Jump to content

You're not Special


Max_K

Recommended Posts

  I tried to find card(s) that do something which requires having an Effect monster(s) in your hand, with no luck. In other words, this card must not work the way I thought it was, else it would be a meaningless card.

 

  So, my question is: What is the card's purpose? Did you have something specific in your mind that could success with this? Maybe the card's purpose is to make the monsters in the opponent's hand act like having no effect? If yes, would they count as Effect Monsters on the field and in the Graveyard or would still be Normal Monsters?

 

  Knowing how the card works (especially with such a vague effect as this) helps with how we critic it.   ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

HI. ALL MONSTERS IN YOUR OPPONENT HAND WILL BECOME NORMAL MONSTERS AND LOSE HIS EFFECTS. IF YOUR OPPONENT SUMMONS A MONSTER FROM THE HAND, THAT MONSTER WILL BECOME AN EFFECT MONSTER AGAIN. THE SAME THING HAPPENS IN THE GRAVEYARD. THIS CARD IS VERY POWERFUL AGAINST NEKROZ.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  Hm, I understand what you're trying to do, but the way you wrote the effect is wrong. 

 

  I mean, look at Mind Drain ( http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Mind_Drain). It prevents the monsters' effects in the hand to activate. It's clear, applicable and acceptable. What your card does is basically to change the Monster Cards' type. I don't mean like changing their Type e.g. to become Fiend-Type monsters. (A good example of what I'm saying is Zombie World, http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Zombie_World . It changes the Type from the monsters in the Graveyard and on the field, NOT the type of the card itself.)

 

  Gemini Monsters have the ability to change how they act (i.e. being either Normal Monsters or Effect Monsters, here's how they work: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Gemini_monster). In addition, there are some monsters like Simorgh Bird of Ancestry ( http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Simorgh,_Bird_of_Ancestry), which are not Gemini but still alter how they act, depending where they are. 

  Other than these cases, there's no way to change a monster's nature (due to the game's mechanics), thus this card's errata has to change to something clearer and applicable.

 

 

P.S.:  Writing in capitals is not good to do, since it indicates an amplified and, sometimes, aggresive or persistent tone. Capitalize some words or letters if needed but leave it to that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

HI. ALL MONSTERS IN YOUR OPPONENT HAND WILL BECOME NORMAL MONSTERS AND LOSE HIS EFFECTS. IF YOUR OPPONENT SUMMONS A MONSTER FROM THE HAND, THAT MONSTER WILL BECOME AN EFFECT MONSTER AGAIN. THE SAME THING HAPPENS IN THE GRAVEYARD. THIS CARD IS VERY POWERFUL AGAINST NEKROZ.

First of all that would be beyond broken to get rid of ALL monster effects your opponent has for about no cost (in that case this would deserve an emergency hit on the banlist).

Second your wording is completely wrong for that, turning them into normal monsters with that wording only removes the TYPE effect, but not the effects themselves (not to mention that, as it is a continuous effect, it would not apply to them once they leave the hand).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well now it is not a one-sided win button (which equals a mega floodgate) and is a stronger, more restricted skill drain (so no real abuse).

I would suggest you add a clause that the negative effects for the opponent ALWAYS apply to yourself, so that it is not easy to abuse (otherwise you could e.g. still play the psyframe lords (especially omega) and turn them into a monster unicorn control).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So I presume this card will have no effect if you control no monsters at all.

 

It's Skill Drain and Mind Drain rolled into one, without a cost, without needing to wait. The only condition is that you're playing original Normal Monsters to pummel the opponent senseless.

 

While there's a general disdain for floodgate cards, I find this to be acceptable since it still offers the opponent a way to bypass the lock that isn't just getting rid of the card in question. Inherent Special Summons are still permitted since they don't activate at all, so it's perfectly reasonable to expect an opponent to put out a beater strong enough to punch through the board state and break open the lock, albeit temporarily.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...