.Nu-13 Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 Can I activate a Spell/Trap, then use the effect of Sacred Pleiades to bounce it back to my hand? If so, will it resolve? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 Can I activate a Spell/Trap, then use the effect of Sacred Pleiades to bounce it back to my hand? If so, will it resolve? You can if the Spell/Trap lingers on the Field/is Continuous. Otherwise, no. When a Spell/Trap activates, it can no longer be returned to the hand or Deck by an effect. Part of this is because Spells and Traps involved in a chain do not immediately leave the field until the entire chain is finished resolving, and so until that moment, they cannot be moved from the Field, except to the RFG or Graveyard (MST can target and destroy a Normal S/T, and a card chained to Caius will still be banished). If a Continuous S/T is bounced with Pleiades, it will not resolve, the same as if MST hit it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 It was too good to be true. Oh well, thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Because it came up in the Zexalgiygas thread. Can I use Steelswarm Genesoid and Steelswarm Caller to "cheat" Steelswarm Hercules and only use 2 tributes? And if I can't, how does Double Coston work with the Wicked Gods? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Because it came up in the Zexalgiygas thread. Can I use Steelswarm Genesoid and Steelswarm Caller to "cheat" Steelswarm Hercules and only use 2 tributes? And if I can't, how does Double Coston work with the Wicked Gods? Yes. Hercules requires 3 Steelswarm Tributes and Genesoid counts as 2. Double Coston does work with the Wicked Gods. The only difference between the Wicked Gods and any other Dark Level 10 monster is that Wicked Gods need 3 Tributes instead of 2. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Okay, thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Can I activate a Spell/Trap, then use the effect of Sacred Pleiades to bounce it back to my hand? If so, will it resolve? While you can chain Sacred Pleiades to the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, a Spell/Trap Card that would not stay on the field after resolution CANNOT be returned to the hand/deck by an effect. If the Spell/Trap card would stay on the field after resolution (an Equip Spell card, a Continuous Trap Card, a Trap Card that becomes an Equip Card, Some Normal Spells like Swords of Revealing Light, and Field Spell Cards) then the card may be returned to the hand. Therefore, if Sacred Pleiades activates and targets a face-down Spell/Trap and the Spell/Trap is Chained and its one that would go to the Graveyard after the chain resolves, then it will not go to the hand by the effect of Sacred Pleiades. If a Spell/Trap Card is activated that would go to the Graveyard after the chain resolves (as is what your question is about), then that Spell/Trap card will not be a valid target for Sacred Pleiades, and cannot be targeted. Edit: Hmm, after waking up, refreshing the previous page thinking this was the last post in the topic and not noticing that there was a new page was my mistake :< This was answered a while ago. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 At least it confirmed my understanding of the ruling and reasoning was correct. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welche the crab Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Why doesn't Volcanic Scattershot do burn when it is sent to the Graveyard with Blaze/Tri-Blaze? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Why doesn't Volcanic Scattershot do burn when it is sent to the Graveyard with Blaze/Tri-Blaze? In all honesty, I have no clue. I used to think the ruling was that it DOES do Burn for those cards, but not for Scattershot's second effect (the anime did burn for both effects), but found out it's the other way around. My only other thought is that the OCG words it or Blaze/Tri-Blaze differently somehow so that that ruling makes sense. Otherwise, it's a BKSS. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welche the crab Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Is there any way to try to get a rulling like appealed? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 If there was, we wouldn't still have Rampart Blaster's messed up ruling. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welche the crab Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 I'm emailing Konami on this one. I really want to know why. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Let me know when you get the results. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Not-so-Radiant Arin Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 If there was, we wouldn't still have Rampart Blaster's messed up ruling. That card is weird. If it is in Face-up Defense Position, how can it attack Directly? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 That card is weird. If it is in Face-up Defense Position, how can it attack Directly? Well, what it was probably SUPPOSED to do was having the ability to attack while in Defense Position (like Total Defense Shogun), but only direct attacks for half damage. However, it was ruled after it came to the TCG that it can only attack like this if it can legally attack directly (such as your opponent having no monsters). Which of course was not remotely indicated on the original card and unlikely to have been intended this way originally. And the reprinted version clarifies this, which is fine. But Rampart Blaster is terrible because of that ruling, and it's one of the first instances of a BKSS ruling. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jabber2033 Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 If I attack Nightmare penguin, does the effect still activate. Need really quick answer please. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Yes. It got flipped when it was attacked, so it activates. It activates after Damage Calculation, though, so the attack still goes through and damage is dealt. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shradow Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 However, it was ruled after it came to the TCG that it can only attack like this if it can legally attack directly (such as your opponent having no monsters). Which of course was not remotely indicated on the original card and unlikely to have been intended this way originally. Wow, it's like that? Interesting. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Wow, it's like that? Interesting. That's my understanding of how the ruling came to be. It's the official ruling, though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Wow, it's like that? Interesting.That's the way it is with all FLIP effects and pseudo-FLIP effects. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shradow Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 No, we're talking about Rampart Blaster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Lolwiki says, Gusto Griff's effect will activate even if sent from the hand to the graveyard for a cost. This true? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Yes. Griff says "If...you can". "If" never misses the timing. Only "When" misses the timing. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted December 15, 2011 Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Yes. Griff says "If...you can". "If" never misses the timing. Only "When" misses the timing. Ah, i see. I think i knew that, but i just wanted to make sure. Thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.