darkwolf777 Posted December 18, 2011 Report Share Posted December 18, 2011 According to the Wikia, when an Xyz Monster is sent to the Graveyard while Dimension Fissure is active, then the Xyz Monster will be banished but the materials will not. Is this correct? If so, why? Xyz Materials are not Monsters. They are Xyz Materials. Unless otherwise mentioned by its own effect or by another card effect, they are simply blank Materials which have no effects, stats, card types or anything, in a similar fashion to Counters which on their own are meaningless unless an effect tells them otherwise. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can you activate Mind Crush if you have no cards in your hand? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can you activate Mind Crush if you have no cards in your hand?You can't, sadly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spell, Trap, or Monster cards. is this a condition, or an effect? If I were to flip Skill Drain would I lose this line of protection? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 is this a condition, or an effect? If I were to flip Skill Drain would I lose this line of protection? This would be a Continuous Effect. It only applies while it is face-up on the field. Skill Drain will negate it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can I detach 2 Overlay Units from Sacred Beehive during a single attack declaration? As in, attack with it, detach both, and buff itself to 4400? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can I detach 2 Overlay Units from Sacred Beehive during a single attack declaration? As in, attack with it, detach both, and buff itself to 4400? There's no limit to the number of times you can use it, its a Quick Effect, etc. There's no reason why you can't that I can see. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Just wanted to make sure. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 This card's maximum number of attacks is equal to the number of non-tuner monsters used in it's Synchro Summon. What about here? If I flip Skill Drain can I still attack twice? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 What about here? If I flip Skill Drain can I still attack twice? If its effect is negated, it will have 1 attack per turn as normal. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 So both Obelisk and Quasar are effects. Alrighty then, thanks. *removes Skill Drain from side* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 There aren't too many things that are considered conditions in the game: 1: Summoning Conditions - Anything that tells you how a monster can or cannot be Summoned, or how it may/must be summoned. 2: Used as Materials - Anything that mentions how a card may or may not be used as a "Synchro Material Monster", "Fusion Material Monster", or "Xyz Material Monster" (once such an effect is released). Note that it must have the exact phrase of "X Material Monster" in order for it to be a condition. Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor states "cannot be used for a Synchro Summon", but nothing about it as a Material. If Vayu is negated, it may be used for a Synchro Summon on the field. 3: Activation Conditions - Any effects that generally state "If you activate this card/effect, you cannot...". Provided its a card activation, negating the activation will stop the condition from taking place. If its a card activation but only the effect is negated, the condition will still be in effect. That's all I can think of off-hand. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Are ? attack monsters affected by Des Donut, etc? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Ah, so Chaos Sorcerer's inability to attack if it used its effect is a Condition? Good to know. Are ? attack monsters affected by Des Donut, etc? No. The original ATK is ?. It's treated as 0 when involving calculations for original ATK, but it not specifically a value of 0. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Ah, so Chaos Sorcerer's inability to attack if it used its effect is a Condition? Good to know. Correct. If the effect is negated, it still wont be able to attack. If the activation is negated (LaDD), then it may attack, so you could summon Chaos Sorcerer, activate effect with a full LaDD, then attack when you're both at 2300 ATK. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Which, for that matter, reminds me of another question. If LADD negates a Lightsworn's mill effect, it still has to mill again (allegedly). If so, is this because the activation was negated, and therefore it was treated as if it didn't go off in the first place? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Which, for that matter, reminds me of another question. If LADD negates a Lightsworn's mill effect, it still has to mill again (allegedly). If so, is this because the activation was negated, and therefore it was treated as if it didn't go off in the first place? The Trigger of a Phase or part of a phase (Standby Phase, End Phase, End of the Battle Phase) is a period of time. It is not a pinpoint moment as most triggers. Trigger Effects can/must be activated once over the course of the Phase (in no particular order). Since the activation was negated, it is considered to not have had its "once" activation yet and so as long as it is "During the X Phase", the Trigger will become re-triggered. Provided any other conditions are correct as part of its trigger, it may be activated again (or if its mandatory, will be activated again). For Example, a Gladiator Beast Secutor that was Summoned by a Gladiator Beast and had Battled this turn will continue to drain an LaDD to 800/400 as the Trigger and Conditions will continue to be satisfied until the activation is no longer negated and gets its one activation for that phase. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can you activate Trap Dustshoot right after your opponent draws, during their draw phase? Also, what if they have 4 cards in hand, including a MST? Can they drop MST immediately after their draw, preventing Dustshoot's activation? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Can you activate Trap Dustshoot right after your opponent draws, during their draw phase? Also, what if they have 4 cards in hand, including a MST? Can they drop MST immediately after their draw, preventing Dustshoot's activation? Remember that you, as the opponent, does not have priority until the opponent gives it to you. You obtain priority when the Turn Player activates a card effect (in which priority is passed to you) or when the opponent passes priority by not activating an effect. After drawing a card during the Draw Phase, turn player has the right to activate a card effect first in response to "Drawing a card". At this time he may activate MST in his hand before you are allowed to activate Trap Dustshoot. If the Turn Player passes priority and chooses not to activate a card in response to his own draw, then you may activate Trap Dustshoot without worry. Provided you do these things properly, there would never be an issue. Many assume they can immediately play Trap Dustshoot as soon as they draw, which is not correct as they do not have priority. On the other hand, many assume they can force a play after seeing Trap Dustshoot "because they have priority" after the opponent incorrectly activates dustshoot. Generally in these situations on DN, both players are in the wrong, and its a rather annoying issue to deal with over and over again. No one ever talks, no one ever gives up priority or says they aren't activating anything, or even asks for responses, so generally its both player's fault =/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Remember that you, as the opponent, does not have priority until the opponent gives it to you. You obtain priority when the Turn Player activates a card effect (in which priority is passed to you) or when the opponent passes priority by not activating an effect. After drawing a card during the Draw Phase, turn player has the right to activate a card effect first in response to "Drawing a card". At this time he may activate MST in his hand before you are allowed to activate Trap Dustshoot. If the Turn Player passes priority and chooses not to activate a card in response to his own draw, then you may activate Trap Dustshoot without worry.Ok, because that just happened to me and wasn't sure if it works like that. Thanks a lot. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Isn't Mara of the Nordic Alfar a condition too, as ruled by Konami? When this card is used as a Synchro Material monster, the other materials are 2 "Nordic" monsters in your hand. EDIT: Yeah it is nvm. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Yeah, it's a condition, not an effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Ninja edits Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Isn't Mara of the Nordic Alfar a condition too, as ruled by Konami? Yes, as stated in Point 2 of my "What are considered conditions" post, because it says "Synchro Material Monster". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Ninja edits because ninja rereads stuff. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.