-Berserker- Posted October 1, 2011 Report Share Posted October 1, 2011 Spiral Spear Strike.If I have 3 out and inflict piercing damage with Dragon Champion, do I get to draw 6?The card says "inflicts damage with this effect", not "inflicts damage with the effect of Spiral Spear Strike". And as piercing doesn't stack, I suppose it is always considered to have inflicted damage by the effect of only one of the SSS, and not the 3, activating the draw effect of only one. Am I right or totally wrong? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 1, 2011 Report Share Posted October 1, 2011 I wondered the same thing and looked it up. I didn't find anything to suggest that the draw effect DOESNT stack, and you still draw even if you have another Piercing card (like Fairy Meteor Crush) attached, so I think all 3 would activate simultaneously in a chain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted October 1, 2011 Report Share Posted October 1, 2011 Time to use WC11!EDIT: In WC11, they form a chain and both resolve without problem... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 When Clear Vice Dragon attacks, does its' ATK-gaining effect begin a chain? Also, does Clear Vice get under Honest? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 When Clear Vice Dragon attacks, does its' ATK-gaining effect begin a chain? Also, does Clear Vice get under Honest? No, it does not. It is a Continuous Effect. All of the effects, including the "discard 1 card instead" are Continuous and do not start a chain. Yes, it does. Clear Vice will become twice the boosted ATK of the affected monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 No, it does not. It is a Continuous Effect. All of the effects, including the "discard 1 card instead" are Continuous and do not start a chain. Yes, it does. Clear Vice will become twice the boosted ATK of the affected monster.Awesome, great to know. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daboss144 Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 if the draw phase is skipped, does the standby phase still happen immediately after the opponents end phase? I'm thinking about reckless greed and treeborn. I don't see why it would be skipped, but at the same time, officially it is only the phase directly after the draw occurs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 Standby Phase still happens, even if the Draw Phase is skipped. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 The Standby Phase is the step between the Draw Phase and the Main Phase 1. If the Draw Phase is skipped, you proceed immediately to the Standby Phase, and then to the Main Phase. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 Can Trap Monsters be used as Xyz Materials? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 Can Trap Monsters be used as Xyz Materials?Yes Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 Only Tokens and monsters without Levels cannot be used for an Xyz. Think of it as Xyz Materials must be actual, physical cards (Token cards dont count) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 If I wanted to make an Xyz that absorbed the effects of its materials, how would I phrase it? I don't want it to absorb the effects of Trap Monsters. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 If I wanted to make an Xyz that absorbed the effects of its materials, how would I phrase it? I don't want it to absorb the effects of Trap Monsters. As in it gains the effects while they're attached? "While this card is face-up on the Field, it gains the Effect(s) of its Xyz Materials". But considering it's an Xyz, I'd probably write it as: "Detach 1 Xyz Material; Until the End Phase (or similar), this card gains the Effect(s) of the detached Xyz Material". Effect copying is a very tricky business. Phantom of Chaos is the best example of being able to copy effects, and Majestic Star is an example of Effect Copying that almost never works the way you want it to. But those two examples can only copy 1 Effect at a time, and an Xyz would theoretically be able to copy 2 or more. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 Only Tokens and monsters without Levels cannot be used for an Xyz. Think of it as Xyz Materials must be actual, physical cards (Token cards dont count) Cards that exist in your deck and have levels can be used for Xyz. On a slightly different note, why does Sangan work when destroyed face-down and Tengu doesn't? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CDDRodrigo Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 Cards that exist in your deck and have levels can be used for Xyz. On a slightly different note, why does Sangan work when destroyed face-down and Tengu doesn't? That's probably a particular ruling AKA BKSS. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 4, 2011 Report Share Posted October 4, 2011 It is just a particular ruling for Tengu. I suppose it could have to do with how Tengu will activate when bounced to the hand, but Fortune Lady Light can activate in that fashion, too, and just has to be revealed. Most likely Tengu was supposed to say "face-up card", but was forgotten. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 Most likely Tengu was supposed to say "face-up card", but was forgotten. No, Tengu is written properly. In the OCG, Fortune Lady Light must be face-up when removed from the field by a card effect in order to activate. The TCG has ruled it improperly that her effect activates if she's face-down. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 Oh. I see, never knew that. Annoying contradictory TCG rulings... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 So, Tengu doesn't work, Sangan does?Still no idea why. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 So, Tengu doesn't work, Sangan does?Still no idea why.It's the "removed from field" part. Because of that, the effect happens if it returns to the hand as well, but wouldn't if it was face-down due to the game not knowing what it was. So because of this they just ruled it doesn't work if face-down. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 It's the "removed from field" part. Because of that, the effect happens if it returns to the hand as well, but wouldn't if it was face-down due to the game not knowing what it was. So because of this they just ruled it doesn't work if face-down. AHAThe hand screws up rulings once again...Stupid Trishula on resolution... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Rai Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 So, Tengu doesn't work, Sangan does?Still no idea why. I believe it's because Tengu triggers as soon as it leaves the field, so it doesn't yet flip face-up. Or something like that. Sangan activates in the Graveyard specifically and therefore it is neither face-up or face-down, just in the Graveyard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 AHAThe hand screws up rulings once again...Stupid Trishula on resolution...Don't forget Green Baboon and Wing Tortoise. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 5, 2011 Report Share Posted October 5, 2011 This has bugged me for a bit: When you draw cards while one of the Virus cards are in effect, can you use them? Example: Eradicator Epidemic Virus is destroying Spells. You draw MST. Can you activate MST before the Virus destroys it, or do you not have any opportunity to activate cards during this time? Similarly, Deck Devastation Virus/Crush Card Virus and you draw a Quick Effect monster that falls prey to the Virus. The only ruling I found is Exodia's Win Condition will occur even if you drew the last limb under the effect of the Virus. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.