darkwolf777 Posted July 15, 2012 Report Share Posted July 15, 2012 Will Vylon Ohm still add an Equip Spell Card to your hand if it's not face-up at your next Standby Phase? Yes, you still add the Equip Card to your hand. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 Rescue Rabbit can bypass Fiendish Chain, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 Rescue Rabbit can bypass Fiendish Chain, right? Fiendish Chain can only negate what it is targeting on the field. If the monster is removed from the field before the effect resolves, then it will not be negated. Rescue Rabbit will resolve successfully. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 So... here comes my stupid but somehow passible- in my mind- idea about Evoltile Casinerio. So you know how when you're entering your Battle Phase, and the opponent activates a card at the 'End of the Main Phase', you have the option of staying in the Main Phase? Why doesn't the same apply for when Casinerio's effect activates at the 'End of the Battle Phase" allowing me to attack with the Monsters I just summoned? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 So... here comes my stupid but somehow passible- in my mind- idea about Evoltile Casinerio. So you know how when you're entering your Battle Phase, and the opponent activates a card at the 'End of the Main Phase', you have the option of staying in the Main Phase? Why doesn't the same apply for when Casinerio's effect activates at the 'End of the Battle Phase" allowing me to attack with the Monsters I just summoned? Because then Gladiator Beasts would be basically just an OTK deck? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 Because then Gladiator Beasts would be basically just an OTK deck?Yeah, good point. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 So... here comes my stupid but somehow passible- in my mind- idea about Evoltile Casinerio. So you know how when you're entering your Battle Phase, and the opponent activates a card at the 'End of the Main Phase', you have the option of staying in the Main Phase? Why doesn't the same apply for when Casinerio's effect activates at the 'End of the Battle Phase" allowing me to attack with the Monsters I just summoned? The timing of "End of the Battle Phase" is its own Step. It is the End Step. You cannot go back to the Battle Step from the End Step. Therefore, after the Battle Step (assuming both players pass), the game continues into the End Step of the Battle Phase. There is no such thing as the "End of the Main Phase". There is no such step. After both players pass on the Main Phase, it goes into the Battle Phase (or End Phase). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted July 16, 2012 Report Share Posted July 16, 2012 So... here comes my stupid but somehow passible- in my mind- idea about Evoltile Casinerio. So you know how when you're entering your Battle Phase, and the opponent activates a card at the 'End of the Main Phase', you have the option of staying in the Main Phase? Why doesn't the same apply for when Casinerio's effect activates at the 'End of the Battle Phase" allowing me to attack with the Monsters I just summoned? The technical reason is the following: In order for a Main Phase to end, priority must be passed by other players while nothing is activated. To try to advance to the next Phase, you must pass priority to the opponent. If they use something at this "end of Main Phase" timing, then they have not just "passed" priority. As such, since priority wasn't passed twice in a row with nothing activated, you must continue your Main Phase (even if just to pass priority again). The Battle Phase, however, has a designated "Start Step" and "End Step", with an uncertain number of Battle Steps and Damage Steps in between. Effects that happen at the end of the Battle Phase happen during the "End of Battle" Step. By that point, it's too late to go back and attack with any new monsters. EDIT: Ninja'd. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingdom Xathers Posted July 17, 2012 Report Share Posted July 17, 2012 ... I know that this card hasn't been re-printed with the updated Card Grammar, so I can't tell for sure, but: Could it's current wording be taken to mean that you can also add "Super Polymerization" from your Deck? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted July 17, 2012 Report Share Posted July 17, 2012 Fusion Sage is old. It only adds Polymerization. It needs a reprint badly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazooie Posted July 17, 2012 Report Share Posted July 17, 2012 No. Fusion Sage and King of the Swamp can only add the card named "Polymerization" to your hand. They cannot search for Super Polymerizaton or any other card with Polymerization in its name. And Miror is right. It really needs a reprint. x-x Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garthfunkle Vii Backwards Posted July 17, 2012 Report Share Posted July 17, 2012 And Miror is right. It really needs a reprint. x-x are you going to reprint it ? lolz i kinda see why he ask a question like that Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted July 17, 2012 Report Share Posted July 17, 2012 i kinda see why he ask a question like thatHence why I said it needs a reprint .-. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 If a Spellcaster boosted by Spellbook of Power destroys Thunder King Rai-Oh by battle, can I search for a Spellbook or not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 If a Spellcaster boosted by Spellbook of Power destroys Thunder King Rai-Oh by battle, can I search for a Spellbook or not?King is not on the field, so his effect can't apply. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 If a Spellcaster boosted by Spellbook of Power destroys Thunder King Rai-Oh by battle, can I search for a Spellbook or not? A monster's Continuous Effects are no longer applied after they've been destroyed by battle (before they've been sent to the Graveyard by battle). For example, if you attacked and destroyed a Defense Position Destiny Hero - Plasma with D.D. Warrior Lady, you can activate D.D. Warrior Lady to banish both herself and Plasma without worry of her being negated by Plasma (even though he's still face-up on the field, his Continuous Effect to negate effects no longer apply as it is destroyed by battle). Raioh's effect will no longer apply and you can add a card without any problems. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 A monster's Continuous Effects are no longer applied after they've been destroyed by battle (before they've been sent to the Graveyard by battle). For example, if you attacked and destroyed a Defense Position Destiny Hero - Plasma with D.D. Warrior Lady, you can activate D.D. Warrior Lady to banish both herself and Plasma without worry of her being negated by Plasma (even though he's still face-up on the field, his Continuous Effect to negate effects no longer apply as it is destroyed by battle). Raioh's effect will no longer apply and you can add a card without any problems.Same situation, destroyed monster is instead Wattfox. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 Same situation, destroyed monster is instead Wattfox. I'm not sure what you mean by that o.x Wattfox doesn't have a Continuous Effect. Also, D.D Warrior Lady activates immediately after Damage Caclulation (in Damage Step #5), before Wattfox's timing to activate (which is at the End of the Damage Step after it has been removed from the field by battle). Therefore, in this situation, D.D. Warrior Lady can destroy Wattfox by battle, activate and Banish both herself and Wattfox. Wattfox will then activate from the Banished at the End of the Damage Step. In another situation, if you have Final Attack Orders on the field, and you attack your opponent's face-down Ryko, which is then flipped up into Attack Position, and then during the Damage Step, the opponent plays Honest to increase Ryko's Attack so that it can destroy Wattfox by Battle, Ryko's Flip Effect will activate first (as Flip Effects activate in Step 6 of the Damage Step, while again Wattfox activates at the End of the Damage Step after it has been sent to the Graveyard by Battle), so Ryko's effect can't be prevented here by Wattfox either as Wattfox hasn't activated and resolved yet. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 I'm not sure what you mean by that o.x Wattfox doesn't have a Continuous Effect. Also, D.D Warrior Lady activates immediately after Damage Caclulation (in Damage Step #5), before Wattfox's timing to activate (which is at the End of the Damage Step after it has been removed from the field by battle). Therefore, in this situation, D.D. Warrior Lady can destroy Wattfox by battle, activate and Banish both herself and Wattfox. Wattfox will then activate from the Banished at the End of the Damage Step. In another situation, if you have Final Attack Orders on the field, and you attack your opponent's face-down Ryko, which is then flipped up into Attack Position, and then during the Damage Step, the opponent plays Honest to increase Ryko's Attack so that it can destroy Wattfox by Battle, Ryko's Flip Effect will activate first (as Flip Effects activate in Step 6 of the Damage Step, while again Wattfox activates at the End of the Damage Step after it has been sent to the Graveyard by Battle), so Ryko's effect can't be prevented here by Wattfox either as Wattfox hasn't activated and resolved yet....okay, let me reword it. If a magical with Spellbook of Power attacks over Wattfox, does Power give the search? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 Okay, so I was told this ruling last night at locals and I'm wondering whether or not it's legit: I "Book of Moon" a Zenmaines, then proceed to attack that Zenmaines with "Summoned Skull". Is it true that Zenmaines has missed the opportunity to detach because it instantly becomes Damage Calculation once it's flipped? Same thing with Maestroke? Because I was told this is how it works. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 Okay, so I was told this ruling last night at locals and I'm wondering whether or not it's legit: I "Book of Moon" a Zenmaines, then proceed to attack that Zenmaines with "Summoned Skull". Is it true that Zenmaines has missed the opportunity to detach because it instantly becomes Damage Calculation once it's flipped? Same thing with Maestroke? Because I was told this is how it works.It's false. Zenmaines (and Maestroke/Gachi) is flipped during damage calculation, which is the time period where the monsters haven't even entered combat, so all of its effects become apparent before the battle even begins. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 It's false. Zenmaines (and Maestroke/Gachi) is flipped during damage calculation, which is the time period where the monsters haven't even entered combat, so all of its effects become apparent before the battle even begins. Hm...wow, that's strange. I mean, it won me a game, so I can't complain, but everyone seemed pretty convinced that was the case. ._.; Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 ...okay, let me reword it. If a magical with Spellbook of Power attacks over Wattfox, does Power give the search? Yes. Power will activate and search after Damage Calculation. Wattfox doesn't activate (thereby starting a chain) until the End of the Damage Step after it has been sent to the Graveyard by battle. If for some reason Power activates at the End of the Damage Step, then it would chain to Wattfox, and since Wattfox only prevents activations, it wouldn't stop its effect as it already activated (not only that, but since Spellbook of Power is optional, it would always be Chain Link #2, so i see no possible way for Wattfox to stop it.) Okay, so I was told this ruling last night at locals and I'm wondering whether or not it's legit: I "Book of Moon" a Zenmaines, then proceed to attack that Zenmaines with "Summoned Skull". Is it true that Zenmaines has missed the opportunity to detach because it instantly becomes Damage Calculation once it's flipped? Same thing with Maestroke? Because I was told this is how it works. No, it does not immediately become Damage Calculation. Zenmaines is flipped face-up at Step 2 of the Damage Step. Damage Calculation is Step 4. Zenmaines and Maestroke will be able to detach. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 Hm...wow, that's strange. I mean, it won me a game, so I can't complain, but everyone seemed pretty convinced that was the case. ._.; That's honestly one of the dumbest ruling errors I've ever heard. It's like saying Marshmallon dies by battle after being attacked while set. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted July 19, 2012 Report Share Posted July 19, 2012 That's honestly one of the dumbest ruling errors I've ever heard. It's like saying Marshmallon dies by battle after being attacked while set. I wasn't even the one who originally said it. But everyone was like "FLIP IT DOWN and ATTACK" because we were the last match, so we had like 15 people around us, and like multiple people agreed on the ruling so we were like okay. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.