evilfusion Posted August 1, 2012 Report Share Posted August 1, 2012 If a monster has a summon effect, how can I tell if that effect is an inherent Summon condition or not? You can usually tell just from the wording. Cyber Dragon (inherent Summon): "If your opponent controls a monster and you control no monsters, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand)" Chaos Sorcerer (inherent Summon): "Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard" Genex Ally Birdman (Ignition Effect): "You can return 1 faceup to your hand to Special Summon this card from your hand, and if it was a WIND monster, this card gains 500 ATK" Tragoedia (Trigger Effect): "When you take Battle Damage: You can Special Summon this card from your hand" Dark Simorgh (Ignition Effect): "You can banish 1 WIND and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard; Special Summon this card from your hand" --- In summary, an inherent Special Summon will simply state the method you may use to Special Summon it, and/or the condition you must fulfill in order to be allowed to do so. With the new Problem-Solving Card text, you can now see that Dark Simorgh, despite being extremely similar to inherent Summons, is actually an Ignition Effect, whereas Chaos Sorcerer is an inherent Summon. Birdman is another weird one, but you can tell because the wording states that you return as a cost to Special Summon, but also apply another effect (+500) if you returned a specific Attribute. With the new text, if it has a colon or semi-colon associated with the Special Summon, it starts a chain and therefore is NOT inherent. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 1, 2012 Report Share Posted August 1, 2012 If a monster has a summon effect, how can I tell if that effect is an inherent Summon condition or not? If we're going by the Problem Solving Card Text, effects will always use ; and : in them, showing that they are activated effects. Summon Conditions wont have any of that and will simply state what you need to do (and many times from where in parenthesis such as (from the hand). Meklord Emperor Wisel uses (from the hand) even though its a Trigger Effect, so its best to simply know that if its an effect that activates, it will use a ; or : or both. Without a ; or :, it would be safe to assume its inherent) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 I need a detailed explaination of the following scenario for a newbie.He has 2 EHero The Shining.He activates Super Polymerization fusing for Escuridao from his hand.I respond to the summon with Book of Moon and Torrential Tribute immediately after. It is my understanding that Torrential resolves first, killing all monsters, then Shining tries to activate, but can't because Book of Moon is resolving. In this case, my opponent would not be able to use The Shining, correct? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 I need a detailed explaination of the following scenario for a newbie.He has 2 EHero The Shining.He activates Super Polymerization fusing for Escuridao from his hand.I respond to the summon with Book of Moon and Torrential Tribute immediately after. It is my understanding that Torrential resolves first, killing all monsters, then Shining tries to activate, but can't because Book of Moon is resolving. In this case, my opponent would not be able to use The Shining, correct? That is correct. The Shining's effect to add 2 banished Elemental HERO monsters to your hand is a "When...you can" Optional Trigger Effect. Optional Trigger Effects only work if the last thing to happen in the game was their written trigger. When Torrential Tribute resolves, the activation window for The Shining opens, and when Book of Moon resolves, it closes that activation window. Until the Chain resolves, The Shining cannot even try to activate its effect. Therefore, The Shining is never given an opportunity to activate its effect. In this case, Book of Moon wouldn't do anything as the target is gone, but its resolution still closes the window. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 In this case, Book of Moon wouldn't do anything as the target is gone, but its resolution still closes the window.That is precisely why I did it.And people say you don't need skill to play this game... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 I guess you can use Torrential because the last thing to technically happen is the successful Summon of a monster, and not the activation of Book of Moon? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
werewolfjedi Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 okay then, I got one. I have temperence of prophecy, I activate and tribute as cost, as per effect, my opponent says he can drop the effect of veiler on it to stop it. I am turn player, there is no active chain before I plat the effect of temperence.can they negate the effect, sicne the monster as a cost, as gone to the graveyard, before my opponent has had a chance to respond.Halberdier the admin says it can, and I don't see that being right. in addition, temperence summon was not the last action. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 okay then, I got one. I have temperence of prophecy, I activate and tribute as cost, as per effect, my opponent says he can drop the effect of veiler on it to stop it. I am turn player, there is no active chain before I plat the effect of temperence.can they negate the effect, sicne the monster as a cost, as gone to the graveyard, before my opponent has had a chance to respond.Halberdier the admin says it can, and I don't see that being right. in addition, temperence summon was not the last action. That doesn't really tell me too much as to whether you guys were being clear on your confirmations, or what you mean by "before I plat the effect" but... He can activate the effect of Veiler in response to the last action performed, regardless of what it was. You can only activate Temperance once both player's pass priority on the previous response window, taking the game into a General Priority where you can begin activating Ignition effects or Normal/Flip/Inherent Special Summons. If he's trying to chain Veiler to Temperance's activation, then obviously he can't at that time as Temperance would have already been tributed as the cost, but if he wanted to use it in the previous response window, that's perfectly fine (as both players are allowed to respond to anything that happens in a duel). Considering I wasn't there, I'm not able to verify if he passed priority on the last response window =/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
werewolfjedi Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 That doesn't really tell me too much as to whether you guys were being clear on your confirmations, or what you mean by "before I plat the effect" but... He can activate the effect of Veiler in response to the last action performed, regardless of what it was. You can only activate Temperance once both player's pass priority on the previous response window, taking the game into a General Priority where you can begin activating Ignition effects or Normal/Flip/Inherent Special Summons. If he's trying to chain Veiler to Temperance's activation, then obviously he can't at that time as Temperance would have already been tributed as the cost, but if he wanted to use it in the previous response window, that's perfectly fine (as both players are allowed to respond to anything that happens in a duel). Considering I wasn't there, I'm not able to verify if he passed priority on the last response window =/ prio was passed on both players, and as I thought the admin just had his head up his ass. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightswornGENEX Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 if you negate the summon of legendary six samurai - shi en with stuff like solemn warning or solemn judgement, is it legal for the opponent to use stuff like monster reborn or call of the haunted to summon that monster?i thought it operates in the same way as the effect of dragunity knight trident of sending it to the graveyard directly from the extra deck.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 if you negate the summon of legendary six samurai - shi en with stuff like solemn warning or solemn judgement, is it legal for the opponent to use stuff like monster reborn or call of the haunted to summon that monster?i thought it operates in the same way as the effect of dragunity knight trident of sending it to the graveyard directly from the extra deck....If the Summon of Shi En was negated, it was not successfully Summoned and therefore cannot be revived from the Graveyard or Banished Zone. This is the same for all Extra Monsters. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SpectralMaliceX Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 If you summon Blizzard Princess by using 1 tribute as it states in it's effect, and that monster had an effect to special summon another card from the deck would that card miss timing. If you summon Blizzard Princess by using 1 tribute as it states in it's effect, and that monster had an effect to special summon another card from the deck would that card miss timing. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 If you summon Blizzard Princess by using 1 tribute as it states in it's effect, and that monster had an effect to special summon another card from the deck would that card miss timing. If you summon Blizzard Princess by using 1 tribute as it states in it's effect, and that monster had an effect to special summon another card from the deck would that card miss timing.Depends on the wording. When/If/If; You can It will, just like any tribute. Those cannot miss timing. When; You can Will, like with all tributes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SpectralMaliceX Posted August 3, 2012 Report Share Posted August 3, 2012 Depends on the wording. When/If/If; You can It will, just like any tribute. Those cannot miss timing. When; You can Will, like with all tributes.Thank you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 Here's a Created Card idea you might have some fun with: If a Sangan-esque card Summons a monster when destroyed by battle, would an effect of the Sangan-summoned card that SSes a monster from the Grave when itself SSed be able to bring back the Sangan-esque card, or would it miss the timing? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 Here's a Created Card idea you might have some fun with: If a Sangan-esque card Summons a monster when destroyed by battle, would an effect of the Sangan-summoned card that SSes a monster from the Grave when itself SSed be able to bring back the Sangan-esque card, or would it miss the timing?Being destroyed by battle and the summon occurs during the Damage Step in that case, so the effect can't activate since it's still the Damage Step and only certain effects can activate during the Damage Step. Really, you're just talking about a Giant Rat that's mandatory. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 Being destroyed by battle and the summon occurs during the Damage Step in that case, so the effect can't activate since it's still the Damage Step and only certain effects can activate during the Damage Step. Really, you're just talking about a Giant Rat that's mandatory. Even if the new monster's effect is mandatory as well? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 I honestly have no idea what you're trying to say. Write the effect out, then ask your question, otherwise, a vague question will only result in vague answers. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 I honestly have no idea what you're trying to say. Write the effect out, then ask your question, otherwise, a vague question will only result in vague answers. Sorry, I thought it was clear enough. Here's the important parts of their effects: Sonia Strumm:When this card is destroyed by battle, Special Summon 1 "EM Being - Lyra" from your hand or Deck. EM Being - Lyra:When this card is successfully Special Summoned by the effect of "Sonia Strumm", Special Summon 1 "Sonia Strumm" from your Graveyard. Would Lyra be able to bring back the same Sonia that Summoned her? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 Sorry, I thought it was clear enough. Here's the important parts of their effects: Sonia Strumm:When this card is destroyed by battle, Special Summon 1 "EM Being - Lyra" from your hand or Deck. EM Being - Lyra:When this card is successfully Special Summoned by the effect of "Sonia Strumm", Special Summon 1 "Sonia Strumm" from your Graveyard. Would Lyra be able to bring back the same Sonia that Summoned her? Yes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nu-Mou Knight Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 Okay, thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shadowferret Posted August 5, 2012 Report Share Posted August 5, 2012 How does Compulsory Exiting/Withdrawal Device interact with monsters like WIldheart? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 6, 2012 Report Share Posted August 6, 2012 How does Compulsory Exiting/Withdrawal Device interact with monsters like WIldheart? Wildheart would be unaffected and would stay on the field. The opponent will still select and return a card to their deck. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antist0opid Posted August 6, 2012 Report Share Posted August 6, 2012 Can the effects of "Tiki Soul" and "Tiki Curse" be negated with "Solemn Warning"? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted August 6, 2012 Report Share Posted August 6, 2012 Can the effects of "Tiki Soul" and "Tiki Curse" be negated with "Solemn Warning"? Both cards "Special Summon" when you're activating the Trap Card. Yes, those effects that Special Summon the Trap Cards as Monsters can be negated by Solemn Warning. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.