Wildflame Posted July 21, 2012 Report Share Posted July 21, 2012 Yup, draw, both flips are simultaneous. Happened to me yesterday using Simochi Burn (probably my first draw ever that didn't imply Self-Destruct Button). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antist0opid Posted July 21, 2012 Report Share Posted July 21, 2012 Yup, draw, both flips are simultaneous. Happened to me yesterday using Simochi Burn (probably my first draw ever that didn't imply Self-Destruct Button). Haha yeah I was wondering because I'm building a Simochi Burn deck Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 22, 2012 Report Share Posted July 22, 2012 Even if it wasn't simultaneous by its effect, Win Conditions are not checked while cards are resolving. Even if damage hit one player, and then hit the other player, after the card would resolve, the game would end in a draw. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted July 22, 2012 Report Share Posted July 22, 2012 Now that Dawn of the Herald has been reprinted, the text still says the level of the tributes must match exactly. The Gishki spells don't say "exactly", so considering both use the modern grammar, one can assume the tributes in gishki don't need to be the exact level. People still tell me otherwise. Can someone explain me the difference? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 22, 2012 Report Share Posted July 22, 2012 Now that Dawn of the Herald has been reprinted, the text still says the level of the tributes must match exactly. The Gishki spells don't say "exactly", so considering both use the modern grammar, one can assume the tributes in gishki don't need to be the exact level. People still tell me otherwise. Can someone explain me the difference?Aquamirror doesn't say it can be more or less, it just says it has to be the level of the monster you're trying to summon. It's the same thing, one card just uses "exactly". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 If a monster equipped with Armory Arm destroys my last monster, then Armory Arm inflict Damage, can I drop Gorz in response to the effect damage being inflicted? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This Account is Unplayable Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 If a monster equipped with Armory Arm destroys my last monster, then Armory Arm inflict Damage, can I drop Gorz in response to the effect damage being inflicted? Yes, since Armory Arm activates when your monster is in the graveyard, at this point your field is empty. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Citrine Serpent Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 I'm playing Atlantean-Mermail as my main deck right now, and it's a lot of fun, but I've never been great at following precise activation chains. I want to make sure nothing misses the timing and know what chains to what if anything. Here's a complex example involving all varieties of cards: Field:Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier Hand:Atlantean ArmsmanAtlantean SeahorsemenMermail Abyssgunde Grave:Mermail Abysspike 1 I activate gungnir's effect by discarding armsman and abyssgunde to target 2 cards for destruction2 Armsman targets a face up to destroy and abyssgunde targets and successfully summons abysspike3 I discard seahorsemen to activate abysspike's effect to target deep sea diva, for seahorsemen I target another armsman Do the effects create a chain, with abyssgunde summoning abysspike adding a new link partway through the chain, and gungnir resolving last? Or must abysspike wait for all other effects and potentially miss the timing? Wikia lists abysspike as a when...can effect, with potential for missed timingManjoume Thunder lists abyssgunde as if...can, which iirc can't miss timing, and also lists abysspike as mandatory (or at least excludes "can") Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 I'm playing Atlantean-Mermail as my main deck right now, and it's a lot of fun, but I've never been great at following precise activation chains. I want to make sure nothing misses the timing and know what chains to what if anything. Here's a complex example involving all varieties of cards: Field:Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier Hand:Atlantean ArmsmanAtlantean SeahorsemenMermail Abyssgunde Grave:Mermail Abysspike 1 I activate gungnir's effect by discarding armsman and abyssgunde to target 2 cards for destruction2 Armsman targets a face up to destroy and abyssgunde targets and successfully summons abysspike3 I discard seahorsemen to activate abysspike's effect to target deep sea diva, for seahorsemen I target another armsman Do the effects create a chain, with abyssgunde summoning abysspike adding a new link partway through the chain, and gungnir resolving last? Or must abysspike wait for all other effects and potentially miss the timing? Wikia lists abysspike as a when...can effectManjoume Thunder lists abyssgunde as if...can, which iirc can't miss timing, and also lists abysspike as mandatory (or at least excludes "can")All of the Atlanteans that activate when sent to the Graveyard for a WATER monsters effect activate in a new chain than the effects that caused them to be discarded. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fecka Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 Hy guys! Please help me! If my opponent has a 'level limit area b' on the field (active) and i summon a 'shooting quasar dragon' , can I negate the effect of 'level limit' with quasar's effect or not? Thanks for help! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 Hy guys! Please help me! If my opponent has a 'level limit area b' on the field (active) and i summon a 'shooting quasar dragon' , can I negate the effect of 'level limit' with quasar's effect or not? Thanks for help!Level Limit Area B is a continuous effect. Quasar negates effects that ACTIVATE. If a card is already on the field, then Quasar can't negate it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 There are many Continuous Cards that do start chains, so you can't say "If a card is already on the field, then Quasar can't negate it." Cards like "The World Tree", "Gateway of the Six", "Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen", and others do start chains when activating their effects and therefore could be negated by Quasar. As for Level Limit Area B, you are correct that the effect itself is Continuous and does not start a chain, and therefore cannot be negated by Shooting Quasar Dragon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 My bad for being too overgeneral. Didn't realize that Quasar could negate any Card OR effect. Wait, so that means that Quasar can negate Hornet's effect? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 23, 2012 Report Share Posted July 23, 2012 My bad for being too overgeneral. Didn't realize that Quasar could negate any Card OR effect. Wait, so that means that Quasar can negate Hornet's effect? Yes it can. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Hey guys, I have a question that pertains to a created card that you might be able to help me with: If you were to add, say, "Chimeratech" to the beginning of a monster's name, would that be enough to call it a "Chimeratech" monster? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
-Berserker- Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 I control Bazoo the Soul-Eater, The World with the lock effect and keep using them to loop 2 D.D. Scout Planes from my field, graveyard, banish zone. field. As the End Phase of my opponent never comes (because they don't get a turn), would Bazoo's ATK just keep going up each time I use the effect? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Hey guys, I have a question that pertains to a created card that you might be able to help me with: If you were to add, say, "Chimeratech" to the beginning of a monster's name, would that be enough to call it a "Chimeratech" monster? The word "Chimeratech" can be anywhere within a monster's name for it to be a "Chimeratech" monster. I control Bazoo the Soul-Eater, The World with the lock effect and keep using them to loop 2 D.D. Scout Planes from my field, graveyard, banish zone. field. As the End Phase of my opponent never comes (because they don't get a turn), would Bazoo's ATK just keep going up each time I use the effect? In WC11, the ATK gained by Bazoo still reset even though the entire turn is skipped due to "The World's" effect. Whether or not this is correct, I do not know. When an entire turn is skipped, this includes the End Phase being skipped, so you would think it wouldn't reset. Based on that, I would say it keeps the ATK, but whether it does or not, I am not sure otherwise. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Well, my own logic is that you DO get an End Phase, because without an End Phase your own turn would never end and act as a brand new turn, thus not allowing you to draw or reset World's effect. I can't tell you if that's true or not, though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 The word "Chimeratech" can be anywhere within a monster's name for it to be a "Chimeratech" monster. I understand that part, but if that word is added by a card effect, does it automatically become a "Chimeratech" monster without having to state that, even if it was never associated with the Chimeratechs to begin with? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 I understand that part, but if that word is added by a card effect, does it automatically become a "Chimeratech" monster without having to state that, even if it was never associated with the Chimeratechs to begin with?Yes. It doesn't matter if its name is changed, it's treated as if that's what it is. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Yes. It doesn't matter if its name is changed, it's treated as if that's what it is. Very well. Thanks you two. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Well, my own logic is that you DO get an End Phase, because without an End Phase your own turn would never end and act as a brand new turn, thus not allowing you to draw or reset World's effect. I can't tell you if that's true or not, though.Your own End Phase signifies the ending of your turn, then due to the World's effect you skip your opponent's turn and enter your own Draw Phase, where you draw a card. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 Well, my own logic is that you DO get an End Phase, because without an End Phase your own turn would never end and act as a brand new turn, thus not allowing you to draw or reset World's effect. I can't tell you if that's true or not, though. The world says to skip the entire turn. The opponent does not get any phases. The turn goes from your End Phase straight into your Draw Phase. In WC11, the game still counts it as a turn in the turn count, but again, they do not carry out any of their phases, including the End Phase. I understand that part, but if that word is added by a card effect, does it automatically become a "Chimeratech" monster without having to state that, even if it was never associated with the Chimeratechs to begin with? That doesn't make any sense. As long as it has Chimeratech in its card name, it is a "Chimeratech" monster, that's all. If you look at the errata for "Chimera, The Flying Mythical Beast", you could also put in "This card is always treated as a "Chimeratech" monster" and it will do the same thing, but if you're making the card itself, you may as well just put "Chimeratech" in its card name. For it to be a Chimeratech monster, it needs to be in its name or have that special effect that "Chimera, The Flying Mythical Beast" had (but this is mainly due to them not wanting to errata the card's name and change it to "Winged Phantom Beast Chimera". The effect alone does not make a monster a "X" monster. The name only does in all cases (except for Chimera's errata'd exception due to its original Japanese name). This is why Geargianto Cross is not a "Geargia" monster, because it doesn't have "Geargia" in its name. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 The world says to skip the entire turn. The opponent does not get any phases. The turn goes from your End Phase straight into your Draw Phase. In WC11, the game still counts it as a turn in the turn count, but again, they do not carry out any of their phases, including the End Phase.Well, what I was saying was right, but the wrong context. I had forgotten that Bazoo's effect works on the -opponent's- End Phase, not your own. Sorry for the hiccup. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted July 24, 2012 Report Share Posted July 24, 2012 That doesn't make any sense. As long as it has Chimeratech in its card name, it is a "Chimeratech" monster, that's all. If you look at the errata for "Chimera, The Flying Mythical Beast", you could also put in "This card is always treated as a "Chimeratech" monster" and it will do the same thing, but if you're making the card itself, you may as well just put "Chimeratech" in its card name.I think he means if a card effect were to change the name of the monster, or add the name to it's name. Which is still a yes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.