[MTG] Mock Moxen

TAG

Made some cheap Mexican Moxen knockoffs with Flame Dragon's help.

Mock Sapphire

{0}

Artifact

[CARD NAME] enters the battlefield tapped and doesn't untap during your next untap step.

T: Add U to your mana pool.  [CARD NAME] doesn't untap during your next untap step.

The other four Mock Moxen function the same with their respective colors.  The way I'm assuming/hoping it works is as follows:

Turn 1: Mock Moxen comes in tapped
Turn 2: Does not untap
Turn 3: Untaps; you tap it to use

Turn 4: Does not untap
Turn 5: Untaps; you tap to use

etc.

(if it doesn't work this way, how would I phrase the rules text to actually do the above?)

Not sure if it's fair since I'm not very good at balancing; I was trying to see how close we can get to the original Moxen without making them broken as hell.

Since you now have to wait for it each time you use it for mana, the acceleration is greatly checked and also gets you to consider when you want that mana. It's still a free Artifact for anything concerning Storm or Affinity, but it's something.

Flame and I were discussing removing the second "does not untap" clause, but we were worried that would make it too fast or something.  I dunno.

Maybe have only 1 untap clause or something. Changing the first condition to a simple comes-in-tapped already seems pretty dece when you're already using it for mana every second turn afterwards.

Of course, we have Voltaic Key/Unwinding Clock problems, but those tend to also apply to many, many other artifacts for abuse.

Maybe have only 1 untap clause or something. Changing the first condition to a simple comes-in-tapped already seems pretty dece when you're already using it for mana every second turn afterwards.

Of course, we have Voltaic Key/Unwinding Clock problems, but those tend to also apply to many, many other artifacts for abuse.