response to "Drawing a card". At this time he may activate MST in his hand before you are allowed to activate Trap Dustshoot.

 

If the Turn Player passes priority and chooses not to activate a card in response to his own draw, then you may activate Trap Dustshoot without worry.

Ok, because that just happened to me and wasn't sure if it works like that. Thanks a lot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...