Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Does Digvorzhak's effect fall under the "unsure if it will destroy a card" clause for Stardust Dragon? Also, does Shooting Star Dragon have a similar ruling? They are worded differently, and there's no mention, so I'm unsure.

 

The only thing that happens at the activation of the card is removing a material. Since the number of cards that could be destroyed during the resolution of the card is between 0 and 3 depending on the number obtained during the resolution of the card, at activation, there is no guarantee that it will destroy 0, 1, 2, or 3 cards. Stardust Dragon cannot negate Digvorzhak's effect.

 

Shooting Star Dragon's negation works the same way as Stardust Dragon. If an effect WOULD destroy a card. At activation, you don't know if Digvorzhak would destroy a card because it could reveal 0 monsters, so it is not definite.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The only thing that happens at the activation of the card is removing a material. Since the number of cards that could be destroyed during the resolution of the card is between 0 and 3 depending on the number obtained during the resolution of the card, at activation, there is no guarantee that it will destroy 0, 1, 2, or 3 cards. Stardust Dragon cannot negate Digvorzhak's effect.

 

Shooting Star Dragon's negation works the same way as Stardust Dragon. If an effect WOULD destroy a card. At activation, you don't know if Digvorzhak would destroy a card because it could reveal 0 monsters, so it is not definite.

Alright, thanks, I now know my Rank 5 deck isn't useless against Shooting Star Dragon =P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This one's tricky:

 

Mermail Activates effect when Summoned; Discards armsman as cost to activate effect.

 

Opponent chains Chalice.

 

Does armsman resolve?

 

Quite simple actually. Chalice only negates the effect of a monster, not the activation. Therefore Armsman still resolves since it only needs to be discarded to activate a Water monster's effect. Whether or not the monster's effect is negated or not does not stop Armsman.

 

Long story short - Armsman pops, Mermail doesn't get effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quite simple actually. Chalice only negates the effect of a monster, not the activation. Therefore Armsman still resolves since it only needs to be discarded to activate a Water monster's effect. Whether or not the monster's effect is negated or not does not stop Armsman.

 

Long story short - Armsman pops, Mermail doesn't get effect.

I think he was asking if Armsman misses the timing, which it doesn't. Ever.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

i figured this would be the best place to post this

 

okay, so since Tsukuyomi was recently unbanned, i decided to put it back in my main deck (it being one of my favorite cards before i adjusted to tournament standards; he works well with my stalling strategies so that i can use Man-eater Bug and the like over and over). while looking up rulings about it to be sure of how to use it again, i came across the interesting ruling that Tsukuyomi's effect (to flip a single monster face-down, for those who don't know) can be used on itself

 

i just wanted to ask some people better-versed in rulings than i am about this: can this be done as many times as one wants, or only once per turn?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i figured this would be the best place to post this

 

okay, so since Tsukuyomi was recently unbanned, i decided to put it back in my main deck (it being one of my favorite cards before i adjusted to tournament standards; he works well with my stalling strategies so that i can use Man-eater Bug and the like over and over). while looking up rulings about it to be sure of how to use it again, i came across the interesting ruling that Tsukuyomi's effect (to flip a single monster face-down, for those who don't know) can be used on itself

 

i just wanted to ask some people better-versed in rulings than i am about this: can this be done as many times as one wants, or only once per turn?

 

Tsukuyomi's effect activates when it's normal summoned or flipped face up, so each time you normal summon or flip face up a Tsukuyomi, its effect will activate (writing that felt a little dumb...)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, if they do it to Diva specifically, it'll give you the monster, but don't be a rule shark and say "you activated it too early" or something if they clearly intended to respond to the monster from the Deck.

 

Actually I say:

 

"Normal Diva, resp?"

 

They activate Torrental.

 

"Okay, resolution, Summon X monster"

 

"WTF?!"

 

"Well you activated to the Normal Summon."

 

And then I troll. But I always give them the window of opportunity to learn from their mistakes...if I feel generous.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That was pretty much it. And by assumption, the remainder of the Atlanteans should also follow suit.

Easy way to remember it: If a card is needs to activate at a point where that thing couldn't possibly be the last thing to occur (Atlanteans and being sent for a cost, Hieratics and most cases of being tributed); then there is no chance of it missing the timing.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Easy way to remember it: If a card is needs to activate at a point where that thing couldn't possibly be the last thing to occur (Atlanteans and being sent for a cost, Hieratics and most cases of being tributed); then there is no chance of it missing the timing.

 

Just tell him the truth agro.

 

Only when a trigger says "When... you can" will it ever miss the timing. Armsman is simply a "When". Its mandatory and can never miss the timing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And you can't flip it face-up after you've flipped it face-down without another effect, seeing as I don't know where you're going with this.

basically, i was just wondering if you can Flip Summon Tsukuyomi and then use its effect to flip it face-down and, consequently, if that can be done over and over again; it could be used in conjunction with effects that activate when a monster is Normal Summoned or Flip Summoned to repeat the effect as many times as one wants

 

i just wanted to know if i could use Tsukuyomi to flip itself down and then Flip Summon it as many times as i wanted or not before i tried to put that into effect

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Geargiarmor flips itself face-down then is flipped face-up by Nishipachi, can Geargiarmor flip itself face-down again?

 

Of course. What's stopping you from activating a monster's Igintion Effect a second time if it was set and flipped face-up?

 

Unless it specifically refers to itself in its own effect (such as "You can only activate this effect once per turn" or "You can only activate the effect of <Monster Name> once per turn"), the "Once per turn" at the beginning of an effect applies only as long as the monster is face-up on the field. If its face-down or removed from the field and later returned to a face-up position on the field, you can use the effect again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...