Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can I activate a Spell/Trap, then use the effect of Sacred Pleiades to bounce it back to my hand? If so, will it resolve?

 

You can if the Spell/Trap lingers on the Field/is Continuous. Otherwise, no.

 

When a Spell/Trap activates, it can no longer be returned to the hand or Deck by an effect. Part of this is because Spells and Traps involved in a chain do not immediately leave the field until the entire chain is finished resolving, and so until that moment, they cannot be moved from the Field, except to the RFG or Graveyard (MST can target and destroy a Normal S/T, and a card chained to Caius will still be banished).

 

If a Continuous S/T is bounced with Pleiades, it will not resolve, the same as if MST hit it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Because it came up in the Zexalgiygas thread.

 

Can I use Steelswarm Genesoid and Steelswarm Caller to "cheat" Steelswarm Hercules and only use 2 tributes?

 

And if I can't, how does Double Coston work with the Wicked Gods?

 

Yes. Hercules requires 3 Steelswarm Tributes and Genesoid counts as 2.

 

Double Coston does work with the Wicked Gods. The only difference between the Wicked Gods and any other Dark Level 10 monster is that Wicked Gods need 3 Tributes instead of 2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can I activate a Spell/Trap, then use the effect of Sacred Pleiades to bounce it back to my hand? If so, will it resolve?

 

While you can chain Sacred Pleiades to the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, a Spell/Trap Card that would not stay on the field after resolution CANNOT be returned to the hand/deck by an effect. If the Spell/Trap card would stay on the field after resolution (an Equip Spell card, a Continuous Trap Card, a Trap Card that becomes an Equip Card, Some Normal Spells like Swords of Revealing Light, and Field Spell Cards) then the card may be returned to the hand.

 

Therefore, if Sacred Pleiades activates and targets a face-down Spell/Trap and the Spell/Trap is Chained and its one that would go to the Graveyard after the chain resolves, then it will not go to the hand by the effect of Sacred Pleiades. If a Spell/Trap Card is activated that would go to the Graveyard after the chain resolves (as is what your question is about), then that Spell/Trap card will not be a valid target for Sacred Pleiades, and cannot be targeted.

 

Edit: Hmm, after waking up, refreshing the previous page thinking this was the last post in the topic and not noticing that there was a new page was my mistake :< This was answered a while ago.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why doesn't Volcanic Scattershot do burn when it is sent to the Graveyard with Blaze/Tri-Blaze?

 

In all honesty, I have no clue. I used to think the ruling was that it DOES do Burn for those cards, but not for Scattershot's second effect (the anime did burn for both effects), but found out it's the other way around.

 

My only other thought is that the OCG words it or Blaze/Tri-Blaze differently somehow so that that ruling makes sense.

 

Otherwise, it's a BKSS.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That card is weird. If it is in Face-up Defense Position, how can it attack Directly?

 

Well, what it was probably SUPPOSED to do was having the ability to attack while in Defense Position (like Total Defense Shogun), but only direct attacks for half damage.

 

However, it was ruled after it came to the TCG that it can only attack like this if it can legally attack directly (such as your opponent having no monsters). Which of course was not remotely indicated on the original card and unlikely to have been intended this way originally.

 

And the reprinted version clarifies this, which is fine. But Rampart Blaster is terrible because of that ruling, and it's one of the first instances of a BKSS ruling.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

However, it was ruled after it came to the TCG that it can only attack like this if it can legally attack directly (such as your opponent having no monsters). Which of course was not remotely indicated on the original card and unlikely to have been intended this way originally.

 

Wow, it's like that? Interesting.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...