Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon vs. Necro Gardna; what happens?

 

Also, Galaxy-Eyes vs. Honest in Damage Step. If I Honest in Damage Step, can they then banish or is it too late?

 

If Necro Gardna is activated either in response to the attack or chaining to Galaxy-Eyes' effect (both are Quick Effects), either way, both monsters are banished until the end of the Battle Phase.

 

Galaxy-Eyes may not use its effect during the Damage Step. The Battle Step is from attack declaration up to the Damage Step (but not within the Damage Step). It would be too late for Galaxy-Eyes to use its effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Necro Gardna is activated either in response to the attack or chaining to Galaxy-Eyes' effect (both are Quick Effects), either way, both monsters are banished until the end of the Battle Phase.

 

Galaxy-Eyes may not use its effect during the Damage Step. The Battle Step is from attack declaration up to the Damage Step (but not within the Damage Step). It would be too late for Galaxy-Eyes to use its effect.

 

In Addition, in the event that Necro Gardna had already resolved prior to Galaxy-Eyes' Attack Declaration, then Necro Gardna will immediately negate the attack if Galaxy-Eyes then chooses to declare an attack, leaving Galaxy-Eyes no opportunity to activate its effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I was wondering about this scenario:

My opponent has an Evolzar Laggia with both Xyz Materials, and I Normal Summon Elemental HERO Neos Alius. My opponent tries to negate the Normal Summon, but I chain with Super Polymerization, to Fusion Summon the two for Elemental HERO Nova Master.

Can I do that?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I was wondering about this scenario:

My opponent has an Evolzar Laggia with both Xyz Materials, and I Normal Summon Elemental HERO Neos Alius. My opponent tries to negate the Normal Summon, but I chain with Super Polymerization, to Fusion Summon the two for Elemental HERO Nova Master.

Can I do that?

 

No. Neos Alius' summon has not successfully resolved by this point (Laggia is in the process of negating it, so naturally the summon can't have resolved) so it is not actually on the field for Super Polymerization to use it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OK, I think I should know this, but I don't.

 

Blackwing - Gram the Shining Star. First sentence of the effect is "Must first be summoned by Synchro Summon". Is that just the normal semi-nomi clause in writing, or does it mean that it can't be summoned with Vayu?

 

Both.

 

It can't be Summoned by Vayu because Vayu isn't a Synchro Summon, but once it's been Synchro Summoned correctly, it can be revived by other effects.

 

It's similar to the Synchro Fusions in that it can only be Summoned from the Extra Deck by Synchro Summon. Methods of Summoning from the Extra Deck that are not Synchro Summons are not allowed, but they can be Summoned by other means afterwards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OK, I think I should know this, but I don't.

Blackwing - Gram the Shining Star. First sentence of the effect is "Must first be summoned by Synchro Summon". Is that just the normal semi-nomi clause in writing, or does it mean that it can't be summoned with Vayu?

 

Means it can't be SS'd by Vayu. It must be synchro summoned from the extra deck. A regular Synchro wouldn't have that clause.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

DaiGUSTOs, are all GUSTOs.

 

My question:

I have Divine Wind of Mist Valley, bounce Mist Valley Thunderbird for anything. Thunderbird activates, Divine Wind chains. If I summon Combo Fighter with DWoMV's effect, does it therefore get to attack twice or does it need to be on the field for all that to resolve?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From the way the text reads, Combo Fighter doesn't need to be on the field at the same time as the resolution of the chain, so yes, it should be able to attack twice.

 

EDIT: UD has something to say:

 

Why does effect veiler stop cardcar D?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Veiler negates the effects of Cardcar D in general, not just if it's face up on the field like Skill Drain or Fiendish Chain (though fiendish is also automatically destroyed, so there's also that.) So Cardcar D cannot activate its effects even if tributed if it was already veilered, just like Rabbit.

 

Also lol at the ruling because it doesn't tell me whether it can appear mid-chain. >8D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Combo Fighter would assumably only have its regular 1 attack, because it didn't witness chain link 2 itself, so as far as it knows a chain never occured.

 

Veiler is activated before Cardcar can tribute itself. Since effects resolve where they activate, Effect Veiler continues to negate Cardcar even when it has tributed itself off, as the effect would try to resolve on the field. It's different from Drain because Drain specifically states the monster itself has to be on the field to be negated, and different from Fiendish Chain because the moment a card Fiendish Chain is affecting leaves the field, that Fiendish Chain stops affecting it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Fiendish Chain only negates while it continues to target that monster. Fiendish Chain can only target faceup Effect Monsters. If the targeted monster is flipped down or leaves the Field, it is no longer valid to be targeted by Fiendish Chain and Chain will lose its influence. So when things like Rabbit, Stardust, or Cardcar activate and leave the Field as a cost, Fiendish Chain's bond to the monster is broken and the activated effect will resolve correctly.

 

Veiler doesn't continue to target the way Fiendish Chain does. It targets once, and when Veiler resolves, all Effects that monster has that involve the Field will be negated when it tries to resolve, even if the monster leaves the Field after being negated. The Effect still activated from the Field and will resolve as activated on the Field, even though the monster itself is no longer on the Field. Skill Drain and D-HERO Plasma only negate effects that resolve while the monster is faceup.

 

As for Combo Fighter, Fighter must be faceup on the Field at the time Chain Link 2 is ACTIVATED. If it appears on the Field while the chain is RESOLVING, it wont apply.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Infernity Zero rulings questions (Tag Force 5 only):

 

- Can you pay LP until you have 0 left if Infernity Zero is on the field? (ex. Can you activate Instant Fusion with exactly 1000 LP left)

- With Infernity Zero out, Solemn Judgment can be activated at 0 LP, paying 0 LP for its effect (I've seen it done in TF5). Why is this allowed? Aren't 0 LP costs not considered actually paying the cost? (ex. you normally can't use Backs to the Wall with exactly 100 LP left, paying 0)

- If Victory Dragon directly attacks the opponent and reduces their LP to 0 while they have Infernity Zero on the field, they will lose the Match without technically having lost the Duel. Paradox?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Infernity Zero rulings questions (Tag Force 5 only):

 

- Can you pay LP until you have 0 left if Infernity Zero is on the field? (ex. Can you activate Instant Fusion with exactly 1000 LP left)

- With Infernity Zero out, Solemn Judgment can be activated at 0 LP, paying 0 LP for its effect (I've seen it done in TF5). Why is this allowed? Aren't 0 LP costs not considered actually paying the cost? (ex. you normally can't use Backs to the Wall with exactly 100 LP left, paying 0)

- If Victory Dragon directly attacks the opponent and reduces their LP to 0 while they have Infernity Zero on the field, they will lose the Match without technically having lost the Duel. Paradox?

 

1) I'd think you can, as the reason you're not allowed to under normal circumstances is that you will lose the Duel, and cannot force yourself to lose by paying all your LP. However, without the restriction of losing the Duel, you can afford the cost.

 

However, I will note that this logic may not apply, as Infernity Zero's effect is still unique.

 

2) I imagine because while you may be paying a total of 0 LP, but you are also legitimately paying 1/2 your LP (Since 0/2 = 0). Backs to the Wall requires you to pay LP until you have a set amount left. If your LP doesn't change because they're exactly 100, you didn't pay anything: You just already had 100 left.

 

This may be a programming oversight, though. Under normal circumstances Solemn Judgment is ALWAYS possible to afford, even if you only have 1 LP (you can halve your LP, it'll just round back up to 1), so they may not have put in a statement to catch that if your LP is 0, you can't use the card because you don't even have a miniscule amount of LP to pay, and if your LP is 0, you'd normally lose the Duel.

 

3) Victory Dragon's effect doesn't say you have to reduce them to 0 and win the Duel in order to win the match. It just says you have to reduce them to 0 via a direct attack. Under normal circumstances, you won the Duel anyway. So technically, Victory Dragon would claim a MATCH Win, even though the opponent didn't lose the DUEL due to Infernity Zero.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Gonna just ignore the spam here.

 

Samurai of the Ice Barrier is changed to Defense and its effect activates, am I allowed to chain Spiritual Water Art - Aoi and get both the draw and the discard?

 

No. Samurai destroys itself and then draws. It must destroy itself to get the draw. Aoi Tributes it as a cost, so if you chained them, Aoi would get the discard, and Samurai's effect would fail to resolve.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based in the current wording of Gagaga Gunman. If I make it attack multiple times (with Tryce or something). Will it have +1000 during the damage step of both battles and -500 to each monster attacked by it? It doesn't say you target an opponent monster when you activate the effect, so I think the ATK modification will apply to any monster it decides to battle this turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based in the current wording of Gagaga Gunman. If I make it attack multiple times (with Tryce or something). Will it have +1000 during the damage step of both battles and -500 to each monster attacked by it? It doesn't say you target an opponent monster when you activate the effect, so I think the ATK modification will apply to any monster it decides to battle this turn.

 

Yes, based on the wording, if it attacks a monster, it will gain 1000 ATK and the opposing monster will lose 500 ATK for that Damage Step. If it attacks multiple times, the effect will apply for each of those battles.

 

It's an Ignition Effect, so it's activated outside the Battle Phase, and it lasts for the turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, two different situations here. I want to know how many counters a face-up Chaos Zone would get if it happened.

 

-Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon banishes itself and an opponent's monster by it's own effect.

-(Hypothetical effect as far as I know) A monster that banishes itself as a cost to banish another monster. (from wherever, doesn't matter. At least I don't think it does.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, two different situations here. I want to know how many counters a face-up Chaos Zone would get if it happened.

 

-Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon banishes itself and an opponent's monster by it's own effect.

-(Hypothetical effect as far as I know) A monster that banishes itself as a cost to banish another monster. (from wherever, doesn't matter. At least I don't think it does.)

 

1- Chaos Zone specifically says it gets 1 counter for each banished monster. By Galaxy-Eyes' effect, 2 monsters are banished, so it gets 2 counters.

 

2- It doesn't matter where the monster is banished from, or where it came from. Being banished as a cost or an effect is also irrelevent. Chaos Zone will get 2 counters, 1 for each monster. It's a Continuous Effect, so you will banish as a cost (+1 counter) and then the chain resolves, banishing the other monster (+1 counter).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...