Jump to content

Recommended Posts

KaiserColosseumDR1-EN-C-UE.jpg

 

If there is 1 or more monster(s) on the field of the controller of this card, his/her opponent cannot place a monster on the field if his/her number of monsters would exceed the number of monsters that are on the field of this card's controller. The cards that are already on the field before this card's activation are unaffected by this effect.

 

As most of you likely know by now, Monarch storm4th is a jabroni like no other, this card outs it.

 

So while Fyre (Kaiji) was helping me with my deck, he suggested this card again my Monarch matchup, and pointed out this ruling to me in particular 

 

"You can certainly activate Stormforth, as it doesn't violate Kaiser directly. However, when you then want to tribute their monster, The Game would recognize that you're attempting to put a second monster on the field. Recall Kaiser's text:

 

If there is 1 or more monster(s) on the field of the controller of this card, his/her opponent cannot place a monster on the field if his/her number of monsters would exceed the number of monsters that are on the field of this card's controller.

 

Even if it's tributing the opponent's monster in the process, you can't attempt an action that would cause you to have more monsters on the field than the opponent. In the scenario given, you would control two monsters and your opponent zero, thus violating Kaiser's restriction."

 

 

A similar situation should also work with you (owner of KC) controlling one monster while your opponent has none. By having a monster on the field, you meet KS's conditions, through the tribute summon of the monster through Strom4th's effect your opponent would be converting to a situation where he would possess 1 monster and you zero, through the placement of another monster. I'm not ENTIRELY sure if this works. But I don't see a reason for it not to.

 

An OCG relevant example would be super polymerization. Removing one of your monster and one of your opponent's monsters to at resolution leave the opponent with 1 monster while leaving the Control of KS with 0 seems like it would be an illegal move to make. 

 

Again I'm not entirely sure how this would work, but worse case storm4th would also require your opponent to have dominion or Kuraz to tribute your monster if case 2 turns out to be false. This is a significant improvement on just being able to storm4th either on your turn 

 

Again credit to Fyre for finding this ^_^

 

 

TL;DR

 

Best Case: It shuts down your opponent's Super Poly and Monarch Storm4th altogether 

 

Worse Case: It shuts down your oppoent's +2 Super Poly and Storm4th on your turn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

if it does become a popular counter, mithra will then become the new card to use. summon it, give your opponent a token, stormforth their monster+mithra, summon monarch. nowhere near as consistent as edios, but still a useful outside of colosseum.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can't see how this'd become a popular counter with the majority of decks putting out more than the 1 monster. Kozmos could actually use this though, thinking about it. Essentially locks out the extra deck like Domain because they're never having more than 1 on board, though unsearchable.

My deck in question was Shaddoll so sit on DMoC/TER/Winda/Naga etc

 

but pt made

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can't see how this'd become a popular counter with the majority of decks putting out more than the 1 monster. Kozmos could actually use this though, thinking about it. Essentially locks out the extra deck like Domain because they're never having more than 1 on board, though unsearchable.

you're right, just saying that there'd be at least one way to get around it without popping it or your opponent's monster.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

if it does become a popular counter, mithra will then become the new card to use. summon it, give your opponent a token, stormforth their monster+mithra, summon monarch. nowhere near as consistent as edios, but still a useful outside of colosseum.

Still changes Monarch's best form of removal from one card into 2 ;)

 

 

 

 

#BrickCity

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...