Jump to content

*fixed written text color* Starnight the Hedgehog, new card for Galaxy, Constellar and tellarknight decks

I Hate Snatch Steal

Recommended Posts

[spoiler=WIP art]





So I found an old YGO pro script file called "project starnight" on my PC. I couldn't remember what I was trying to do with it, but I knew it had to refer to the OC I'd created (shown above) and his unique way of casting spells in a MOBA game that I'd programmed him into. After some experimentation I figured out that the script was for a new mechanic of applying effects during a chain. I fixed up a few bugs it had and finally I decided to add this card to a few astronomy themed archetypes that I could think of. Below is the current result of Project Starnight:


Before you ask: No I'm not ripping off "Project Shadow" from Sonic Adventure 2's lore. I sometimes call my scripting challenges "Project" followed by a word to represent them, like this one for example https://forum.yugiohcardmaker.net/topic/367296-turquoise-mage-archtype-once-an-effect-has-been-activated-i-can-use-it-once-more/?hl=turquoise


Starnight the Hedgehog

Level 4




If you control a "Galaxy", "Constelllar", or "tellarknight" monster, you can special summon this car (from your hand). Once per turn: you can target 1 "Galaxy", "Constellar", or tellarknight" monster you control; this card's level becomes equal to that monnster's. While this card is face-up or in your GY, before resolving an effect in a chain, you can banish 1 "Galaxy", "Constellar" or Tellarknight" card from your hand or GY and if you do, choose 1 monster in your hand deck or GY that can be normal summoned, if its in the GY banish it otherwise send it to the GY also apply 1 of that monster's ignition or quick effects that can be activated from the same location as this card's as this card's effect including costs and conditions. You can only use this effect of "Starnight the Hedgehog"  once per turn. An xyz monster that has this card as an xyz material also gains these effects.

[spoiler=Here are some notes and examples on how this effect works]

Example 1:

Player A controls Starnight the Hedgehog and Player B controls Alexandrite Dragon. Player A activates Upstart Goblin thus starting a chain. Before resolving Upstart Goblin Player A uses Starnight the Hedgehog to send Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind to the GY, thus they target and halve the ATK/DEF of player B's Alexandrite Dragon immediately before resolving Upstart Goblin.

Example 2:

Player A has Starnight the Hedgehog in their GY and activates Upstart Goblin. Player B chains D.D. Crow to banish Starnight the Hedgehog from player A's GY. Before Resolving D.D. Crow,

Player A sends Plaguespreader Zombie to the GY, thus they place a card on top of their deck and special summon Starnight from the GY, but it will be banished if it leaves the field. Thus D.D. Crow doesn't banish anything.

You can only send/banish a monster if it has an ignition effect or quick effect that can be legally resolved at that moment. e.g. You cannot send http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Lost_Blue_Breaker if there are no spell/trap cards for it to target or if there is not another face-up Fish, Sea Serpent, or Aqua-Type monster on the field.

"from the same location as this card's" means that if Starnight is in the GY, you can only use a monster effect that can be activated from the GY, and if its face-up you can only activate an effect that activates from the monster zone. e.g. you cannot send Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind if Starnight is in the GY.

You pay the effect's cost, choose a target, and then apply the effect before resolving a given chain link. e.g. If you use "Exiled Force", you will tribute Starnight before choosing a monster to destroy.

You cannot target untargetable cards this way, such as if there was a Hazy Flame monster on Player B's field in example 1 you couldn't apply Gale's effect to it.

Since a chain is already resolving, you cannot chain to the application of Starnight's Effect. For example you cannot use the effect of Stardust Dragon even if Starnight copies a card destroying effect.

You cannot apply effects such as that of http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Junkuriboh that must be chained to the activation of an effect.

"You can only use this effect of "Starnight the Hedgehog"  once per turn. An xyz monster that has this card as an xyz material also gains these effects." the HOPT is shared between any xyz monster this card is attached to and this card.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...