Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hm... so I can use Solemn Warning on my only out while my Opponent has Rai-Oh or Roach, chain solemn Judgment, and I'll be able to win... dear god, that's ingenious.

 

If you ever pull that off, I demand screenshots to properly praise your absurd level of epicness. And the fact you just paid 2000 + (LP -2000)/2 to win the game.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is people more dumb now, or you can really send Eclipse Wyvern as the cost for Darkflare Dragon, banish something with Eclipse, and then target the same Eclipse you used as a cost for Darkflare as a target in your graveyard and so recover the monster banished by Eclipse?

 

You can do all that up to the "recover the monster" part. That part, you can't do.

 

The reason is because of timings. Sending Eclipse is a cost, and Eclipse is mandatory. However, it'll activate on a new chain. When you banish it when Darkflare resolves, the second effect will also be Triggered.

 

Except that there is no card to retrieve at this timing, because Eclipse hasn't activated/resolved its "banish a Dragon from Deck" effect. So the secondary effect cannot be activated at all, as there is nothing to retrieve. The dragon from Deck will stll be banished, however.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When you use 40's effect, if it's destroyed after it uses the effect - that wasn't negated - but before it's String Counters self-destruction thing kicks in, do the String Counters still destroy themselves for the burn and destroy?

It does not.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can do all that up to the "recover the monster" part. That part, you can't do.

 

The reason is because of timings. Sending Eclipse is a cost, and Eclipse is mandatory. However, it'll activate on a new chain. When you banish it when Darkflare resolves, the second effect will also be Triggered.

 

Except that there is no card to retrieve at this timing, because Eclipse hasn't activated/resolved its "banish a Dragon from Deck" effect. So the secondary effect cannot be activated at all, as there is nothing to retrieve. The dragon from Deck will stll be banished, however.

 

As I suspected. I still have to explain it to every person playing that combo (more than you think).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Are there other ritual spells with the new wording to compare with the HA6 aquamirror?

It really shouldn't matter.

Aquamirror says it needs levels that equal the ritual's level. That means it needs to equal exactly. No more. No less.

It's just reading.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I activate Xyz Gift with only two Xyz monsters on my side of the field, and my opponent chains a card that removes one from the field, can I still remove materials from the other to draw? I'm pretty sure that in general, conditions only have to be correct at activation, but I'm worried that choosing a monster to remove materials from may be an integral part of the effect, and so I would not be able to do it if I only had one Xyz monster.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I activate Xyz Gift with only two Xyz monsters on my side of the field, and my opponent chains a card that removes one from the field, can I still remove materials from the other to draw? I'm pretty sure that in general, conditions only have to be correct at activation, but I'm worried that choosing a monster to remove materials from may be an integral part of the effect, and so I would not be able to do it if I only had one Xyz monster.

 

Yes, it's only the activation condition to control 2 Xyz. However, if something is chained so that you do not have 2 Xyz Material to detach, it will fizzle. Otherwise, it'll resolve fine.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon can get around Skill Drain, right? I'm assuming by the semi-colon that the targeting part is the cost, and they banish as an effect?

 

Yes, which is why Galaxy-Eyes can NOT get around Skill Drain. It banishes as the effect. It's still on the Field when the effect is being resolved, therefore, Skill Drain negates it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...