Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If Goku En is Normal Summoned with it's effect, and is then Creature Swapped, does it still destroy itself in the End Phase?

 

Being Creature Swapped does not change the fact it was Summoned without Tribute. It will be sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase, and the owner will take damage equal to its (original) ATK.

 

here's a question, if you have a Fossil Dyna set......and your opponent attacks it with a monster that was SS'd (i.e a Synchro) what happens when Dyna is flipped during the Damage step?

 

Fossil Dyna will flip, Damage Calculation will occur, and then after that, Fossil Dyna's effect will activate and destroy all SSed monsters. Fossil Dyna is a Trigger Effect that activates in the same fashion as a FLIP effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Fossil Dyna will flip, Damage Calculation will occur, and then after that, Fossil Dyna's effect will activate and destroy all SSed monsters. Fossil Dyna is a Trigger Effect that activates in the same fashion as a FLIP effect.

ok... so i'm guessing that Fossil Dyna would still be destroyed amiright?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, I had to look this one up for a while, just to make sure I understood it correctly.

 

My answer is that the monster will be destroyed by Call of the Haunted.

 

The rulings I found did not specifically mention this example, but it did say that if Decree or Trap Stun are used, when they stop applying, Call resumes targeting the monster. Another ruling on Jinzo stated that if Jinzo SSed by Call is destroyed, Call will also be destroyed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh, This Ruling was pretty difficult for me to understand, since at school there was an argument about it. If Shooting Star Dragon activates the effect of checking the top 5 cards for multiple attacks, but is chained to Koa'ki Meiru Guardian, can the opponent chain with that same SSD with his negation effect as well?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh, This Ruling was pretty difficult for me to understand, since at school there was an argument about it. If Shooting Star Dragon activates the effect of checking the top 5 cards for multiple attacks, but is chained to Koa'ki Meiru Guardian, can the opponent chain with that same SSD with his negation effect as well?

 

Yes. All of SSD's effects can be activated once per turn. The effect to check 5 cards is an Ignition Effect (Spell Speed 1), but the negation effect is a Quick Effect, and is Spell Speed 2 as a result. Thus is can chain to the Spell Speed 2 Effect of Guardian.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

It has colon, so destruction at the End Phase could be negated, but not the protection effect itself.

 

Yeah, I know that, it's just how it would resolve.

 

Stardust would attack Zenmaines > Zenmaines detaches a Material > Stardust can be activated > Zenmaines triggers (?)

 

Then I get lost from there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, I know that, it's just how it would resolve.

 

Stardust would attack Zenmaines > Zenmaines detaches a Material > Stardust can be activated > Zenmaines triggers (?)

 

Then I get lost from there.

No.

 

Stardust attacks Zenmains>Zenmaines detaches material >Stardust CANNOT be activated at this time because nothing is destroying > Zenmain triggers at End Phase > Stardust CAN activate at this time > Zenmaines would be negated, but can still use it's protection effect (though destruction won't trigger again).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I encountered this problem on Dueling Network. If I revive Plaguespreader Zombie using its effect, and then overlay him with, say, Quillbolt Hedgehog to summon Gachi Gachi Gantetsu, when Gachi is destroyed of detaches Plaguespreader in any way, is Plaguespreader banished? I thought that Xyz rulings would prevent him from being banished, but my opponent and an Administrator disagreed. Also, if he would be banished, could you use him for an Xyz summon at all? It seems that you couldn't, in that case, because Plaguespreader's effect would prevent him from doing anything but being banished when he leaves the field.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I encountered this problem on Dueling Network. If I revive Plaguespreader Zombie using its effect, and then overlay him with, say, Quillbolt Hedgehog to summon Gachi Gachi Gantetsu, when Gachi is destroyed of detaches Plaguespreader in any way, is Plaguespreader banished? I thought that Xyz rulings would prevent him from being banished, but my opponent and an Administrator disagreed. Also, if he would be banished, could you use him for an Xyz summon at all? It seems that you couldn't, in that case, because Plaguespreader's effect would prevent him from doing anything but being banished when he leaves the field.

 

To my knowledge, Plaguespreader is not banished. Neither is Quilbolt. That is due to the revised Xyz Rulings for TCG.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To my knowledge, Plaguespreader is not banished. Neither is Quilbolt. That is due to the revised Xyz Rulings for TCG.

TCG and OCG rulings on Xyz monsters are consistent. If a monster would be banished when it "leaves the field", it's not banished when overlaid, nor when detached. For same reason, Tengu doesn't work with Xyz.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...