Thomas★Zero Posted March 8, 2014 Report Share Posted March 8, 2014 Pendulum Call Spell Card Select 2 Pendulum Monsters of the same type in your Deck and summon them to the Pendulum Zones. You cannot Pendulum Summon or Special Summon during the turn this card was activated. You can only activate "Pendulum Call" once per duel. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted March 8, 2014 Report Share Posted March 8, 2014 Personally I don't think it's a good design choice. First, if it's going to the Pendulum Zone it's not being "Summoned" but "activated", so it's not treated as a Pendulum Monster, but a Pendulum Card. Second, I came here expecting a RotA for Pendulums, and would think that's arguable, but this is a no no. Once per Duel makes this gimmicky, and searching for any 2 you want makes this a sacky draw that sets up way too much. Granted we still have no Pendulums beyond the two magicians, but this is ridiculous. We know Pendulums are regular effect monsters that will come out in enough quantities for the game to probably revolve around them. That said, due to future design this card's target range is way too broad. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomas★Zero Posted March 8, 2014 Author Report Share Posted March 8, 2014 Personally I don't think it's a good design choice. First, if it's going to the Pendulum Zone it's not being "Summoned" but "activated", so it's not treated as a Pendulum Monster, but a Pendulum Card. Second, I came here expecting a RotA for Pendulums, and would think that's arguable, but this is a no no. Once per Duel makes this gimmicky, and searching for any 2 you want makes this a sacky draw that sets up way too much. Granted we still have no Pendulums beyond the two magicians, but this is ridiculous. We know Pendulums are regular effect monsters that will come out in enough quantities for the game to probably revolve around them. That said, due to future design this card's target range is way too broad. Well I wasn't 100% sure on how it would be worded for placing a Pendulum monster in a pendulum zone is Summoning or Activating as to note from Magician of Chronomancy that it spell effect states: "Activate only if you control no monsters. If a Pendulum Monster you control battles" meaning that while in the pendulum Zone they still act as a type of Spell Monsters under the condition that instead of having a monster effect they have their spell effect instead. Also with Pendulum Call it was an idea of a once per duel easy Pendulum Set up where it limits you to 2 same typed monsters and you cannot Pendulum Summon or Special Summon after use. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted March 9, 2014 Report Share Posted March 9, 2014 Well I wasn't 100% sure on how it would be worded for placing a Pendulum monster in a pendulum zone is Summoning or Activating as to note from Magician of Chronomancy that it spell effect states: "Activate only if you control no monsters. If a Pendulum Monster you control battles" meaning that while in the pendulum Zone they still act as a type of Spell Monsters under the condition that instead of having a monster effect they have their spell effect instead. Also with Pendulum Call it was an idea of a once per duel easy Pendulum Set up where it limits you to 2 same typed monsters and you cannot Pendulum Summon or Special Summon after use. No. It doesn't act as some type of Spell Monster. The rules posted at TCG section clarify it's completely treated as just a Spell Card when in the Pendulum Zones. Not a Monster Spell, not a Normal Spell, not a Spell with any icon. Just a Spell Card. They can't attack, defend, be Tributed, etc. They are just Spell Cards. But Pendulums' Spell Effect are still viable when you do this, and you are essentially adding 2 continuous effects from your deck to the deck that turn, and if your opponent destroys the cards, they go to the Extra Deck to be Pendulum Summoned later, if not, you completed the arc with a single RotA-like play. I still think the card is very dangerous considering the big place Pendulums will have in the game which says a lot about how many they will make. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomas★Zero Posted March 9, 2014 Author Report Share Posted March 9, 2014 They can't attack, defend, be Tributed, etc. They are just Spell Cards. Then how do you explain to activate a effect if you don't have a monster on the field and pendulum monster you control battles as if you have no monsters on the field you can't attack and as you said if a pendulum monster in the Pendulum zone can't attack... ...THEN HOW THE HECK ARE YOU SUPPOST TO ACTIVATE THAT EFFECT AT ALL!!! D:< Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted March 9, 2014 Report Share Posted March 9, 2014 Then how do you explain to activate a effect if you don't have a monster on the field and pendulum monster you control battles as if you have no monsters on the field you can't attack and as you said if a pendulum monster in the Pendulum zone can't attack... ...THEN HOW THE HECK ARE YOU SUPPOST TO ACTIVATE THAT EFFECT AT ALL!!! D:< I was confused by that line as well and it took me a while to understand it, but here's how it works: It's a Spell Card that requires you to control no monsters to activate it. Afterwards it just stays face-up, and Pendulum Monsters will gain that bonus when they appear. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.